Anyone got caught at Singapore Customs?

Se17g

was caught before when they just started the rules. really forgot to pump.

fined $100 and asked to u turn to pump petrol.

If im not wrong.......

1st timer = $100

2nd timer = $300

3rd timer = $500

4th time onwards = confirm court case = 4 figure fine + possible jail term.

And they record the details of both driver + all passengers.

All must feel lucky before chiong-ing, not just the driver. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

The checks are done randomly. No fixed date nor schedule.

2nd time $300 + U turn... dun play play... My summon king friend kanna twice liao. lolx... now he dun bother going JB anymore.

Edited by Hiphiphoray

Just pump 3/4 go in lah...save a lot meh?

加一

I also wonder how much can you save by driving in to pump 1/4 tank then come out (driving home use up a bit some more).

plus they will strip search you and even dig your backside in case you are hiding something inside

Don't say that, it might encourage some people here to try it. [laugh]

加一

I also wonder how much can you save by driving in to pump 1/4 tank then come out (driving home use up a bit some more).

I think quite a few of them do not go in to pump just 1/4 tank.

On the other hand, if someone lives near the causeway, he can go on every other day or so to pump. 1/4 tank in most cars will give you around 150km (from my experience, the first 1/4 has more than the next 3x1/4). If he travels around 150km in 3 days, then he needs to go in on Monday and Thursday to top up (less travel on weekends) and be perpetually using cheap petrol.

At 350km per week, if he is driving a 1.6L car with a 12km/L FC. He will need 50L of petrol per week. Multiply by the price difference b/w SGP and JB, then mulitiply by 52 weeks. I believe the savings can be quite significant per annum.

edit: erroe pointed out by celicar below ^_^

Edited by Bavarian

On the other hand, if someone lives near the causeway, he can go on every other day or so to pump. 1/4 tank in most cars will give you around 150km (from my experience, the first 1/4 has more than the next 3x1/4). If he travels around 150km in 3 days, then he needs to go in on Monday and Thursday to top up (less travel on weekends) and be perpetually using cheap petrol.

At 600km per week, if he is driving a 1.6L car with a 12km/L FC. He will need 50L of petrol per week. Multiply by the price difference b/w SGP and JB, then mulitiply by 52 weeks. I believe the savings can be quite significant per annum.

If travel is 150km in 3 days, then won't be 600km per week already, it would be more like 350km per week instead. So will need about 29L per week based on your example.

Whatever savings will be reduced by petrol used to drive in and out and time spent in jam.

Think there are more time efficient ways to save money.

If travel is 150km in 3 days, then won't be 600km per week already, it would be more like 350km per week instead. So will need about 29L per week based on your example.

Whatever savings will be reduced by petrol used to drive in and out and time spent in jam.

Think there are more time efficient ways to save money.

There are definitely better ways to save money but this is one of them.

To some, it is significant. So to each his own but personally, I feel that it is cheating.

Hi there,

Anyone got caught at Singapore Customs during entry to Malaysia for less than 3/4 tank full?

What happened? Care to share?

my ex colleague has been driving in with 1/4 tank for 3 years, lucky s hole, never kana caught even once!

Wah, use your body to test the law ah...

huh???.........bro...you reply to salah post or you really replying to me??..............sorry I don't understand leh............I ask him to try, never ask him to use body leh............ :wacko:

Nowadays it is not that worth it to just go in to pump petrol, unless shopping, movie, massage involved and some more driving around. From what i know if it is more than 1/2 tank close to 3/4 you are pretty safe. How much total savings at the end really may not be the real purpose of pumping there now but pumping a comparative cheaper fuel plus washing and polishing does contribute to a drivers "feel good" attribute.

If lucky its quite possible lor.

U can try also mah.........but your luck allows or not how duno liao.

Maybe first attempt kena check and donate $100 instead. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

my ex colleague has been driving in with 1/4 tank for 3 years, lucky s hole, never kana caught even once!

If lucky its quite possible lor.

U can try also mah.........but your luck allows or not how duno liao.

Maybe first attempt kena check and donate $100 instead. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

so far i got given chance once only..

that less than 3/4 feeling tio pulled one side is sibei embarassing..

but heck, now still go in with that amount.. heng suay la.. :D

Not worth it to pump in JB. One gotta endure the jam from JB, risk being caught by Singapore custom for less than 3/4 tank, risk being rob and low quality petrol. Make sense to pump in JB?

Hrrrrr.......i did this many years ago. For about 2+ years.

Quite boring to go into details.

Here's the summary :

Lancer cs3 - 50 ltr tank cap - pump extra 6-7 ltrs after click - travel approx 300km before fuel gauge at slightly above 1/2 mark - go Jbee topup every 3 days - distance from home mscp to Jbee petrol kiosk exactly 12.5-12.6km.

Savings wise quite substaintial like you say. Plus the car is always in tiptop cleaniness from the RM8 carwash. ^_^

At 350km per week, if he is driving a 1.6L car with a 12km/L FC. He will need 50L of petrol per week. Multiply by the price difference b/w SGP and JB, then mulitiply by 52 weeks. I believe the savings can be quite significant per annum.

edit: erroe pointed out by celicar below ^_^

if you plan to smuggle in 3/4 or less....just prepare the $$$ for one unlucky day....

They accept NETS or credit card anot? [:p]

But those kena pull over might not be breaking 3/4 rule.

That time i go thie office pay $100 fine.......got ppl kena for cutting Q, honking, unpaid traffic sumons.

A lot of sill-ier ppl around. You wont feel that embarrass rah. In fact i felt embarress for them. [laugh]

so far i got given chance once only..

that less than 3/4 feeling tio pulled one side is sibei embarassing..

but heck, now still go in with that amount.. heng suay la.. :D

Can can can......cash or nets or registered sumon letter to your house. Pay later also can.

Very convenient payment mode. [laugh]

They accept NETS or credit card anot? [:p]