Got fugged not once but twice.......

Achtung

It was in Feb 2010 when I purchased a Fiat Panda. Yes, it came with lousy 13" steel rims with covers. Like any other car enthusiast, I set off to look for a set of sport rims. To my dismay, the PCD is 4x98 and there was close to nothing available lest I wanna go the 4x100 route. When someone in the Fiat forum mentioned that he saw a set of Gunmetal coloured Bravo Rims, I set off to that shop which is the largest in the Lavendar vicinity.

It was CNY eve then. I went in, took a cursory glance at the rims and said ok to fix em with new tyres from TW. I gave them 40 mins as I needed to walk to the food court nearby and buy lunch. When I returned everything was done and I left thinking everything would be ok.

I hope my rant here will help bros here to be more street wise and not make the same mistake I did.... here are my problems....

A month on, I went to fix a new set of springs at Ah Man. I told the guys that I just changed new tyres and rims and the mechanic said... 'What? with 2006 tyres??'. My instant reaction was, of course, WTF??? I went to inspect and lo and behold, it was really manufactured in 2006! How could someone have sold me tyres which is effectively close to 5 years old??? After Ah Man, I went straight down to the shop. The towkay neo gave 1001 excuses and said she will give me personal warranty etc. Never mind, I told myself suak.

Forward the story... I sold my ride to a good friend and today he called me. He went to Stamford to balance wheels and do alignment. The 2nd shocker came. He was told that 2 of the 4 rims were warped badly and were definitely involved in a bad crash. There u go, got fugged once was bad enuff but this time I got snooked twice! Kan TL. Mind u, my rims are scuffed free and I have not knocked it anywhere, not even against the kerb!

So guys, Rule #1, check the manufacture date of the tyres u r gonna buy. Rule #2, if u r purchasing used rims, make sure u r there when they do balancing to see if its wobbly which denote that it is warped.

As a car enthusiast, I felt I have screwed up myself by letting my guard down. I dont want anyone to get screwed like me. So, beware esp this rather huge shop near Lavendar.

p.s. this was also the shop that blatantly told me that my Evo X's Volk Racing RE030 Formula Limited rims sucks compared to their Rota Grid rims. Talk about being objective.

Edited by Achtung

Let me guess ... its the big tyre/rims corner shop, at the junction of Lavender Street and Jalan Besar?

The one that opens till 3am one?

i think is the jalan besar one before lavendar junction ... X TYRES...

the so called technician is call ah meng orangutan haha skinny malaysian chap..

i kenna once...buying 2nd rims from them....KNN ...2nd hand still got charge GST!! that is the best part i kenna. :o

Unfortunately no. Hardly speed in such a car

On 6/13/2011 at 12:09 PM, Dunno said:

If the rims have warped badly, won't you be able to notice the vibration at high speed?

On 6/13/2011 at 12:53 PM, Achtung said:

Unfortunately no. Hardly speed in such a car

You mean, fortunately no? Warped rims at high speed will accentuate the inherent instability of your vehicle!

stamford??

sorry, i dont trusts them too...take their comments with a pinch of salt <_<

Edited by Hamburger

for the wrapped rim... i also kena once b4. It was my 1st car and I happily go to the jewellery shop in AMK. The son recomended me a 2nd hand 15" rim with 2nd hand set of rubber for $400 (only $200+ cheaper than new that time).

I checked the rubber and it was quite new and the rim looks very good in condition, dont find any scrathes and dent externally. I told the son to do balancing for me but he said it was done and no point to do it again. The shop was very popular among the hyundai club membersand there were many positive feedback on this shop so i trusted his word...

3 mths later (around 10K) i rotate + balance my rims +tyre at Malaysia. The shop told me that 1 of the rim is warped and the worker show me how the rims vibrate.... I ask him why i dont feel anything? He explained to me that its because the rim was FITTED AT THE REAR!

Im very sure that the blardy son of the bitch cheated me... If he really did the balancing, there is no way he doesnt know the problem... and I dont think there are such coincident where the warped rim was fitted at the rear! He can easily fix the problem before selling it off but he choose the easy way out..

I dont believe and double check in SG tyre shop and the boss told me the same thing... I was damn pissed and went back to them but he told me that I have used the rim for 3 mths and it could be me that damaged the rim. He cannot be responsible and blaa... blaaa... blaa... im very sure that i did not hit anything and im the only driver for the car. its very obvious that he try to push it away

I said fine, its my fault and you can cheat me for once but not twice... I never went back there ever since... on average, i change 8 tyres every year (I clicked 30k to 40k per yr on my vios, my dad clicked 20K on his Altis and my wife clicked 20K per yr on his matrix)... He want to cheat $300 bucks and loss a long term customer? im fine with that. There are many tyre shops with reasonable price and good service.

On 6/13/2011 at 11:07 AM, Cerano said:

share shop name?

ATM there are two near that junction. One carries Kyowa and SSR and is open till late (if not 24hrs), and the other carries Rota, Kyowa, etc and has its own building. From what the TS first posted, guess which lah [laugh]

Anyway had to do an emergency battery change from one, and did a late night tyre repair last night from the other. IMHO, both like to chop, just that the one with its own building likes to chop a lot more [:p]

No wonder i feel no shiet

On 6/13/2011 at 1:55 PM, Tigershark1976 said:

for the wrapped rim... i also kena once b4. It was my 1st car and I happily go to the jewellery shop in AMK. The son recomended me a 2nd hand 15" rim with 2nd hand set of rubber for $400 (only $200+ cheaper than new that time).

I checked the rubber and it was quite new and the rim looks very good in condition, dont find any scrathes and dent externally. I told the son to do balancing for me but he said it was done and no point to do it again. The shop was very popular among the hyundai club membersand there were many positive feedback on this shop so i trusted his word...

3 mths later (around 10K) i rotate + balance my rims +tyre at Malaysia. The shop told me that 1 of the rim is warped and the worker show me how the rims vibrate.... I ask him why i dont feel anything? He explained to me that its because the rim was FITTED AT THE REAR!

Im very sure that the blardy son of the bitch cheated me... If he really did the balancing, there is no way he doesnt know the problem... and I dont think there are such coincident where the warped rim was fitted at the rear! He can easily fix the problem before selling it off but he choose the easy way out..

I dont believe and double check in SG tyre shop and the boss told me the same thing... I was damn pissed and went back to them but he told me that I have used the rim for 3 mths and it could be me that damaged the rim. He cannot be responsible and blaa... blaaa... blaa... im very sure that i did not hit anything and im the only driver for the car. its very obvious that he try to push it away

I said fine, its my fault and you can cheat me for once but not twice... I never went back there ever since... on average, i change 8 tyres every year (I clicked 30k to 40k per yr on my vios, my dad clicked 20K on his Altis and my wife clicked 20K per yr on his matrix)... He want to cheat $300 bucks and loss a long term customer? im fine with that. There are many tyre shops with reasonable price and good service.

Once to fit, once to ask them abt the 2006 tyres.

On 6/13/2011 at 1:49 PM, Jamesc said:

Stock is best but what I dun understand is

you went there twice?

I meant if I had sped, I would have felt it liao

On 6/13/2011 at 1:22 PM, Niltrams said:

You mean, fortunately no? Warped rims at high speed will accentuate the inherent instability of your vehicle!

They open Sunday and people like to get there do servicing. Only noobs

On 6/13/2011 at 12:45 PM, Ghostami said:

But seems like they have lots of supporters, everyday I pass by their shop sure see lots of cars inside.