Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 1, 2011 Author Share June 1, 2011 That is a good question. So why are there GRC in the first place?? And why is there a racial quota for HDB? And why is there an MT policy that separates children into different classes depending on their colour. The reality is that there are many many policies in Singapore that are not colour blind. (whether this is good or bad is up to personal interpretation, I believe a mixture of both) it starts from the NRIC... NRIC should simply state Singaporean... not race: Chinese/Indian/Malay/Eurasian/whatever ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 it starts from the NRIC... NRIC should simply state Singaporean... not race: Chinese/Indian/Malay/Eurasian/whatever I agree with you. When I got my IC and had to declare a race it was the hardest thing for me to decide. "Kiwi" is not a race, I don't self identify as Caucasian or European, don't like the term Pakeha (if they would even allow) so what am I supposed to say? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 I agree with you. When I got my IC and had to declare a race it was the hardest thing for me to decide. "Kiwi" is not a race, I don't self identify as Caucasian or European, don't like the term Pakeha (if they would even allow) so what am I supposed to say? should it not be HUMAN race???? the proper term is ethnicity Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 1, 2011 Author Share June 1, 2011 And her husband will be ??? I think he is more of a concern than her - how would it be if he takes his son to first day at kindergarten and the teacher says "so nice of gong gong to bring you" assuming she does her national duty and produces children... say, by the time she is 30years old.. the hubby will be 43. When the kid reaches O levels at 16... the Dad will be 59... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 assuming she does her national duty and produces children... say, by the time she is 30years old.. the hubby will be 43. When the kid reaches O levels at 16... the Dad will be 59... This is why I always advise people to have children first - cannot imagine trying to take care of a teenager when I am in my late 50s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 And why is she an MP and not YOU? That's because she enter through the assh0le backdoor...... i didnt know she likes assh0les.............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 Also, I do commend TPL that she will be focussing on serving her constituents fulll time. I only hope that this doesn't mean she is moving across into some other sort of freelance business advisory business on her own account. IIRC, last time when opposition candidates said they would be full-time MPs if elected, PAP boo-ed them, so it seems that unless its a minister, their view is back-benchers should keep their day jobs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 I hear her husband quite good looking one abit like Tay ping hui ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 (edited) TPL started on the wrong foot since GE2011. From "I dunno what to say", Kate Spade, Denise Ho till E&Y resignation, she kanna whack left right center... I can imagine the shitty feeling she go through everyday at work and outside yet got to act confident as MIW.. If the rumour of her promoted to director at E&Y is true, she also kanna whack.. But if she continue as assoc consultant (lowest rank I think) but is an MP outside, that is also weird. Think she knew staying in E&Y is not a viable choice given the bad publicity against her.. leaving is a right choice and she can focus on Macpherson to win her reputation back in GE2016. If she's simply not cut out as MP, we will know in 5 years time. I'm no pappy supporter but I think TPL deserves a break from bad publicity; nevertheless, I expect her accountability on the police case. Hope these series of -ve incidents show her how naive her thinking and behavior was then.. Being a YPAP member may feel like elite but the ground is a real jungle filled with hostility against unworthy MPs. Edited June 1, 2011 by Poper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 That's because she enter through the assh0le backdoor...... i didnt know she likes assh0les.............. wrong, the reason is she try but you just sit here and complain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 1, 2011 Author Share June 1, 2011 wrong, the reason is she try but you just sit here and complain so only other MPs are allowed to complain about MPs? Ordinary citizens have no right to complain about MPs they think are no good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 The "minority" representation should ran in tandem with the "normal". Not instead of. If you nominate (for the sake of argument) Eunos as only minority then how about the rest of the residents there? The idea (I think) of dedicated minority representation is that there are some issues (such as HOTA) that are unique to the minority, and a minority repesentative understand these better, and also put forward the views of their special community. if it is run in tandem, it still allows them to manipulate to put minority in every corner in singapore and therefore we go back to the current system we have. if it was realy that important to represent the views of each race, why not have a Malay, Indian Welfare/Interest group rather than have them represented by MPs. most of the people that go to their MP only to request for their own bread and butter issues like getting subsidiies, buying HDB flat, appeal against serving National Service. i don't think it is that common to get even a request for their MP to represent their views about HOTA, promoting Malay interests etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 1, 2011 Author Share June 1, 2011 Another curious thought... she tender resignation can immediately leave the company? Usually should have 1 month or more notice period right? Especially executive positions need to handover properly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 Another curious thought... she tender resignation can immediately leave the company? Usually should have 1 month or more notice period right? Especially executive positions need to handover properly... maybe not resign, buy kena sacked? 24 hrs.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 Can I confirm 15k a month is tax free? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 She stay HDB quite poor leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 if it is run in tandem, it still allows them to manipulate to put minority in every corner in singapore and therefore we go back to the current system we have. if it was realy that important to represent the views of each race, why not have a Malay, Indian Welfare/Interest group rather than have them represented by MPs. most of the people that go to their MP only to request for their own bread and butter issues like getting subsidiies, buying HDB flat, appeal against serving National Service. i don't think it is that common to get even a request for their MP to represent their views about HOTA, promoting Malay interests etc. That's because the system is backwards. This should be the majority of what MPs do, help to appeal etc should just be out of "kindness of heart" becuase at the end of the day having an MP appeal to a stat board is a conflict of interest. I remember some time back, an NZ MP got into a lot of trouble beause he wrote a character reference for a member of his family to apply for (NZ) citizenship, and this was done on MP Letterhead - he got into trouble for abusing the power of his office, which I thought was fully appropriate. The problem with having interests represented by an assocciation is that they don't have any rights in parliament, which is the only forum that ultimately matters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 Another curious thought... she tender resignation can immediately leave the company? Usually should have 1 month or more notice period right? Especially executive positions need to handover properly... Who knows when she submit letter or what arrangement she has made with boss....anything here in this regard is only idle speculation ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...