Jj5599 1st Gear June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 My wife is a PR here and her re-entry permit expires in Nov 2011. She hasn't been working since 2008. Would it be possible if she found a job now and then try to apply for the renewal of the re-entry permit? Think the condition is that have to be working for 3 years. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 if already PR, why need job to reapply re-entry permit? As long is wife, they should renew the PR, even without job, rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 already married and a PR, still need to continue working to get approval for re-entry permit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear June 14, 2011 Author Share June 14, 2011 Before I met her she got a PR by working. I didn't sponsor her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 If your wife applied on her own merit before you got married , then when she reapplies she must show proof of not just employment but gainful employment. Not any kacang putih job but gainful employment. They would ask for CPF and income tax. If cannot then you try to apply for her as spouse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear June 14, 2011 Author Share June 14, 2011 (edited) If your wife applied on her own merit before you got married , then when she reapplies she must show proof of not just employment but gainful employment. Not any kacang putih job but gainful employment. They would ask for CPF and income tax. If cannot then you try to apply for her as spouse. what is difference between employment and gainful employment? edit: Oh must be serious type of jobs and not some part time few hundred bucks job Edited June 14, 2011 by Jj5599 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear June 14, 2011 Author Share June 14, 2011 If your wife applied on her own merit before you got married , then when she reapplies she must show proof of not just employment but gainful employment. Not any kacang putih job but gainful employment. They would ask for CPF and income tax. If cannot then you try to apply for her as spouse. Can she like get a gainful job now, in June 2011, then apply for renewal? Past 3 years not working Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 if she work as cashier for 1k that is not gainful employment. I am not sure what benchmark they are using now since sinkies complain so much about FTs. I have plenty of FT engineers who apply for PR recently all cannot get. Even suprisingly Malaysians as well which once upon a time was a sure thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 Why dun you call MOM and ask? Ppl here might not give you a correct answer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear June 14, 2011 Author Share June 14, 2011 I checked ICA website and they said must show Income Tax for past 3 years. Just wondering if just get a job then can renew or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 no need to hold a job to renew re-entry permit just apply online and instant approval... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acanthus Neutral Newbie June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 You can try by showing proof of employment, not necessary to have past 3 years income tax. It might not be approved on the spot and might take a while. Otherwise you can sponsor her as your spouse, it will be easier this way especially when you have kids and form a family nucleus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 I dunno what the rules actually are, but one of the questions you are asked is who your employer is. Not sure why got this requirement and what would happen if do not meet. The two times I renew, both times had a job.... An alternative might be to start own buisness. BTW - the re-entry permit is different to the PR. PR is permanent, the re-entry permit is a permit that lets you come back into country. So if lose re-entry permit, but still have PR you can still stay here legally - just cannot leave as getting back in is an issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 14, 2011 Share June 14, 2011 (edited) My wife is a PR here and her re-entry permit expires in Nov 2011. She hasn't been working since 2008. Would it be possible if she found a job now and then try to apply for the renewal of the re-entry permit? Think the condition is that have to be working for 3 years. There are two types of PR. One is for professionals - and this one need to prove employment when renewing re-entry permit. Another kind of PR is for dependents - in this case, your wife would qualify as she has not been working for some time. If dependents PR, then of course, no need to hold a job for renewal of re-entry permit. But if your wife's original PR is for professionals, it may need some kind of application to switch to dependent's PR - not quite so simple as just renewing re-entry permit. I'm just guessing though, why not ask the authorities to confirm? Then again, if she want to just get a job and quickly apply for renewal of re-entry permit, it might be possible depending on the officer she meets. Usually they need some record (some have said 3 years) of income tax. The salary also must be of a certain level - e.g. around your wife's original salary when first granted PR. You can ask her to try... most likely she will have to explain why there is a gap in employment, so it depends whether her explanation is acceptable. As some have commented here, it's true that professional PR is more restricted now - I've heard some doctorate holder working at start-up small company also not successful in application. Edited June 14, 2011 by Sosaria ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...