Do you think your instructor has taught you enough?

KARTer

taught enough for u to pass e exam lo.. once come out, it your problem..

i have difficult parking my car because during learning, is using pole.. hahaa..

I did witnessed a few drivers opened the drivers door to reverse their cars into parking lot (laugh).

my sis in law kept a few poles in her boot for the first 10 months afer passing, just in case she needed it to guide her .... till today (20 years liao) she still hit the kerbs in corners every month.... :D (she passed in her 10th attempt, sshhhhhhhhhhhh....) :D

So lucky, the kerbs can not make accident reports against her...

I'm a firm believer that

a) people should drive their own car in lessons

b) everybody should drive a "beater" car for at least 6 months

c) Everybody should be let loose in a controlled environment to "just be a hoon" and learn about what it feels like to lose control of a car, how a car feels in a skid etc etc

Include fatal collisions?

10yrs ago, my instructor brought along tea bags, filter, thermo flask, tea cup and pot, while i was driving ard ubi area he was busyin makin tea beside me [mad]

Confirm yours not kopi-licence

my instructor just finish chionging previous night.. during my lesson, he just nap and i drive where i want.. muahaha..

From second lesson I fetch Instructor from his branch office to his head office, through the city for exposure he said before he fell asleep. Tester told me to change Instructor if I want to pass driving test. I changed Instructor and heard the first Instructor absconded with tthe school fees collected.

Was taught by my instructor in BBDC that driving during TP and real life is different. Told me in real life when first at the red lights should rev till more than 4k then considered real driving. lol. But I did not choose the fixed instructor one. So I got different instructors for each lesson. There was one lesson supposed to learn the crank course and S course but then he never teach me anything just ask me try to go through those course first. Then managed to go through without any problem so he said since i know already ask me go out of the circuit to drive. End up he was sleeping while I drive around. Woke up only when I jammed brakes cuz saw amber light.

Not talking about passing your driving test, but how to survive + not be a nuisane on the roads, in real life??

My time life was simple, and roads are half deserted, so i have no complaint about the lesson he taught me...but what about today?? [:)]

Our determination to diligently drive safe and accident-free is most important and useful after passing the driving tests. Among those who received invitation to accident-free dialogue with AA (totally accident-free among heavy vehicle drivers).

[rolleyes] my instructor told me "u muz be aggressive to drive in SG".... every car out there is still more aggressive [laugh]

My 1st instructor guided me to drive to ind estate, and then he start to wash car. Two ocassions. Should be enough for me to observe how to wash car, I changed instructor after that. [rolleyes]

my instructor told me to wait at double yellow line while he go ta bao chicken rice.... waste my 15min. always chit chat with other instructors while i am learning parking....

one of a kind.

My instructor was a very nice person, not one of those who didn't pay attention to me or fell asleep as I drove, and taught me how to pass the test beautifully, but admittedly didn't teach me much of the skill needed to survive and drive comfortably in different environments as a qualified driver. But when I wanted to take some refresher lessons from him, he recommended I learn from another instructor, who happened to be his friend. He told me that he had prepared me for the test, but his friend would prepare me for the real world [laugh] In the end, those lessons with that other instructor cost me a lot but I never regretted. So I was quite fortunate in that aspect.

good instructor.. i got 1 idiot instructor teach me how to driver slower if past by bus stop to bouy chio bus.. :wub:

dunno how to pass also.. muahaha..

I did witnessed a few drivers opened the drivers door to reverse their cars into parking lot (laugh).

if dun have reverse sensors, tat's a good way to avoid denting car backside, u know.... [;)]

good instructor.. i got 1 idiot instructor teach me how to driver slower if past by bus stop to bouy chio bus.. :wub:

dunno how to pass also.. muahaha..

OMG...Hahaha...

My instructor was the opposite - back then whenever passing bus stops he would tell me "hey, eyes on the road ah... don't look at girls" [laugh]

i learn in SSDC leh.. my small booket nv have washing car lesson inside..

maybe that explain why i lack of washing car skill till now.. [:(]

my time: guaranteed course $300 bao-pass, average price of car: 5k, haircut: $2, bowl of noodle: $1.5

today: guaranteed course $2000?, average price of car: 80k, haircut: $10, bowl of noodle: $4

life is getting harder :D

I'm a firm believer that

a) people should drive their own car in lessons (not necessary if (b) is achieved)

b) everybody should drive a "beater" car for at least 6 months

c) Everybody should be let loose in a controlled environment to "just be a hoon" and learn about what it feels like to lose control of a car, how a car feels in a skid etc etc(karting can help achieve 70% of this)

Totally agreed (... added some comments in blue) :D

Edited by KARTer

Have been doing that ever since I got my license 2+ years ago. Helps because I do not have reverse sensors or reverse camera on my car yet.

for more than 80 years before sensors were invented, all drivers parked without using them :D

i only do that when driving lorry.. those 14 foot type and above..

10yrs ago, my instructor brought along tea bags, filter, thermo flask, tea cup and pot, while i was driving ard ubi area he was busyin makin tea beside me [mad]

traditional chinese tea?..... lucky he never cut finger nails, trimmed nose hair, or kept digging his nose [:)]