KentHyung Clutched June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 the shock absorbers are per advice of @kschew. but I tend to agree with him......I changed my first set of shocks when the car is aged 7. so this is about the time to replace shocks for the car you looked at provided the owner have not changed it before. yep, easiest way is to drive over humps, ask your wife to sit on the bonnet or boot and shake it a little bit while you sit inside to listen haha..... as for whether you should buy it, I generally think you should as long as you can check it is problem free..if you got some moolah, can pay ang kah hoe or Transeurokars to check before you buy it over. Arrrhh.. Finally i can post again!! Haha! later my wife shake too hard the whole bumper drop then jialat.. lol.. That is a good suggestion! Instead of me looking around like an expert might as well bring it to an expert after feeling the car's handling hor.. Do you guys know how much does it cost for the mechanics to just check out the ride? Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KentHyung Clutched June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 Hi guys, First post here. Got all excited because someone is looking at a Saab 9-5. Ok currently I am the 2nd owner of a 2006 Saab 9-5 2.0t. Got it second hand when she was 5 years and 6 months old. Former owner was a car rental company, so the condition was pretty good. Mileage was about 70,000 kms. Things that were not pretty good with the car when I first got her was: 1. The air conditioning was not working. Had to test drive the car at 3 pm in the scorching sun. Was fixed by the dealer, but what he didn't tell was he modified the air conditioning system by adding some funny extra pipes that I could not install the air cond filter. So cold air cond, but not filtered air. 2. No spare key. Dealer said he will do it. Didn't do it. Told me to go do it myself and let him know how much. No answer from him. Sheesh... 3. Headlight levelling sensor kaput. Dealer said that his mechanic can't figure it out. When collected the car, did an enquiry to Ang Kah Hoe. He had used parts. Said ok, went over, got it fixed within 30 mins. Perfect. Dealer said bill him when done. No answer after that. Sheesh... again. 4. Engine was vibrating a bit more than usual. Thought it was the engine mounting. Went over to Griffin at Sin Ming. Checked engine mounting ok. Problem was the Direct Ignition Cassette, or DI. Two spark plugs were not firing well. Got it replaced. Went smooth. Later I got itchy, changed absorber and all the suspension and mid chasis mountings. That set me back about $2.5k. Other than that, standard servicing around $200, with Mobil 1 oil. No need iridium plugs because you CAN'T use it anyways with the DI. Anyone tell you to change to Iridium, tell them go fly kite. So everytime change 4 plugs, $20. Bestest... Runs like a dream, very stable. Now at 130,000 kms. No major issues. Just changed starter motor recently. Went kaput. Recond unit. All in about $400 plus. Other than that, no other issues. Just got one year to go. The issue now is the itch to change is coming.... Hi hi !! Hope you are having a good ride all these while! Haha. So you didnt manage to claim back all those amount oh?? Damn all those black hearted car dealers. Anyway from what I saw..... These are the most common issues with Saab right.. - Aircon Compressor - Headlight Levelling Sensor - DI - Starter Motor Other than that seems fine. The spark plug is really cheap!! Is that what Saab use originally??? A $20 spark plug for a set of 4??? How does the headlight levelling sensor affect you? stays low only shine the front or went up higher than high beam? thanks! I just got a Saab 93 sportsCombi 2006 recently and the turbo is but the body roll of the car is . Kudos to the previous owner who maintained it well. Buying a second hand car that is 9 years old be prepared to change certain parts and just enjoy the ride. Ohh.. Is the roll very terrible? Will adding strut bar solve the issue? Maybe just the front strut bar or are there even any for Saab? Haha.. This is my thoughts on number of owners. The more number of owners means more parts and maintance have been done due to the reason that any new owner got their ride, will spend some money to upkeep. So many owners not a issue. How abt one owner only car but never maintance? My friend bought a BMW 3 series before. 6 years old car one owner, talk till so happy. after 6 mths kana need to overhaul engine. 8k lor. You do have a point here! Then maybe is those previous owners always langga.. Some change car becuz they thought the car suay always langga. Lol. Never put accident free also. Haha. But hopefully not la. Actually i am now finding out how much will my insurance be if i were to get this 2L Turbo car. Hopefully not too expensive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 (edited) hehe I never engaged mechanic to do that before. mainly because my car was purchased only when it is 1-year old.....so no urgent need. I think just give AngKah Hoe a ring to see how much they charge........if you want him to give you a good rate maybe just say you are friend of Denis (not me,by the way) haha the DI issue seems to affect 9-5 and not 9-3. Arrrhh.. Finally i can post again!! Haha! later my wife shake too hard the whole bumper drop then jialat.. lol.. That is a good suggestion! Instead of me looking around like an expert might as well bring it to an expert after feeling the car's handling hor.. Do you guys know how much does it cost for the mechanics to just check out the ride? Thanks! Edited June 25, 2015 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victortheman Clutched June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 Hi hi !! Hope you are having a good ride all these while! Haha. So you didnt manage to claim back all those amount oh?? Damn all those black hearted car dealers. Anyway from what I saw..... These are the most common issues with Saab right.. - Aircon Compressor - Headlight Levelling Sensor - DI - Starter Motor Other than that seems fine. The spark plug is really cheap!! Is that what Saab use originally??? A $20 spark plug for a set of 4??? How does the headlight levelling sensor affect you? stays low only shine the front or went up higher than high beam? thanks! Ohh.. Is the roll very terrible? Will adding strut bar solve the issue? Maybe just the front strut bar or are there even any for Saab? Haha.. You do have a point here! Then maybe is those previous owners always langga.. Some change car becuz they thought the car suay always langga. Lol. Never put accident free also. Haha. But hopefully not la. Actually i am now finding out how much will my insurance be if i were to get this 2L Turbo car. Hopefully not too expensive... Just play around with the front and back tyre pressure and find the sweet spot. 240 psi seems right for me for front and back. Front strut bar will help body roll but car left 6 months so a bit pointless to install (UR Racing) Can call Griffin and ask to bring the car over for inspection before purchase if the dealer allow, or note the car number and ask Mr Puah to search the car's servicing history if any. Side track a bit... My front integrated 6 CD changer is stuck any audioshop with the proper tool to recomend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 hehe I never engaged mechanic to do that before. mainly because my car was purchased only when it is 1-year old.....so no urgent need. I think just give AngKah Hoe a ring to see how much they charge........if you want him to give you a good rate maybe just say you are friend of Denis (not me,by the way) haha the DI issue seems to affect 9-5 and not 9-3. may sure you slam the phone before he does. After that, go buy liang teh to chill yourself out. Cons: saab is about pace and not handling. pros: bmw may handle better and have bigger seat, but saab seat still makes the best seat if you ask me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 (edited) hahaha that bad? but I heard he's on very good terms with combix aka D**** that's why have to quote his name to get favourable rate hehe. yep, I have long dismissed the handling aspects of saab.....certainly poorer than bmw and ford..... however, the overall drive is still very refined and enjoyable. may sure you slam the phone before he does. After that, go buy liang teh to chill yourself out. Edited June 25, 2015 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 hahaha that bad? but I heard he's on very good terms with combix aka D**** that's why have to quote his name to get favourable rate hehe please dont mention that name along with the one in 1st floor amk, both are@#%$& to me. Period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 haha I can understand your angst......it was said to engage services of these 2 shops, you have to bring along buddy patron of these 2 shops. please dont mention that name along with the one in 1st floor amk, both are@#%$& to me. Period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 haha I can understand your angst......it was said to engage services of these 2 shops, you have to bring along buddy patron of these 2 shops. and a basket.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KentHyung Clutched June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 haha I can understand your angst......it was said to engage services of these 2 shops, you have to bring along buddy patron of these 2 shops. Wah.... Simi Dai ji ?? I lost liao.. So this AKH and Griffin is no longer good and con people ar that's y need to bring buddy along?? Bro ACE can advise or PM? Haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMsmallcar 4th Gear June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 hahaha that bad? but I heard he's on very good terms with combix aka D**** that's why have to quote his name to get favourable rate hehe. yep, I have long dismissed the handling aspects of saab.....certainly poorer than bmw and ford..... however, the overall drive is still very refined and enjoyable. Aiya. Throw names also cannot one la. Bring to TE * peace of mind * cannot afford than go other brand lor. hahahaha chill chill. Saab makes saab owner skip a beat when problems arise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 haha you have some misunderstanding......better I PM u Wah.... Simi Dai ji ?? I lost liao.. So this AKH and Griffin is no longer good and con people ar that's y need to bring buddy along?? Bro ACE can advise or PM? Haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 Wah.... Simi Dai ji ?? I lost liao.. So this AKH and Griffin is no longer good and con people ar that's y need to bring buddy along?? Bro ACE can advise or PM? Haha.. the G is in sin ming..... Aiya. Throw names also cannot one la. Bring to TE * peace of mind * cannot afford than go other brand lor. hahahaha chill chill. Saab makes saab owner skip a beat when problems arise. not really, if there is a problem i also go read up USA website and forumers there are very helpful and give very insightful advice. repair is not ex also but parts i prefer to buy from oversea. So much more cheaper compared to the old part sold by..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMsmallcar 4th Gear June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 the G is in sin ming..... not really, if there is a problem i also go read up USA website and forumers there are very helpful and give very insightful advice. repair is not ex also but parts i prefer to buy from oversea. So much more cheaper compared to the old part sold by..... Im refering ws in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KentHyung Clutched June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 Arrhhh.. I got it. LOL.. Ya those people from the states got good knowledge about their cars. they have their own garage and do their own servicing and mods. They are all quite specialist. We only got time to work and eat and slp and work. Haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 Arrhhh.. I got it. LOL.. Ya those people from the states got good knowledge about their cars. they have their own garage and do their own servicing and mods. They are all quite specialist. We only got time to work and eat and slp and work. Haha.. they also got time to let the car sit around and drive their other car and slowly fix. ours with a coe of 75k its ticking $20 for the coe alone and then plus depreciation and rdtax etc. its at least $50/day. how to let it just sit around and not use it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KentHyung Clutched June 25, 2015 Share June 25, 2015 they also got time to let the car sit around and drive their other car and slowly fix. ours with a coe of 75k its ticking $20 for the coe alone and then plus depreciation and rdtax etc. its at least $50/day. how to let it just sit around and not use it. Exactly... And if their ride is good, they can keep it for 20 to 30 years.. We have to scrap it after 10 even though it is still in very good condition and you still need to fork out more $$$$ if you intend to keep it. Haizz.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMsmallcar 4th Gear June 26, 2015 Share June 26, 2015 Exactly... And if their ride is good, they can keep it for 20 to 30 years.. We have to scrap it after 10 even though it is still in very good condition and you still need to fork out more $$$$ if you intend to keep it. Haizz.... you vote for who? hahahahahahhaha ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...