KARTer 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 your cousins in MY.......... on NShwy, i have encountered countless SUPERtailgaters who keep so close to my rear bumper that i could see my car's image reflected on their sunglasses... at 160kmh+ for as long as the cars in front of, and also those on the next lane of, me are still blocking me..... traffic on NSHwy on certain stretches from Penang/KL/SIN are quite heavy, bumper to bumper, but these MY-boleh drivers are doing SUPERtailgating like no tomorrow even though they can see there are many cars in front blocking me.......... actually after a while i just got used to it and dont bother to look into the mirror... why do they do it? to tell the front driver they want to over take? but at that speed and with other cars blocking front/sides, there's nothing the front driver like me can do, right? the best joke is, the same Hyundai 3.5L MPV repeated this even after at a few points when the traffic was clear and i managed to pull away from him to reach 200kmh++ (he was left behind in split second and couldnt match my acceleration especially on uphill stretches) but when he finally caught up again due to other slow cars blocking me, knowing that i dont hog if there's a choice, he would still stick to my bumper and repeat the whole thing...... (maybe he felt humiliated that his brand new 3.5L kena trashed uphill? i dont know) but he's not the only one as mentioned above... many of such SUPERtailgater-drivers there... maybe they know something we dont? i try to figure that maybe they hardly see multiple-car pile ups in MY and dont realise that tailgating at such high speed is dangerous? or may be its simply their balls are really BIG?? so close that i didnt even dare tap brakes with left foot to signal them.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sucker Clutched June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 Hi there, Please move over to a slower lane for other's safety and your safety too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 your cousins in MY.......... on NShwy, i have encountered countless SUPERtailgaters who keep so close to my rear bumper that i could see my car's image reflected on their sunglasses... at 160kmh+ for as long as the cars in front of, and also those on the next lane of, me are still blocking me..... traffic on NSHwy on certain stretches from Penang/KL/SIN are quite heavy, bumper to bumper, but these MY-boleh drivers are doing SUPERtailgating like no tomorrow even though they can see there are many cars in front blocking me.......... actually after a while i just got used to it and dont bother to look into the mirror... why do they do it? to tell the front driver they want to over take? but at that speed and with other cars blocking front/sides, there's nothing the front driver like me can do, right? the best joke is, the same Hyundai 3.5L MPV repeated this even after at a few points when the traffic was clear and i managed to pull away from him to reach 200kmh++ (he was left behind in split second and couldnt match my acceleration especially on uphill stretches) but when he finally caught up again due to other slow cars blocking me, knowing that i dont hog if there's a choice, he would still stick to my bumper and repeat the whole thing...... (maybe he felt humiliated that his brand new 3.5L kena trashed uphill? i dont know) but he's not the only one as mentioned above... many of such SUPERtailgater-drivers there... maybe they know something we dont? i try to figure that maybe they hardly see multiple-car pile ups in MY and dont realise that tailgating at such high speed is dangerous? or may be its simply their balls are really BIG?? so close that i didnt even dare tap brakes with left foot to signal them.... Perhaps that driver prefer looking into your rear view mirror than his own (laugh) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LeftRighty 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 Why didn't you just give way? In such heavy traffic, you can't go very fast. Let the supertailgaters move forward and open the way for you. It's not about whose car is faster. If you don't know how to move the slower cars to the side, let the locals do it for you. Overtake them when the road clears up again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roborovskii 4th Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 Probably just trying to save petrol by drafting behind you. It's dumb and dangerous but some people still do it during long distance travel. I've seen 6-7 vehicles bumper to bumper in a single file... one screw up and you get a train wreck. Just filter left and slow down, they'll give up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Author Share June 13, 2011 (edited) Hi there, Please move over to a slower lane for other's safety and your safety too. bro, either you cant read or you just have to say such thing regardless... my speed, if not blocked by other cars, was close to that of the top group on NSHwy (ok to say i m haolian coz i am), the reason he could get so close to me is just simply front cars are hogging/blocking me, and the other lanes are full of slow cars which i have the right not to join them... go back to bed if you are still half asleep when you came here and cant even manage to read first post properly.... sorry but this is a true advice Edited June 13, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Author Share June 13, 2011 Perhaps that driver prefer looking into your rear view mirror than his own (laugh) LOL...... Good one KNN, if this is what he wants, i will gladly take down my mirror and pass it to him lor... LOL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 aiyo bro... just let him push the slow-mo in front loh.. u know, he's actually helping u.. after given way, u just get back into the lane behind him. let him clear the way for u. once the road is cleared of hoggers, overtake him back that's what i did too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 Many cases of such drivers. Best is, they keep their high beam on or flash high beam at you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Author Share June 13, 2011 Why didn't you just give way? In such heavy traffic, you can't go very fast. Let the supertailgaters move forward and open the way for you. It's not about whose car is faster. If you don't know how to move the slower cars to the side, let the locals do it for you. Overtake them when the road clears up again. whenever there's a gap next door for me to make him lead and do the road-clearing for me, i have always moved over and let the bugger overtake and lead.... but sometimes this is easier say than done..... you know what i mean. sometimes just too lazy to move over if the gap next door is too small such that i have to force myself in if i want to move over.... might as well ignore the tailgater and follow the highspeed convoy until the front cars move over for me.......... i have not much to prove, as i could easily go faster and safer than most of them except the siao ones.... provided the road is clear (yes, i m haolian, so save telling me that, LOL) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Author Share June 13, 2011 Probably just trying to save petrol by drafting behind you. It's dumb and dangerous but some people still do it during long distance travel. I've seen 6-7 vehicles bumper to bumper in a single file... one screw up and you get a train wreck. Just filter left and slow down, they'll give up. LOL, the slipstreaming part makes sense...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Author Share June 13, 2011 Many cases of such drivers. Best is, they keep their high beam on or flash high beam at you. my passengers sometimes will take out newspaper and use their light to read if this happens at night Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 Usually i will juz give way, I don't wanna be involve in an accident with him, slow down to left lane, let him overtake & harass other people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Author Share June 13, 2011 aiyo bro... just let him push the slow-mo in front loh.. u know, he's actually helping u.. after given way, u just get back into the lane behind him. let him clear the way for u. once the road is cleared of hoggers, overtake him back that's what i did too. in a way i admit i was also trying to be 'kuahlan' in that i wanted to frustrate him by staying there..... (my bad) another case: a W plate GTR came from behind, i gave way but followed him coz he cleared the way very fast (others saw GTR all siamed....), unfortunately i couldnt keep up after a while although another normal-looking MY suzuki swift tried and both disappeared from my sight after a short while ..... too fast for me to follow them but the few minutes following closely behind the GTR was fun.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 aiyo bro... just let him push the slow-mo in front loh.. u know, he's actually helping u.. after given way, u just get back into the lane behind him. let him clear the way for u. once the road is cleared of hoggers, overtake him back that's what i did too. If you read between what karter post.. karter is already tailgating and clearing the font car already. just that the fellow behind him also tailgating even more closely nia. also, the one behind not fast enough to clear for him as karter want to travel at 200KM but the one behind, at most 140? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sucker Clutched June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 Sorry, my english is poor.. car travelling at 160km/h between bumper and bumper is no joke. I still say for for your safety, please move over. Unless your car can stop 160km/h to 0km/h within 100meters or less... bro, either you cant read or you just have to say such thing regardless... my speed, if not blocked by other cars, was close to that of the top group on NSHwy (ok to say i m haolian coz i am), the reason he could get so close to me is just simply front cars are hogging/blocking me, and the other lanes are full of slow cars which i have the right not to join them... go back to bed if you are still half asleep when you came here and cant even manage to read first post properly.... sorry but this is a true advice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takumi21 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 my passengers sometimes will take out newspaper and use their light to read if this happens at night so what happen in e end? he follow u all e way? maybe he stomachache or need a pee urgently ??? i perfectally understand ur feeling.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 13, 2011 Author Share June 13, 2011 Usually i will juz give way, I don't wanna be involve in an accident with him, slow down to left lane, let him overtake & harass other people. Good advice... I will remind myself of this on my future trips ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...