Gearoil 1st Gear June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 Ever wonder why the MIWs suddenly got so compassionate towards animals rights recently... especially cats... Well, there seems to be a research that ppl who get infected with Toxoplasma gondii a single cell parasite supposedly spread by cats tend to show ...long term personality changes...displaying a symptom called Neuroticism... Though the parasite seems relatively harmless ( except to infants)...neuroticism is a psychological trait that co-related well with the level toxoplama gondii infection found in thaty country.. Women who get infected tend to be more intelligent, affectionate, social and more likley to stick to rules.. Men who get infect tend to be less intelligent but more loyal, frugal and mild tempered... Ppl affected tend to have stronger focus on work, ambition and money... And strongly infected society tend to be more likley to avoid risk and embrace strict rules and regulation.... there you have it.... Since they cannot win well this time round and will show a worse result if they don't really totally change...they need a sinister agent to help them! Of course, this could all be a myth... as to what the parasite can do but noting their desperation after defeat...they seem to be willing to try anything! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 I will say men's basic instinct.....prefer pussy then bitch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 Dogs can also be carriers of toxo lah when they eat infected raw food. Actually we also run that risk hen we ingest infected raw food. It's just that cats are more common carriers as they hunt (and perhaps also eat) live prey more frequently than dogs and city folks. And they are very good hunters with a high hit rate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 cats cute mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 btw,cats CAN also be carrier for rabies,don't know why they always seems to make it like only dogs can be the carrier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear June 7, 2011 Author Share June 7, 2011 On 6/7/2011 at 4:08 AM, Kxbc said: Dogs can also be carriers of toxo lah when they eat infected raw food. Actually we also run that risk hen we ingest infected raw food. It's just that cats are more common carriers as they hunt (and perhaps also eat) live prey more frequently than dogs and city folks. And they are very good hunters with a high hit rate. Mine can't hunt leh....i'm the hunter for them instead! O.k lah lets leave the toxo parasite out...for a moment So it seems someone is playing the compassionate card..and the cats and dogs are the jokers in the pack of 52 cards.. Taking this route to try their luck in re-convincing ppl who had gone against them... THAT THEY ARE NOT REALLY SO BAD! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 (edited) On 6/7/2011 at 4:08 AM, Kxbc said: Dogs can also be carriers of toxo lah when they eat infected raw food. Actually we also run that risk hen we ingest infected raw food. It's just that cats are more common carriers as they hunt (and perhaps also eat) live prey more frequently than dogs and city folks. And they are very good hunters with a high hit rate. There are so many forms and types of bacteria and viruses all around us. It is just not possible to get rid of them. So long one's immune system is in proper working order, there should be less worries. It looks like we may have hope to keep a domestic cat after all these fiasco. Looking forward to it . Regards, Edited June 7, 2011 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 On 6/7/2011 at 4:15 AM, Unidentified said: btw,cats CAN also be carrier for rabies,don't know why they always seems to make it like only dogs can be the carrier. any animal can carry rabies. In fact, they traced rabies to bats.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 On 6/7/2011 at 4:15 AM, Unidentified said: btw,cats CAN also be carrier for rabies,don't know why they always seems to make it like only dogs can be the carrier. That's correct but Singapore is currently rabies free and that is why AVA has very strict quarantine regulations. All foreign cats/dogs/pets must go through a 30-day quarantine in an AVA facility when they enter Singapore. The perception of rabies being from dogs (rightly or wrongly) is that dogs typically bite more than cats which increases the chances for the spread of rabies. As far as I know, vets don't typically vacinnate our pets against rabies, at least for cats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 On 6/7/2011 at 4:19 AM, Donut said: any animal can carry rabies. In fact, they traced rabies to bats.......... watch a docu recently and they were investigating the source of the napalm virus (typo?, piggy virus epidemic) in Msia a few years ago. Seems like the bats are the source and somehow, the half eaten fruits they ate were eaten up by the pigs which became carriers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear June 7, 2011 Author Share June 7, 2011 Why are ppl here suddenly bringing in ...all sorts of parasites?... After this, some will even drag in those 'parasites'.... thet need millions of dollars yearly as their pay check... I'm only refering to those type that can cause psychological changes.... And can some forumers here give a more accuate answer as to... why...why all the sudden..... that someone became so compassionate to animals ( i hope it was the incident of an elderly crying over her lost cat to him that really started it and he send his ex-SAF trained general to see to the problem)...so using his topo skills and operational readines..the general got down to the ground to REALLY SEE FOR THE FIRST TIME.. A STRAY CAT BEING FED!...perviously, all the time he saw was Hokkien peng going to cook house.. So how can the person... who was the same person to set STRICT MEANS TESTING... to see whether another human can afford medical treatment.... be compassioante to animals? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elitesingaporean Neutral Newbie June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 On 6/7/2011 at 3:57 AM, Gearoil said: Ever wonder why the MIWs suddenly got so compassionate towards animals rights recently... especially cats... Well, there seems to be a research that ppl who get infected with Toxoplasma gondii a single cell parasite supposedly spread by cats tend to show ...long term personality changes...displaying a symptom called Neuroticism... Though the parasite seems relatively harmless ( except to infants)...neuroticism is a psychological trait that co-related well with the level toxoplama gondii infection found in thaty country.. Women who get infected tend to be more intelligent, affectionate, social and more likley to stick to rules.. Men who get infect tend to be less intelligent but more loyal, frugal and mild tempered... Ppl affected tend to have stronger focus on work, ambition and money... And strongly infected society tend to be more likley to avoid risk and embrace strict rules and regulation.... there you have it.... Since they cannot win well this time round and will show a worse result if they don't really totally change...they need a sinister agent to help them! Of course, this could all be a myth... as to what the parasite can do but noting their desperation after defeat...they seem to be willing to try anything! Politics ? What level of society loves cat? Percentage? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 To those dog haters. Think before u say anymore stupid things abt dogs. Dogs and humans had been companions since thousands of years ago. They hunt for food together, guard the house together, look after the herds of farm animals together. If u ever see any old European paintings before, the artists always paint dogs into the paintings. It shows the close relationship that we have with dogs since ancient times...... I hope that one day, the dog haters are trapped in collapsed buildings, and the recuse dogs won't find them..... What r u going to say? "don't use the recuse dogs to find me! I hate dogs! I rather die here than for the recuse dogs to find me!". Damm ass..... Myopic idiots.. Or one day, you become totally blind, and u refuse to have a guide dog to help you walk around. Even how much Arabs shunned dogs because of religion reasons, they still using dogs for recuse work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elitesingaporean Neutral Newbie June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 On 6/7/2011 at 4:52 AM, Donut said: To those dog haters. Think before u say anymore stupid things abt dogs. Dogs and humans had been companions since thousands of years ago. They hunt for food together, guard the house together, look after the herds of farm animals together. If u ever see any old European paintings before, the artists always paint dogs into the paintings. It shows the close relationship that we have with dogs since ancient times...... I hope that one day, the dog haters are trapped in collapsed buildings, and the recuse dogs won't find them..... What r u going to say? "don't use the recuse dogs to find me! I hate dogs! I rather die here than for the recuse dogs to find me!". Damm ass..... Myopic idiots.. Or one day, you become totally blind, and u refuse to have a guide dog to help you walk around. Even how much Arabs shunned dogs because of religion reasons, they still using dogs for recuse work. Countless lives saved by dogs, criminals caught, drug smugglers busted, owner saved, blind guided, cancer detected ... What about cats? Nothing.... Anyone can shed some insight as to why some religion is afraid of dogs? Want to getthe logic straight thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 (edited) On 6/7/2011 at 4:57 AM, Elitesingaporean said: Countless lives saved by dogs, criminals caught, drug smugglers busted, owner saved, blind guided, cancer detected ... What about cats? Nothing.... Anyone can shed some insight as to why some religion is afraid of dogs? Want to getthe logic straight thanks a good companion to many old folks, esp the immobile ones, since cats like to snooze and are less active during the day. stroking them leads to them purring which is supposed to help bring down your blood pressure too. and of course, they are the organic answer to keeping the rodent population in check, esp in family farms and barns. every creature on earth serves a certain purpose but sometimes that purpose is not visible to us. Edited June 7, 2011 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 i rem my muslim frn simplify in layman that dog's saliva "dirty".. it is a religion thingy ... like hindu dun eat beef.. my muslim neighbours are ok with my dog leh.. as long as my dog don't "touch" them.. sometimes they will wave and say halo oso.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elitesingaporean Neutral Newbie June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 On 6/7/2011 at 5:08 AM, Kxbc said: a good companion to many old folks, esp the immobile ones, since cats like to snooze and are less active during the day. stroking them leads to them purring which is supposed to help bring down your blood pressure too. and of course, they are the organic answer to keeping the rodent population in check, esp in family farms and barns. every creature on earth serves a certain purpose but sometimes that purpose is not visible to us. Felines are not loyal it may not be there when you want to stroke it .. It comes only during meals like many peasants Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 Maybe they discover that the recent 6% drop is due to cat lovers voting against them ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...