Reversing car with rear view mirrors

Good-Carbuyer

I believe when we do reversing, most/all cars have stock rear view/wing/doorside mirrors that do not allow us to watch where the rear wheels go. This may be an oversight by the manufacturers. Some overcome this with extra mirrors/camera.

However, unless we already have a need to reverse park, drive-in parking is easier and save fuel. It seems most people prefer to do reverse parking. More fun?

I believe when we do reversing, most/all cars have stock rear view/wing/doorside mirrors that do not allow us to watch where the rear wheels go. This may be an oversight by the manufacturers. Some overcome this with extra mirrors/camera.

However, unless we already have a need to reverse park, drive-in parking is easier and save fuel. It seems most people prefer to do reverse parking. More fun?

Reverse in easier to get out.. head in harder to get out... Just imagine trying to get out with reverse and the view is block by cars park beside it.. [dizzy] [dizzy]

its for safety reason. plus some carpark.. so small, you drive in park might have problem coming out if not of certain skill level.

For me, it depends on situation. But most of the time reverse parking is easier when you leave the parking lot later.

some high end cars do have auto-tilt down function when in reverse gear.

If can save a 2years old life....it will be well worth the $150 to get one.

I thinking of getting it....but where to install cheaper?

The other day i disabled my Honda Accord left side mirror auto-tilt down function (not used to having the mirror projected on the floor when doing parking) and i hit the low wall kerb on the side bumper!!!

The moment i heard the thud i very sad...i paid $450 to replace a lamp and respray the side scratches. luckily bumper not dented. AND THATS FOR A 2 WEEK OLD car!!

sibei depressing for the next few days and have a fear of driving this car cos tooo long.

now i make sure the auto-tile function is enable...there is a reason why they have this function cos this car is long and big.

Edited by Babyt

Manufacturers did look into it. I guess not many knows that some cars come with an auto tilt mirror on the passenger's side. When the driver hits reverse the mirror will auto tilt and enables you to see the kerb and your tire, hits Drive the mirror goes back to the original position.

Some Conti cars come standard with this feature. I've driven one before, it's a good to have but have yet to see one for Japanese makes. Maybe Lexus makes have it. I'm not sure.

auto tilt down function is more for assessing whether your rear wheels hit the longkang/kerb or not. It can't help you to avoid hitting anything at the central rear. A reverse cam could be useful. But still, a lot of patience and lookout is required when reversing. You can check this and that, all clear and start reversing.... Then, some jokers appeared from nowhere.

It doesn't help that a lot of people like to walk towards, not away from, a reversing vehicle.

Edited by Kangadrool

Manufacturers did look into it. I guess not many knows that some cars come with an auto tilt mirror on the passenger's side. When the driver hits reverse the mirror will auto tilt and enables you to see the kerb and your tire, hits Drive the mirror goes back to the original position.

Some Conti cars come standard with this feature. I've driven one before, it's a good to have but have yet to see one for Japanese makes. Maybe Lexus makes have it. I'm not sure.

the KM accord comes with it, at least the 2.4l version does.

Also, I also prefer to reverse park, easier to exit. Some car parks are so narrow, reversing out of a lot between 2 bigger vehicles is a challenge.

KM Honda Accord 2.0 have this function also.

Oh ya the facelift Accord is on display at the showroom but i prefer the previous version front grille.

depends on the carpark. If park next to wall, I try to park as close to wall as possible, and give the next driver as much space as possible. So in this kind of case, reverse park or forward park, ensure that left side of car is next to wall.

Also, if car park is bitch to get out of, better reverse park.

Or kerb is too high, reverse park - to save the front lip.

Otherwise, forward park is best as easiest to park into.

Also saves the hassle of opening the boot - if reverse park, must go around the back of car if need to open boot. Not so easy in HDB MSCP.

depends on the carpark. If park next to wall, I try to park as close to wall as possible, and give the next driver as much space as possible. So in this kind of case, reverse park or forward park, ensure that left side of car is next to wall.

Also, if car park is bitch to get out of, better reverse park.

Or kerb is too high, reverse park - to save the front lip.

Otherwise, forward park is best as easiest to park into.

Also saves the hassle of opening the boot - if reverse park, must go around the back of car if need to open boot. Not so easy in HDB MSCP.

Funny how come got some people felt head in parking is easier.. I feel head in park is like 1 time go in.. if 1 time go in fail or misalightment or slanted to one side.. than very hard to adjust to park straight.. However in reverse park, if parking not perfect can always move forward and reverse back in to perfect position. That's my feel...

reverse parking easier to look out for traffic when u wan to exit mah.. no meh?

I believe I am lucky to be driving hatchback and not blind van or those 4.8M length vehicles

Reverse in easier to get out.. head in harder to get out... Just imagine trying to get out with reverse and the view is block by cars park beside it.. [dizzy] [dizzy]

As a matter of facts, did approached by a lady to reverse her hatchback out of a HDB parking lot before. That is what started to puzzle me.