The_Bear Turbocharged June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 The root of all these is RENT. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 This scot must be an idiot....King crab do cost that much in singapore...and also + the lobster.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 This case is not overcharging, but the nasi lemak case is lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 ang mo must surf more MCF to know where to eat seafood in JB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 But ur air ticket how much ? Tpt cost is negligible. It's our rental rate that is killing us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 I avoid walking thru boat quay at all costs..usually walk behind along circular road...lesser pinoys to pull you over.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 SG HAS BECOME DAMM EXPENSIVE TO EVERYBODY ANYBODY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 The FTs were asking for it what ... ordering such a huge crab and not-so-huge lobster. They think prices here are like in Phuket or Bali ... where they could feast like kings. They better wake up to Singapore prices. We are no longer a third-world, sunny paradize with sandy beaches any more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 I don't think it is overcharged, lobster is expensive and so is alaskan king crab. He did not order cheap items. These are all super premium food items. The quantity was already told to them. Exactly! Its like ordering geoduck, hairy crabs and abalone ... then later comprain why so expensive. In British jokes, the Scots are normally always deemed to be stingy one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 ya u r right, should be the bering sea. watching comfortably at home of this programme, we can never imagine the dangers these guys go through everytime. the weather elements, the toughness of hauling the nets and the prospect of zero catches and capsizing, their only comfort is to have a good haul to pay debts, see their kids go through college, mortages... I go fishing in MY n Indo also encountered such storms b4. Sometimes we just hold on n pray for a safe return. Nothing else we can do when its like that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 I'm in UK at the moment. We really do get stung in Singapore these days. Concert tickets and sea food prices are so high. Last week I was in a small coastal village here in UK and went to a seafood wholesaler there to buy some crab and lobster. http://www.porthgainshellfish.com/ Live Crab was S$12 per kg. Live Lobster was S$40 per Kg. This guy catches his own produce and sells a great amount to Singapore as do a lot of the wholesalers in that area so he told me. We bought a 1.2kg crab. He charged us S$14 and cooked it for us on the spot for no extra charge. While we were waiting for it to be cooked, took under 15 minutes, a delivery company arrived to pick up 6 large boxes of crab and lobster for Singapore . The guy said they'd be in Singapore within 36 hours. The crab was lush. SG has become one of the most expensive places in the whole world n the pple suffering most r us. The citizens who cannot leave but must endure these crazy prices EVERYDAY n we still keep hearing our gharmen always say, No lah. SG still cheap cheap leh. N ty give some unbelievable n unrealistic examples to back up what ty say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 thats call biz. factor in the transportation (flight and packing), manpower, etc.. plus filtering the layers of middleman, it is expected to be paying exorbitant if you want to eat locally unavailable food. the ang mos try to play punk AFTER eating, even though they know for a fact it will be expensive, does not deserve any sympathies. So u do agree the prices were "exorbitant" then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 True.. even $8.30 nasi lemark.. still long Q everyday... I really wonder how we going to survive the next 10-20 years like this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 The root of all these is RENT. And the so many other "taxes n levies n licences n utilities n on n on n on". Thats why I feel so much happier going north to spend my $$$ n dont feel even the slightest bit of guilt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 ang mo must surf more MCF to know where to eat seafood in JB Maybe he forgot n tot he was still there when he ordered? Some still think SG n MY r the same country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 I avoid walking thru boat quay at all costs..usually walk behind along circular road...lesser pinoys to pull you over.. I try to avoid buying ANYTHING in SG if I can help it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 Oh I forgot to add "EXCEPT THE ELITES". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blogtowkay Neutral Newbie June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 actually sometimes i also wonder if these expats really got ripped off, or did they try to pull a fast one against the restaurant... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...