Fined $8,000 for inflating car insurance claim

Darthrevan

Wah lou.......now i a bit scare of 3rd party claim on my car repairs liao.

Bloody ws die die also dunwana tell me the costs.

Charli they inflat by 10k then say i verbly agree one........OMG!!!!!

Errrrr.....the fine is $300. Not $50.

i paid before........lol. [laugh]

On 6/6/2011 at 1:12 PM, Expertz said:

fined 8k over a cheating case of 9.5k is not a stiff fine!

they fine you $50 for throwing a 50c cigarette butt on the floor and that isn't even considered a stiff fine

On 6/6/2011 at 11:58 AM, Darthrevan said:

Liew, who was then working for motor workshop MBM Wheelpower told police that it was 'market practice' to inflate insurance claims.

At least, in my humble opinion, he is truthful in this statement.

On 6/6/2011 at 11:58 AM, Darthrevan said:

Defence counsel Anand Nalachandran had confirmed that the money would have gone to the workshop and not to his client. Liew had committed the offence out of 'over-zealousness', the lawyer added.

This, I do not believe.

Seriously, who will?

I kana accident. Knocked back my front bumper plus respray cost around 300. The other party rear bumper came off on left side now claim me $5.6k. Accident happen at less than 30km/h and also I hit his backside because he swerve back into my lane when another car horn at him for changing lane drastically.

Can damage cost that much?

I bumped a cisco 125cc honda bike.. the cost of replacing the piece of ferring that covers engine is 4k.. i told MSIG that i called motorshop n the cost is around $600 for 1 pair.. insurer dun care.. tell me their accessor says its fair values

  On 6/7/2011 at 2:26 AM, Chucky2007 said:

I bumped a cisco 125cc honda bike.. the cost of replacing the piece of ferring that covers engine is 4k.. i told MSIG that i called motorshop n the cost is around $600 for 1 pair.. insurer dun care.. tell me their accessor says its fair values

4k can buy a new bike leh.

On 6/7/2011 at 1:39 AM, Yeobh said:

Right , why go for only the claim advisor. The company should be held responsible.Since no jail term is imposed, the fine amount should be 4 time the total $$ claim.

Fraudluent amount x 100 times + mandatory 6 months jail for cheating. that is an effective deterent.

Its not fair that the premiums go up every year due to practices like these at the expense of careful drivers....

suddenly i see that the move towards self claim regardless of whose fault which GIA has suggested previously starts to make sense!

The workshop should be in the newspaper soon, very soon. Some people say the public prosecutor normally prosecute the most culpable party first (the one whose hands are directly dirty).... if successfully prosecuted, then go after the rest of the feeding chain. The judge's decision will convince the rest to plead guilty and save taxpayers' money in prosecution time and effort.

Good lah, wake up call for the whole industry. Always good to shake the box.

Nobody working in the motorworkshop or insurance industry wanna make comment on this issue??

All I know is whenever there's a minor bump/scratch/dent on a vehicle, workshops will always want to "replace" the entire parts instead of "repair" for maximise profits, minimal work. But what the newspaper report on quoting new parts, but never really change the parts but keep the money in their own pocket - this one is really "industry standard" eh?? [rolleyes]

On 6/7/2011 at 1:40 AM, Deividz said:

Sentence so light? Should be at least 20k fine if you ask me.

Imho......shld include jail term...

i have seen ridiculouse accident claims where superficial scratches can snowball into internal structural damage + medical whiplash + all other nonsense ( loss of income ) etc....

GIA's self claim insurance is the right direction to curb these incidents.

Woah.. Dun mess wit NTUC.. they change management liao.. Most old brain and mastermind left liao.. new blood new idea new methods.. Teach this kinda workshop a lesson.. b'cos of them, tat y insurance premium shoot sky high all these years..

On 6/7/2011 at 2:26 AM, Chucky2007 said:

anytime the insurance ppl and the ws ppl hand in hand cheat the insurance company we also don know.

This is the reason why I say a no fault insurance regime should be the way to go. Under this system, car owners involved in accidents will claim their own insurance regardless of whether they are at fault.

This will force people to drive defensively and prevent fraudulent claims, because if they inflate their claims, they will only pay more in insurance next year.

If this system makes all motor insurance 70% cheaper or better, I think it's worthwhile.

Afterall having motor insurance is required by law, and most of us are safe drivers, theirs no reason for us to pay for others bad driving or bad fortunes.