Geboz Clutched June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Does anyone know and and can recommend a durian eating place in/around town area ? Am planning to bring a small group of visitors for durian tasting. Thanks in advance ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Does anyone know and and can recommend a durian eating place in/around town area ? Am planning to bring a small group of visitors for durian tasting. Thanks in advance ! go geylang lor, if die die must be in town one, then chinatown should have some Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 go geylang lor, if die die must be in town one, then chinatown should have some One shop along Upp S'goon Road sell very good durian near to the junction of Boundary Road ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 That's the bloody expensive one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 I got 2 places to recommend you. One is geylang lor 30 something. This one is stand alone stall. Far from other stalls. It'd next to Esso station. Prices r reasonable. Diff prices. Second one is at Chinatown. Just behind the C K department. Also got diff prices to choose. Cheap ones from 5 bucks each durian to expensive mountain cat type. Eat already, can jalan jalan in Chinatown. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 anyone tried the durian stall which springs up from time to time at the dempsey road carpark? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 That's the bloody expensive one! well ....... I goes to the one beside Lim Tua Tow Rd and asked for the 'King of King' durian, he always sell me $20/- per kg .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Wu Coa Da Bo Gong Gong Temple along Balestier Rd, within the compound, there's a durian stall. This is visible along the main road. Directly opposite is Hoover Hotel. Go during evening time. Good for durian feast. Thereafter, you can bring your guests to Whampoa Market for local fare eg. Hokkien Mee, Rojak, Satay Beehoon, Satay. Or to Rangoon Rd for Bak Kut Teh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Wu Coa Da Bo Gong Gong Temple along Balestier Rd, within the compound, there's a durian stall. This is visible along the main road. Directly opposite is Hoover Hotel. Go during evening time. Good for durian feast. Thereafter, you can bring your guests to Whampoa Market for local fare eg. Hokkien Mee, Rojak, Satay Beehoon, Satay. Or to Rangoon Rd for Bak Kut Teh. You after rejected the durians go eat other food for consolation/compensation (laugh) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 I cheapo, buy $2 per styrofoam box most of the time. Some are really top notch in taste. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 You after rejected the durians go eat other food for consolation/compensation (laugh) U salah...durian is for supper after eating at Whampoa Market...tabao home & eat in comfort. Seriously, most of the time, never reject Uncle's recommendation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Durian cannot buy cheapo ones. No standard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 well ....... I goes to the one beside Lim Tua Tow Rd and asked for the 'King of King' durian, he always sell me $20/- per kg .... Ah Heng? Use to buy from this guy at the Lim tua Tow rd one..The price is quite ex, but he does rounding down, and throw away the lousy ones. Haven't gone back to the place for almost 2 yrs liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 (edited) Whatever it is, try not to go to the source to try out this mouth-watering delicious fruit. Went to Segamat years back with some kakis, thnking the really good ones were there & definitely cheaper than the ones we had back home. After enduring the long drive & negotiating some mud roads and finally entering a durian plantation, the owner was a little shocked but nonetheless offered some of his best. We were rather disappointed and made it known to the friendly old man. He paused for a while & then said in a straight face," tan bei ge li gong ho ei lew lian long zong buay kir singapore liao la. lan jiew hu choong a lew lian ge si bo ho gai gi jia." To translate, the old man actually said, "To be frank with you, all the good ones had been sold to Singapore. The rest of the not so good ones are left for us Johoreans." We were like WTF... Edited June 5, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Idunspeed 1st Gear June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Wu Coa Da Bo Gong Gong Temple along Balestier Rd, within the compound, there's a durian stall. This is visible along the main road. Directly opposite is Hoover Hotel. Go during evening time. Good for durian feast. Thereafter, you can bring your guests to Whampoa Market for local fare eg. Hokkien Mee, Rojak, Satay Beehoon, Satay. Or to Rangoon Rd for Bak Kut Teh. this one is power.. thou price on the high side but eat liao sure high. slurp.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Why not go to the Telok Kurau one? Left side of Telok Kurau rd. The one that even Stanley Ho sent ppl to come buy one. The first time I went there, ppl were sitting ard empty tables drinking mineral water. I asked them what are they doing there, they said they are waiting for durians to arrive. Apparently, durians get sent there straight after being picked from Malaysia plantations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 U salah...durian is for supper after eating at Whampoa Market...tabao home & eat in comfort. Seriously, most of the time, never reject Uncle's recommendation. You mentioned: 'therafter'. Now mention 'U salah', 'supper after eating at Whampoa Market' Rather confusing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shicyj Neutral Newbie June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Does anyone know and and can recommend a durian eating place in/around town area ? Am planning to bring a small group of visitors for durian tasting. Thanks in advance ! search for "Durian Lingers" quite good, price reasonable. other fruits avail also. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...