Do you give your maid a weekly day off?

Piyopico

I tot at one time the philippines govt makes it mandatory for their maids to have one day off a week. Then I realise most Pinot maids dun get weekly off.

pinoy i think hv... indon usually prefer the money

actually i got a helper that comes in once every fortnight. pretty good. dun think we need a full-timer. i think once a week wld be ideal.

just saying.. what if it is role reverse.. you are working in a foreign country.. wouldn't you want off days too?

domestic helper oso need a breathe of fresh air too, no?

when my family had a maid, we treat her as equals.she went everywhere we go, eat wat we eat etc..

my parents gave her off days on sun... once a month la.. she went to church and back (by 2pm latest) even though we told her she can have the whole day to herself.. but muz be home by 7pm..

i guess it is kua heng suay one rite? whether ur helper is the "guai" or "water-tank" type?

pinoy i think hv... indon usually prefer the money

I tink the practice is to pay them if they do not take the off day but my question is whether they have a off day as per a separate agreement?

I mean give them off days or not itz up to u cos you decide what works best and I rather have a happy maid that works 5 days then one thinking of funny thoughts working 7 days, but why are we paying them for something they are not entitled to from the start?

Domestic workers are excluded from the employment act.

It anything is strange, it is the law.

Is actually a fallacy. If the maid goes running to her embassy, Ministry level also lanlan.... [laugh][laugh]

Minister may apply Act to domestic workers

67. The Minister may, from time to time by notification in the Gazette, apply all or any of the provisions of this Act with such modification as may be set out in the notification to all domestic workers or to any group, class or number of domestic workers and may make regulations to provide generally for the engagement and working conditions of domestic workers.

when my family had a maid, we treat her as equals.she went everywhere we go, eat wat we eat etc..

wah so good ah, treat as equals lol. U don't even get that in the big MNCs. The CEO travels by business-class, ordinary employees by economy. CEO office is 10 times the size of your cubicle, not to mention his salary is maybe 100X more.

My maid is not my equal. She's my employee, i'm her employer. My duty to her is to pay he according to the contract, and treat her according to the terms in the contract. Her duty to me is to follow my orders within the parameters of the contract. We're not equals.

maid are entitle to a off-day per month, but when we employ one from the agency, straightaway the agency add $20 to her wages for forfeiting her off-day.

when we tell the agency we are okay with giving her off-days, the agency will advise you not to with reasons such as pregnancy, stealing lah etc.

so after more than a year of working with us, we started giving our maid off-day every month whereby she goes to the indo embassy to hang out with fellow indo(dun know true or not lah, we dun care).

$20 also we never deduct as we take it as a good performance bonus.

wah so good ah, treat as equals lol. U don't even get that in the big MNCs. The CEO travels by business-class, ordinary employees by economy. CEO office is 10 times the size of your cubicle, not to mention his salary is maybe 100X more.

My maid is not my equal. She's my employee, i'm her employer. My duty to her is to pay he according to the contract, and treat her according to the terms in the contract. Her duty to me is to follow my orders within the parameters of the contract. We're not equals.

mmmmm.. let's just say our helper was a very discipline, well-behaved and really does her work well..

and my folks gives credit when due, punishment when needed..

unless our helper is the "water-tank", defiant sort.. then prolly we will put a foot down and let her kw who calls the shot..

if not, no harm everyone living in harmony..

my families dun even trust maids.

house chores we take it as exercise.

needed services are outsourced. [rolleyes]

My Indon maid gets off once every fortnight. I think their work which is very physical, cleaning the house, laundry and cooking is already tiring enough. They should get the day off.

for those who dun give offs to their maids..think abt it from another point of view..how would u think if ur employers dun give off days to u and make u work everyday?

when they start their work here...they knew there will be no off day.,...so it is a deal set before they start their work here.....in anyway...without off day...employer suppose to pay them more to compensate it...