Eeryone come in and brainstorm! Brain dead ):

Csbo

As I have guessed your previous idea was rejected. LISTEN to your project supervisor. Do something that you can do at your level. If you come here to get ideas & solutions means you are fxxking lazy to do your own research work and you are looking for an easy way out. I believe you have team members, sit down and come up with a workable solution. You can't work on something you are unfamiliar with and comeback to the forum to keep asking for solution, it is no longer your work. Your project may end up half-fxxked and all of you get a sh1t grade.

Dun wear such a big hat if you dun have such a big head.

hmm.. water boil 1st or oil boil 1st? pardon me for my lack of knowledge..

-_-;

Not water boil first meh?

Octane (light oil)

boiling point :124.8

Does using density require the mixture to settle down first?

the time require is much lesser and lesser energy used.

settle time is a problem, therefore the buffer come in to play.

use together with filter...

I guess that will be the best fast method...

and the settling time also depend on the density of the different compound such and the oil and water density.

if the closer the density, the longer it takes...

Edited by Sohboonguan

i find it a bit too simple for a uni student.. [lipsrsealed]

anyway it's his project, all we should do is provide ideas, and how to achieve it is up to him. feeding him with everything will not help [:)]

You are right...

brainstorming session is all about giving all the ideas...

:P

Or is there any powder outside that have already exist that could soak up oil and form into a big lump of sticky solid? I just thinking out of box..

Yes there is something like that out there now...

but his project involve a cylinder with water flowing in from all direction...

Plus that powder thingy change the properties of the oil...

which will cause capillary action...

this phenomenon cause the oil to goes against gravity flowing upward in a tube like channel...

but what do we do with the cylinder design he have in the beginning?

Plus that powder thingy change the properties of the oil...

which will cause capillary action...

this phenomenon cause the oil to goes against gravity flowing upward in a tube like channel...

but what do we do with the cylinder design he have in the beginning?

Just think out of box.. let him have more idea coming in lor.. haha

Sometimes idea need not to be so straight thinking.. sometimes think out of box abit.. suddenly the great idea will come..

Although I do not know much about all these stuff.. [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Yewheng

thus there is also centrifugal water-oil separator...

Very interesting stuff i come across...

Basically it also use density of the oil and water to works...

It will spin in a rotor with the cylindrical vessel and force the heavier liquid outward,

which is the denser water in this case...

and the lighter liquid inward...

but not because oil is not affect but just that water is denser...

you should able to find something if you google it...

Enjoy...

Just think out of box.. let him have more idea coming in lor.. haha

Sometimes idea need not to be so straight thinking.. sometimes think out of box abit.. suddenly the great idea will come..

Although I do not know much about all these stuff.. [laugh] [laugh]

What are you specialized in then?

I know peanuts as well...

Hi everyone, I have started on a new topic as my FYP idea is rejected by my teacher, he wants something simpler. Seriously wasted my plans. Sigh [:(] now he wants something like cylindrical shape so will be more stable. And now what I am stressing on is the separation in the cylinder. How am I going to separate the oil and water mixture taken in from the sea? Anyone from marine industry has good ideas on how can I actually install some oil separation techniques into this cylinder? Thanks

i saw this video some where.

this guy proposed using simple hay to spread over the oil spill and it'll absorb it up

something like this.

worth considering.

What are you specialized in then?

I know peanuts as well...

Actually i not specialize in anything.. blame me for not studying well enough.. end up knowledge half f--k..

Your idea reminds me of how a grease trap works.

It is used in cooking establishments to filter away the grease and oil and allow the waste water to go into the sewage.

how-grease-trap-works-800x800.jpg

i saw this video some where.

this guy proposed using simple hay to spread over the oil spill and it'll absorb it up

something like this.

worth considering.

Consider this one too...

Filter is chemical treated cotton cloth...

Filtration method it is...

lolz...

Your idea reminds me of how a grease trap works.

It is used in cooking establishments to filter away the grease and oil and allow the waste water to go into the sewage.

Sump pit to contain the oil...

look like what we have in our plant...

for containing oil in case leakage while still allow water to be drain away...

Density method... chamber as buffer... nice...