Jman888 Moderator August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 2 minutes ago, Dp26 said: Called Samsung and also 3rd party locksmith. Samsung side is “kill people put fire” come down charge $100 for labour and transport. $120 for after office hours. change the mechanism or motherboard charge another ~$120. 3rd party locksmith recommended by Samsung can come down in 2 hrs but charge another $50 more. 😭 called 3rd party they don’t have the spare parts on hand so need onsite verification and also downtime to order. If can repair they charge around $130. No guarantees on success of repair also really first world problem buy new one sua! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 I have a good friend, he runs a company manufacturing all the lock systems. But when I go to his house, he is using the traditional ones. He told me his company have to do this to go after profits and business continuity. In fact, the traditional no need much management and has been stable with little repairs over the many years. Haha 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 3 hours ago, inlinesix said: After looking high and low for slim digital lock for gate, i gave up. Instead, I use digital padlock. $180. Me too. Just can't find a digital lock for hdb gate without changing the gate. 😅 If any bros did one, please recommend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 2 minutes ago, Rskc said: Me too. Just can't find a digital lock for hdb gate without changing the gate. 😅 If any bros did one, please recommend. I am using https://www.igloohome.co/en-SG I can set the pin code whether temporary or permanent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 39 minutes ago, Arogab said: I have a good friend, he runs a company manufacturing all the lock systems. But when I go to his house, he is using the traditional ones. He told me his company have to do this to go after profits and business continuity. In fact, the traditional no need much management and has been stable with little repairs over the many years. Haha After living in Beijing after 2 years, hard to go back to lock and key la 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 Just now, inlinesix said: I am using https://www.igloohome.co/en-SG I can set the pin code whether temporary or permanent. The padlock one? Ya I am using this now. Pretty happy with it.👍 Checked with igloohome for their gate version...cannot fit. 😑 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 Just now, Rskc said: The padlock one? Ya I am using this now. Pretty happy with it.👍 Checked with igloohome for their gate version...cannot fit. 😑 Padlock. The only downside is no WIFI version. Cannot do remote unlock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 4 hours ago, inlinesix said: After looking high and low for slim digital lock for gate, i gave up. Instead, I use digital padlock. $180. same. Igloohome ah? I used to have a fingerprint pad lock, but my mother old liao, her fingerprint sometimes can sometimes cannot. so I switch to the number padlock. Quite a good buy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: After living in Beijing after 2 years, hard to go back to lock and key la Haha, I always do my simple drill, Wallet, Phone and Keys just before I leave home. In fact, my wallet, and keys are always placed together at a fixed place in the house. I never have to worry. One more advantage is I don't have old folks at home with me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 digital, cheap and good 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dp26 5th Gear August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 Door leh not bicycle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 58 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: same. Igloohome ah? I used to have a fingerprint pad lock, but my mother old liao, her fingerprint sometimes can sometimes cannot. so I switch to the number padlock. Quite a good buy. Igloohome. I always unlock it on the way to the gate. If got wifi, it is better. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 14 minutes ago, Arogab said: Haha, I always do my simple drill, Wallet, Phone and Keys just before I leave home. In fact, my wallet, and keys are always placed together at a fixed place in the house. I never have to worry. One more advantage is I don't have old folks at home with me. Keys and Hand Sanitiser are always at the same spot. Don't need to take the house key now. Wallet inside my backpack. It is always ready to go out. Don't need to check again before going out. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 (edited) 39 minutes ago, Arogab said: Haha, I always do my simple drill, Wallet, Phone and Keys just before I leave home. In fact, my wallet, and keys are always placed together at a fixed place in the house. I never have to worry. One more advantage is I don't have old folks at home with me. Actually it is quite liberating to be able to leave the house for a run or to run an errand without having to remember to close and lock the door (usually digital lock is recommended to pair with door closer)...and carrying the physical key. Had been so use to it for at least 8-10yrs that it is ubiquitous to my lifestyle and I only appreciated it in recent 2 years when I have been renting and have to go back to carrying a physical key around. What I do now as an alternative is to replace the wooden door, metal gate and mailbox key with locks that can be open with 1 master key... so I only need to contend with 1 key rather than 3. this is from Duro brand: Edited August 29, 2022 by Vratenza 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 19 minutes ago, Vratenza said: Actually it is quite liberating to be able to leave the house for a run or to run an errand without having to remember to close and lock the door (usually digital lock is recommended to pair with door closer)...and carrying the physical key. Had been so use to it for at least 8-10yrs that it is ubiquitous to my lifestyle and I only appreciated it in recent 2 years when I have been renting and have to go back to carrying a physical key around. What I do now as an alternative is to replace the wooden door, metal gate and mailbox key with locks that can be open with 1 master key... so I only need to contend with 1 key rather than 3. this is from Duro brand: Mine is an easy 3 keys for house (2 doors and letter box), and I find it very small only, cos I don't have any fancy key chain but just a ring to hold them. If in SG and I need to go out for a run, I feel the keys are very light compare to the mobile phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dp26 5th Gear August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 Update. locksmith came down and changed the mechanism to a new one and “updated” the software (?) and lock working again in 20mins. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged August 29, 2022 Share August 29, 2022 1 hour ago, Jman888 said: digital, cheap and good i used this for my house.... during renovation! 😆 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 17 hours ago, inlinesix said: Igloohome. I always unlock it on the way to the gate. If got wifi, it is better. hahaha. same now they have this leh! https://www.igloohome.co/en-SG/products/key-fob This one work as a key unlocker can place at your living room, then when you wanna go out just press once to unlock, no need to press password. ahahahha. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...