keanie Turbocharged August 21, 2018 Share August 21, 2018 Those got pmd one, better put fire extinguisher at home Also buy fire insurance. Heard few residential units caught fire due to charging n many PMD. Sekali, insurance co exclude PMD coverage. Lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong1977 4th Gear August 21, 2018 Share August 21, 2018 Problem is the fire safety regulations require some main doors to be fire-rated... 1hr? Think is for those units within certain distance from lifts/stairwell etc main idea is they want to keep the fire contained within the unit instead of spreading to the rest of the building. By then the whole place would have burnt down... Including the people inside. A socialist state solution for a democratic society. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 21, 2018 Share August 21, 2018 Those got pmd one, better put fire extinguisher at home Better still, throw away that PMD. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged August 21, 2018 Share August 21, 2018 Those got pmd one, better put fire extinguisher at home i don't have PMD but i still have a fire extinguisher at home and in my car. (see got chance to become famous when other ppl car on fire). you are correct that depending on design of the escape route, not all main entrsnce doors have to be fire rated. however, escape door rightfully should swing out and not inward. I don't know why most residential apartments do not have this requirement. funny thing is, this HDB csn even seal off the door to put a fish tank. We are very flexible. the rich fella got two doors mah ... and the "working" door is just beside the fish tank. and since its a fish tank, can act as fire deterrent also ! 2-in-1 use !! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 Fish tank got alot of electrical stuff underneath in the cabinet... Cannister pump filter, pump, chiller, tank light connections.... all potential a source of flash point. Think you get a large tank of boiled fish soup instead... i don't have PMD but i still have a fire extinguisher at home and in my car. (see got chance to become famous when other ppl car on fire). the rich fella got two doors mah ... and the "working" door is just beside the fish tank. and since its a fish tank, can act as fire deterrent also ! 2-in-1 use !! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 i don't have PMD but i still have a fire extinguisher at home and in my car. (see got chance to become famous when other ppl car on fire). the rich fella got two doors mah ... and the "working" door is just beside the fish tank. and since its a fish tank, can act as fire deterrent also ! 2-in-1 use !! yeah it was reported he owns 2 adjoining units. but the code do require a certain running distance and other considerations. already having a single escape door is minimum liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naughty9795 2nd Gear August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 Digital locking hacking gadget. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 22, 2018 Author Share August 22, 2018 For all that was discussed, I can't imagine myself using house key to open the door, just as I crank a car without a keyless go function. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 you are correct that depending on design of the escape route, not all main entrsnce doors have to be fire rated. however, escape door rightfully should swing out and not inward. I don't know why most residential apartments do not have this requirement. funny thing is, this HDB csn even seal off the door to put a fish tank. We are very flexible. By design guide, yes, escape door should swing out to facilitate evacuation, BUT there are other considerations as well in the Fire Code. One of it is about not creating obstruction during evacuation process. In a typical residential project setup, the corridor is typically around 1.2m - 1.6m wide. Now imagine during a fire emergency, all doors swing outward, the effective corridor wide would be narrowed to just 0.3m - 0.7m, which shall affect mass evacuation for sure. Logically, in a typical unit / household, unlikely to have >10 people rushing out of a door at the same time, while the chances of having more than 10, 20 people rushing through the corridor is much higher, so what is to be prioritize become crystal clear. Given the same considerations, door swinging outward is more applicable for commercial building, since there are potentially tens to even hundreds personnel trying to rush out of a room / compartment (say shops, office, theater / hall, etc.), and the least to say is that corridor width is also much wider (>2m) in such places. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 Yes, the word "liberation" comes to mind: - gone are days of struggling with bags of groceries to dig out the car remote (keyless entry and automated rear hatch), - open door and press the start stop button without cranking with car key, - reaching home and just fingerprint open the door without having to be constantly reminding ownself to bring the keys out when going out, - go around the neighbourhood just bringing the hp and wallet, but these days with paywave, even the wallet is becoming redundant, - go for runs just bringing my Bluetooth earpiece and waterproof S9+, can still use the Samsung pay to pay for ice cold pocari sweat at cheers. - even my letter box lock changed to 3 digit numeral lock. No point bringing a key daily for a once a week chore of open g the letterbox. - set fingerprint access for my parents so that they can drop by anytime or help with some errands if I am overseas. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 22, 2018 Author Share August 22, 2018 Bro Ventenza, where to buy those letter box key with number lock? I see key I tak boleh tahan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 By design guide, yes, escape door should swing out to facilitate evacuation, BUT there are other considerations as well in the Fire Code. One of it is about not creating obstruction during evacuation process. In a typical residential project setup, the corridor is typically around 1.2m - 1.6m wide. Now imagine during a fire emergency, all doors swing outward, the effective corridor wide would be narrowed to just 0.3m - 0.7m, which shall affect mass evacuation for sure. Logically, in a typical unit / household, unlikely to have >10 people rushing out of a door at the same time, while the chances of having more than 10, 20 people rushing through the corridor is much higher, so what is to be prioritize become crystal clear. Given the same considerations, door swinging outward is more applicable for commercial building, since there are potentially tens to even hundreds personnel trying to rush out of a room / compartment (say shops, office, theater / hall, etc.), and the least to say is that corridor width is also much wider (>2m) in such places. yes you have explained in detail Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 this is one of the easy local source: https://www.qoo10.sg/item/HDB-KEYLESS-MAIL-LETTER-BOX-LOCK-ZINC-ALLOY-PASSWORD-COMBINATION/624280140?banner_no=1305330 I got mine from taobao at slight cheaper price, but the savings only worth it if you are already familiar with taobao purchasing and minimizing the shipping charges. Before anyone comes to dump crap about it being easily broken into.......think about how complicated is the original letter box lock that it could not be easily picked by a determined thief and how important is your mail...... for me, those in the mailbox are just bills to be paid and junk mail mainly Important mails will come in registered form anyway. Bro Ventenza, where to buy those letter box key with number lock?I see key I tak boleh tahan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 (edited) For all that was discussed, I can't imagine myself using house key to open the door, just as I crank a car without a keyless go function. Ironically I am driving a car with keyless function but still using physical keys for my house door. Important mails will come in registered form anyway. Important mails comes in registered form? Never received before. Edited August 22, 2018 by DACH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 (edited) Some in recent memories are original diploma scrolls from the university, mercedes car recall notification from C&C, some online purchase of significant value that can fit in envelope that can fit in the letter box but the sender sent it out as registered mail to ensure receipt. The bills in normal mail...even if lost, just call the bank to waive the late payment fees the following month. Ironically I am driving a car with keyless function but still using physical keys for my house door. Important mails comes in registered form? Never received before. Edited August 22, 2018 by Vratenza Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 Some in recent memories are original diploma scrolls from the university, mercedes car recall notification from C&C, some online purchase of significant value that can fit in envelope that can fit in the letter box but the sender sent it out as registered mail to ensure receipt. The bills in normal mail...even if lost, just call the bank to waive the late payment fees the following month. I never receive one before. It really shows how unimportant I am. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic August 22, 2018 Share August 22, 2018 Ironically I am driving a car with keyless function but still using physical keys for my house door. Important mails comes in registered form? Never received before. Not forgetting the key to my heart ❤️ 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 22, 2018 Author Share August 22, 2018 this is one of the easy local source: https://www.qoo10.sg/item/HDB-KEYLESS-MAIL-LETTER-BOX-LOCK-ZINC-ALLOY-PASSWORD-COMBINATION/624280140?banner_no=1305330 I got mine from taobao at slight cheaper price, but the savings only worth it if you are already familiar with taobao purchasing and minimizing the shipping charges. Before anyone comes to dump crap about it being easily broken into.......think about how complicated is the original letter box lock that it could not be easily picked by a determined thief and how important is your mail...... for me, those in the mailbox are just bills to be paid and junk mail mainly Important mails will come in registered form anyway. Thanks bro, need a vernier caliper to measure first before purchase ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...