Hermitage 1st Gear June 16, 2011 Share June 16, 2011 On 6/16/2011 at 6:44 AM, Mustank said: the images of that hubble took are but a large part is abt the attempts to reapir it. the focus should be telling us the universe using the pictures hubbke took That's true. Think I've seen this documentary before, albeit on youtube lah. But may be interested to watch it again on IMAX (was it in 3D?), then I'll be .. Starblind With Sun...The Stars Are One!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 16, 2011 Author Share June 16, 2011 thanks very much for those links!!!!! they explaned why i had thot that lido was doing the same as science centre. SC is using imax while lido is using imax digital. one would have thot that imax digital is better than imax. hell no!!!! the angmo chaps are angry that they kena conned into paying for imax when they got the smaller imax. even a director is saying not to waste money on small imax: http://www.slashfilm.com/producer-frank-ma...n-imax-digital/ the articles are also say that small imax is not better than sony 4k projector cinemas. on the other hand, here in sg, we have a movie critic who say lido's imax digital is better than its competitors: http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2011/0...max-3d.html?m=1 can anyone tell me whether any cinema's system is on par with lido's digital imax? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear June 16, 2011 Share June 16, 2011 On 6/16/2011 at 11:54 AM, Mustank said: thanks very much for those links!!!!! they explaned why i had thot that lido was doing the same as science centre. SC is using imax while lido is using imax digital. one would have thot that imax digital is better than imax. hell no!!!! the angmo chaps are angry that they kena conned into paying for imax when they got the smaller imax. even a director is saying not to waste money on small imax: http://www.slashfilm.com/producer-frank-ma...n-imax-digital/ the articles are also say that small imax is not better than sony 4k projector cinemas. on the other hand, here in sg, we have a movie critic who say lido's imax digital is better than its competitors: http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2011/0...max-3d.html?m=1 can anyone tell me whether any cinema's system is on par with lido's digital imax? lol. these who say singapore IMAX can make it, pls go to Science center to see the real imax before talking about the lido one. i hear say nia. i just wanna go and see whats the difference at the end. but imax is abt the projectors. and as for on par with lido imax? lido is the only one. but singapore does have the real THX digital certified cinema. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear June 16, 2011 Share June 16, 2011 On 6/16/2011 at 12:52 PM, Mllcg said: lol. these who say singapore IMAX can make it, pls go to Science center to see the real imax before talking about the lido one. i hear say nia. i just wanna go and see whats the difference at the end. but imax is abt the projectors. and as for on par with lido imax? lido is the only one. but singapore does have the real THX digital certified cinema. Wah! Really ah? The Science Centre one so good?? Guess I'll really have to make a trip down there to try it out sometime man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 17, 2011 Author Share June 17, 2011 thank you very much! you really bring in so much more meat into this discussion! i am a member of SC. every other month, my kids will watch SC IMAX for free. they are already used to SC IMAX size. they will definately be disappointed with mini IMAX but I would like still to give them a solid experience in watching T3, abiet no SC IMAX style. Which cinema is the true THX digital certified? Thank you very much! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 The Grand Cathay @ Handy Road. Halls 1 and 2 are THX certified and is made for RealD 3D[1] Digital cinema. Hall 7 is made for RealD 3D[2] cinema. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 Just an update for those planning to book tickets for Transformers at Grand Cathay for THX cinema. Better get tickets fast for those planning to watch from 1/7, 2/7 & 3/7 onwards. Was told that the cinema has been booked for private function Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 Those who want solid solid 3D effect... can try Sentsa 4D Magix show..... a short show but really solid.... the knife like poking towards you and the bees liek flying toward/in fron of you....plus the rocking chair, rain drop.... haaa. really fun.... but CCB damn ex.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 On 6/17/2011 at 3:27 PM, Qpik said: Just an update for those planning to book tickets for Transformers at Grand Cathay for THX cinema. Better get tickets fast for those planning to watch from 1/7, 2/7 & 3/7 onwards. Was told that the cinema has been booked for private function Thanks for the update mate! Will discuss with frenz and try to book by 2moro. Went to the SC IMAX to watch "Hubble". Pretty damn impressed with their screen and the effects of true IMAX! NOT impresed with their seats and the legroom, which was apparently intended for children below 9 years of age!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 On 6/17/2011 at 3:27 PM, Qpik said: Just an update for those planning to book tickets for Transformers at Grand Cathay for THX cinema. Better get tickets fast for those planning to watch from 1/7, 2/7 & 3/7 onwards. Was told that the cinema has been booked for private function lido also got THX cinema. just forgot which one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 On 6/17/2011 at 2:40 AM, Mustank said: thank you very much! you really bring in so much more meat into this discussion! i am a member of SC. every other month, my kids will watch SC IMAX for free. they are already used to SC IMAX size. they will definately be disappointed with mini IMAX but I would like still to give them a solid experience in watching T3, abiet no SC IMAX style. Which cinema is the true THX digital certified? Thank you very much! not only the size. the resolution and quality as well. but not as bad as the regular cinema "3Ds" that give me a headache after the movie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 On 6/16/2011 at 1:00 PM, Hermitage said: Wah! Really ah? The Science Centre one so good?? Guess I'll really have to make a trip down there to try it out sometime man! the Science centre is truly the best. but don't go there if u have motion illness. come out sure blur and headache. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 17, 2011 Author Share June 17, 2011 thanks everyone! i found this: The Grand Cathay cinemais THX certified and a 2K DIGITAL hall. The Cathay Hall 2 is also a THX certified cinema auditorium. Cathay Hall 7 is equipped with SONY SXRD CINEALTA 4K DIGITAL projector. shpuld go for the 2k or 4k one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched June 17, 2011 Share June 17, 2011 Those who wanna watch at Lido better book fast. I booked on Thursday, already filling fast 2 weeks in advance. Lido IMAX screen not very big, but the effect sibei ho! Must see to believe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 On 6/17/2011 at 4:53 PM, Mustank said: thanks everyone! i found this: The Grand Cathay cinemais THX certified and a 2K DIGITAL hall. The Cathay Hall 2 is also a THX certified cinema auditorium. Cathay Hall 7 is equipped with SONY SXRD CINEALTA 4K DIGITAL projector. shpuld go for the 2k or 4k one? Oey Mustank, u very slow lah....eyes no c up my post re THX certified cinema. nway, summarised. tried to book for hall 2 which accordg to the staff is the btr one in terms of pic/sound quality. was told that fm 1/7 onwards, the hall has been booked for pte function. as it show Transformers for certain timing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 18, 2011 Author Share June 18, 2011 whoa, bro thanks alot!!!!! i think i go watch in mid july to siam the crowd ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...