Saddled with a neighbour who puffs away

Latka

ST Forum

Jun 6, 2011

MY FAMILY and I have been putting up with regular smoking from our neighbour who lives directly below us. We do not have the luxury of keeping our balcony glass doors open because of the strong smell of cigarette smoke pervading our home from our neighbour's home below.

We requested our neighbours several times not to smoke in the balcony. Their only response has been 'This is our balcony and we will do whatever we want here. You close your windows'.

Do we really have to put up with this kind of inconsiderate behaviour towards fellow neighbours? It is high time that laws are enacted to prevent people from harming their neighbours this way.

Management committees of condominiums are powerless to enforce a non-smoking rule as long as the people are smoking inside their homes.

Srinivasan Gopi

haha, 1st of all, i must say i am a non-smoker, but if people cannot smoke in their own balcony, then i dun noe what for legalise smoking.

i am okay with smokers smoking in your own home, just dun flick the cigarette butts out of your windows.

frankly speaking, is smoke from smoking downstairs so overpowering? i think my fart more overpowering than smoke from my neighbour downstairs, but then, i live in HDB, maybe people living in condo had a higher expectation.

On 6/6/2011 at 12:00 AM, Rainbowbiatch said:

had a similar thread like this quite awhile back.. some HDB neighbours were complaining also...

Pte condo oso sama sama.

On 6/6/2011 at 12:10 AM, Latka said:

Pte condo oso sama sama.

this is a never ending argument...

my neighbour crying infant affects my sleep.

noise traveled to my unit. so mayb i shd ask my neighbour to sound proof their house.

sigh.. living woes..

On 6/6/2011 at 12:18 AM, Rainbowbiatch said:

noise traveled to my unit. so mayb i shd ask my neighbour to sound proof their house.

sigh.. living woes..

Mine is not baby cry.. but is the children above playing with marble dropping on the floor ... tink tink tink sound.. [:(]

somemore sometimes early in the morning there is drilling wall & hammer sound.. KNN..

On 6/5/2011 at 11:54 PM, Latka said:

He can always close his windows only when n'bour smokes though.

He wanted fresh air but always tio smoke when open window.. suay la..

On 6/6/2011 at 12:38 AM, Acerchan2002 said:

See the name, Gei Leng Kia... Customer service line, Gei Leng Kia is the hardest to please and also love the complain the most.

50cents bigger than buffalo cart wheel??? [laugh]

My fren told me one.

See the name, Gei Leng Kia... Customer service line, Gei Leng Kia is the hardest to please and also love the complain the most.

True.. a bit aso cannot.. black can say until white..

+1

On 6/6/2011 at 12:18 AM, Rainbowbiatch said:

sigh.. living woes..

Your solution: Earplugs.

On 6/6/2011 at 12:26 AM, Aaron_soh80 said:

somemore sometimes early in the morning there is drilling wall & hammer sound.. KNN..

i used to have the same problem with my previous 2 flats. always got drilling and hammering sound too...

now staying with my sis in law, which is the highest floor, no problem whatsoever.

I always thought the drilling and hammering sound is a ghostly thing, everyone hears it but son know where it comes from.... :ph34r:

anyone else hears the drilling and hammer sound too?

On 6/6/2011 at 12:58 AM, Branteo said:

Your solution: Earplugs.

of coz.. i was being half sarcastic..

living in flats/condo/adjoining units, we all have to live and let live..

On 6/5/2011 at 11:53 PM, Latka said:

ST Forum

Jun 6, 2011

MY FAMILY and I have been putting up with regular smoking from our neighbour who lives directly below us. We do not have the luxury of keeping our balcony glass doors open because of the strong smell of cigarette smoke pervading our home from our neighbour's home below.

We requested our neighbours several times not to smoke in the balcony. Their only response has been 'This is our balcony and we will do whatever we want here. You close your windows'.

Do we really have to put up with this kind of inconsiderate behaviour towards fellow neighbours? It is high time that laws are enacted to prevent people from harming their neighbours this way.

Management committees of condominiums are powerless to enforce a non-smoking rule as long as the people are smoking inside their homes.

Srinivasan Gopi

Did you stomp your feet on the floor late at night ?

Did your laundry dripping wet theirs ?

I am not a smooker, my neighbour above always do that to me. Nothing I can do.

On 6/6/2011 at 12:26 AM, Aaron_soh80 said:

Mine is not baby cry.. but is the children above playing with marble dropping on the floor ... tink tink tink sound.. [:(]

Or the sound of furniture shifting at nite.