Kar_lover Supercharged June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 Everybody so interested in this presidential election. But actually how much can the president do? Presidential pardons here and there, waving at the crowd during NDP, attend president star charity and other ceremonial duties only. Why ppl getting so excited abt it? As usual all the oppo supporters here making all kind of comments abt same old issues, digging up the past, etc etc. I suppose its only to be expected that the next president will be an ex PAP person since until recently there has been little credible opposition ppl of note. LTK still active as MP, CST....well, i tink lets be honest, too old lah. in any case, since this is a ceremonial position, there is little relevance of who eventually becomes Pres. The pres cant do much abt those issues dat we are concerned abt (immigration, rising cost of living, housing, etc). For goodness sake, he doesn't even attend parliament. I like GY but i dun tink the pres position will suit him. For that i hope he doesn't run - at least not now. It also feels a bit odd dat the presidency is given to him like a "consolation prize" after losing GE. Everytime he makes a public appearance, there will be many who are tinking at the back of their minds "this guy lost election and now become president". He deserves better than dat. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A5SB 1st Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 To me, TKL, GY, TCB and T T are all products of P@P. There is a Chinese saying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 This tony tan is another idiot of the highest order What to do 60.1 percent voted for them . Hope one day their children also kena forced to go oversea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 After reading the sammyboy link, I'm better informed. However, in all areas of the working world, be it public service, there will always be an element of opportunist in everyone. However, all the sarcasms, accusations (that maybe truths) on TKL, I think his ultimate goal is the title/medal of being the pesident of Republic of Singapore that mattered and not the money. That's why he pledged his 70~90% salary to a charity of his name (another medal to his name). It seems TKL is very cunning guy too. If he failed, he already made the other candies sweating, to part with their Marnie or else perceived to be going after marnie... TKL is in it to carve out a name for the history books and since this role of pesident is clearly defined in ST, I'd say give it to him. The interesting thing I found out recently is, the more misinterpretation written Online or MSM, the more Truths comes out from the mouths of our dear leaders. So I say, go on, continue to write your views (mostly misguided or misinterpreted). Let the Truth be told.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mydotcom 1st Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 This is NOT my home anymore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 True. My friend went to Australia to study, & never come back. Now live in 2 storey house with nice car with wife & kid. If I have know, I would have gone oversea as well. :angry: Agreed. I also have one friend who went aus to study and never come back! If i have know, i also went there to study and never come back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katz2282 1st Gear June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 Another 2 here who left and not going back... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged June 13, 2011 Share June 13, 2011 After so many people came out to volunteer for pratadent, at least 2 ministers came out and declare the limited powers of the president. When nathan was president why didnt i hear all this trash? Maybe Chiam See Tong will be the best candidate after all. The MIW just hoping the offspring of the FTs will quickly grow up and mate among locals..bridging the gap... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear June 13, 2011 Author Share June 13, 2011 when lao lee had his final breath everything will change ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...