Civic_newb Neutral Newbie September 5, 2011 Share September 5, 2011 (edited) What brightness setting do you guys set it to? For me, medium brightness setting for BLACK VUE is good for night and day recording. I park my car at MSCP Edited September 5, 2011 by Civic_newb ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear September 5, 2011 Share September 5, 2011 eh bros... is this black vue good? does it start saving only after impact or does it rec all the time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic_newb Neutral Newbie September 5, 2011 Share September 5, 2011 (edited) eh bros... is this black vue good? does it start saving only after impact or does it rec all the time? It records all the time during driving and for parking recording, by default, it records upon motion or impact detected. I think you can also set it to record all the time during parking but consumes more memory space leh. i'm not expert, but you can refer to their website for the details. :P www.blackvue.com.sg The motion detect works great even at night! Edited September 5, 2011 by Civic_newb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear September 5, 2011 Share September 5, 2011 so the 310 mention above is the price with installation? does it connect to battery or the cig plug? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 eh bros... is this black vue good? does it start saving only after impact or does it rec all the time? During normal recording (when on the move), it records all the time and save it to a file automatically. During parking mode (when vehicle stationary but power still supplied to Blackvue), it is still recording all the time but will save image capture in the last few minutes into file when it detects motio/impact and continue to save into file a few minutes after the event. At least this was what I read but my blackvue was not wired up for parking mode so I can prove this. I suspect during parking mode, it saves the image into its built-in flash memory, but saves the same image into the SD card if it detects an event. (anyone can confirm this??) If it continuously write to the SD card, the earlier recording would have been overwritten a few times over by the next morning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 During normal recording (when on the move), it records all the time and save it to a file automatically. During parking mode (when vehicle stationary but power still supplied to Blackvue), it is still recording all the time but will save image capture in the last few minutes into file when it detects motio/impact and continue to save into file a few minutes after the event. At least this was what I read but my blackvue was not wired up for parking mode so I can prove this. I suspect during parking mode, it saves the image into its built-in flash memory, but saves the same image into the SD card if it detects an event. (anyone can confirm this??) If it continuously write to the SD card, the earlier recording would have been overwritten a few times over by the next morning. What you said about parking mode definitely makes sense, I am using one with front/back camera (Mobi-350 from Korea) that does the same. During parking mode, it only saves into memory card when a slight impact is detected (actually very sensitive) so that the recording is still intact the next morning, and I think it saves power too. Btw, does the Blackvue automatically switch between parking/normal mode? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic_newb Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 What you said about parking mode definitely makes sense, I am using one with front/back camera (Mobi-350 from Korea) that does the same. During parking mode, it only saves into memory card when a slight impact is detected (actually very sensitive) so that the recording is still intact the next morning, and I think it saves power too. Btw, does the Blackvue automatically switch between parking/normal mode? Yes, it is automatic switching in Black Vue, so far I did not see other brand can do this. How you switch to Parking Mode in your Mobi 350? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic_newb Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 During normal recording (when on the move), it records all the time and save it to a file automatically. During parking mode (when vehicle stationary but power still supplied to Blackvue), it is still recording all the time but will save image capture in the last few minutes into file when it detects motio/impact and continue to save into file a few minutes after the event. At least this was what I read but my blackvue was not wired up for parking mode so I can prove this. I suspect during parking mode, it saves the image into its built-in flash memory, but saves the same image into the SD card if it detects an event. (anyone can confirm this??) If it continuously write to the SD card, the earlier recording would have been overwritten a few times over by the next morning. Mine is connected to permanent power source for surveillance recording. It only records when motion or impact detected during parking mode, 30 seconds before and after the event. But if the culprit still within detection, Black Vue continues to record until he/she disappear. At my car park, average for a night parking (10 hours) , it actually records about an average of 40 minutes of video as the car park not very busy. So even with 4GB card size at highest image quality setting, it is enough to record over night for my case but I a bit kiasi, so use 8GB instead. 5 minutes video only consumes about 80MB of space. Other product may consumes more space hence you have to make sure the memory card space is sufficient, especially for product with HD and without motion detection is for sure worse liao! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helbreath 1st Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 I am waiting for the HD version to be released. Any bros hear any news? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 Yes, it is automatic switching in Black Vue, so far I did not see other brand can do this. How you switch to Parking Mode in your Mobi 350? It auto-switches to parking mode when vehicle is stationary for about 20 mins (think base on G-sensor data), and when u move off, it switches back to normal mode in about 30 secs, quite convenient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 Mine is connected to permanent power source for surveillance recording. It only records when motion or impact detected during parking mode, 30 seconds before and after the event. But if the culprit still within detection, Black Vue continues to record until he/she disappear. At my car park, average for a night parking (10 hours) , it actually records about an average of 40 minutes of video as the car park not very busy. So even with 4GB card size at highest image quality setting, it is enough to record over night for my case but I a bit kiasi, so use 8GB instead. 5 minutes video only consumes about 80MB of space. Other product may consumes more space hence you have to make sure the memory card space is sufficient, especially for product with HD and without motion detection is for sure worse liao! Mobi-350 parking mode only triggers on impact (quite sensitive in parking mode) so dun have the problem of triggering whenever a car drive pass. But occasionally it can trigger by itself (detect Indonesia earthquake?) or when a car drove pass too near/fast. Mine also non-HD so my 4GB can hold 4-6 hours of continuous recording. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 hi bros... i saw online got ppl selling group buy at sgmerc and VAGS $250 for blackvue + power magic +$30 installation... sounds alot cheaper... anyway if i would get a bigger SD card, say 8G or 16GB, do i need to format it or its plug and play? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic_newb Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 I am waiting for the HD version to be released. Any bros hear any news? Called up WowGadgets last week, they cannot confirm the release date as it is also not ready for sell in Korea. But HD needs higher storage capacity and price for sure is higher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirage Clutched September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 parking mode is juz a gimmick. It is the same as continuous recording. LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngaiadam Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 the new hd will release 2x sept in korea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic_newb Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 parking mode is juz a gimmick. It is the same as continuous recording. LOL How could it be the same? For parking mode in Black Vue, it only record when motion or impact been detected during parking. For unit with continuous recording, you park for 10 hours, it will record for 10 hours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 eh bros... when u all park like for a few days without driving, wun it drain ur car batt? with the power magic thingy, it will still drain the batt right? but maybe not till empty only right? coz weekend i dun really drive.. so quite worry that batt keep kenna drain over the weekend.. and my car is keyless entry.. so suck alot batt.. my car 1+ yr only change battery liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirage Clutched September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 LEDs from Nightconceptz doesn't seem to last.... I installed daylight led (almost $200) and a couple of them starts to dim and shows sights of water entry a couple of weeks later. I was asked to top up for "better" led type. When I refuse, their boss show attitude and told me to wait for my turn. I waited for more than 1.5hrs and i see that they are still serving new arrived ctmrs. When I ask when is my turn, I was again told to wait. I was really pissed and decided to leave. Also, the car park charges there is very expensive...1/2hr for 63cts. Juz be careful..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...