Digital Door Lock

Hamburger

No no you don't understand.

Despite so many actual users coming out to say that they do not have any issues with the battery life or dead batteries, digital door locks are still useless and impractical and will die on you and leave you trapped outside the house when you need to laosai.

*facepalm*

Be careful with these products. The one at my place up lorry over the weekend and I have to use manual override and remove batteries else I get locked outside the house.

No no you don't understand.

Despite so many actual users coming out to say that they do not have any issues with the battery life or dead batteries, digital door locks are still useless and impractical and will die on you and leave you trapped outside the house when you need to laosai.

*facepalm*

Digital locks is for convenience, but when it malfunctions it is damn inconvenient.. Mechanical is still much more reliable than electronics.. mechanical can last forever.. as some says.. kiang ju ho, mai kay kiang..

Mechanical one also will fail. Nothing is forever. :a-no:

The spring in the lock broke at my mum's place. She was locked inside the house. I had to call a locksmith to unlock the door and changed the lock.

Be careful with these products. The one at my place up lorry over the weekend and I have to use manual override and remove batteries else I get locked outside the house.

Wah really worries me this...

It's never occurred to me that this might happen to me too - if digital lock screws up...

So far, i use rechargeable batts, and need to change/recharge batts maybe once a few months. I think one of the 4 batts a bit koteh already...

Must go back and check in the event batts mati already can manual override or not… if cannot then cham...

Did you manage to laosai in time?

I also wanna replace my metal gate and wooden door of my HDB flat to digital locks. Asked a few companies and all said i must install on a new locations on the gate and door. :(

Wah really worries me this...

It's never occurred to me that this might happen to me too - if digital lock screws up...

So far, i use rechargeable batts, and need to change/recharge batts maybe once a few months. I think one of the 4 batts a bit koteh already...

Must go back and check in the event batts mati already can manual override or not… if cannot then cham...

For a slow draining device such as digital door locks, it is makes more sense to just use a set of good non-rechargeable alkaline batteries. rechargeable batteries are too expensive and not particularly suited for the purpose.

Do not buy those el-cheapo ones from the neighbourhood sell-everything-stores. Those the failure rate are high.

The average time interval between the low battery warning beeps are about 1.5 to 2 yrs for my case. So $10-$15 per 2 years seem pretty reasonable to me in terms of cost and peace of mind

Use your rechargeable batteries for high draining devices such as remote control cars, camera flash etc.

Ya, mine too ...

Even if dead, still have spare key to manually open the door ...

Where do you keep the spare key? Thinking of getting a digital door lock but defeats the purpose if still got to bring a spare key around.

Yesterday, after dinner, was walking around the shopping mall and came across Yale digital gate lock bby Home Fix. Showed the photo of my gate to the sales guy. After some discussion, he said no problem with installation. It will be a direct fit into the existing gate lock. Wonderful, no need welding or additional holes drilled. Much better than the Samsung one.

Made an appointment with the sales guy. Will wait to see them install in two weekends later.

attachicon.gifYale digital gate lock 001.jpg

attachicon.gifYale digital gate lock 002.jpg

Am using the same one now. This model from Yale is specifically for gates. Battery life is ok, last more than a year for me. Entry using keypad, or credit card size keycard, or keychain = all may cost extra.

Installation is easy, mine done on a new gate special cater for digital lock.

The bling bling and shine shine is nice.  [laugh]

My Schlage digital door lock has yet to fail me, despite all the negative opinions.

It runs on a 9v battery which drops to about 7v when I changed it after about 1.5yr.

It also has a manual key to open, in case the digital part fails.

The digital part is more for convenience and should not be mistaken for a strong secure lock.

Edited by Kb27

You expect the lock to last life time? After gaining access to the master unit( control) just replace with new batteries. The lock are as good as new for another year or two.

Frankly speaking after using for 8,9 months I find it very convenient especially when I am carrying groceries.

The downside I still need to carry a key for my letterbox. Sigh.

Where do you keep the spare key? Thinking of getting a digital door lock but defeats the purpose if still got to bring a spare key around.

I keep one at my mum place (anothe unit at the same block), one inside my car.

Hope didn't reveal my identity. Hahaha

Funny people don't has confident with house digital lock but trust the car remote lock. How irony. Hshaha

Edited by Kopites

You expect the lock to last life time? After gaining access to the master unit( control) just replace with new batteries. The lock are as good as new for another year or two.

I said the digital lock at my place up lorry. I did not say the batteries up lorry.

Did you manage to laosai in time?

Lao in the pants lor  :a-fun:

Frankly speaking after using for 8,9 months I find it very convenient especially when I am carrying groceries.

The downside I still need to carry a key for my letterbox. Sigh.

I keep one at my mum place (anothe unit at the same block), one inside my car.

Hope didn't reveal my identity. Hahaha

Funny people don't has confident with house digital lock but trust the car remote lock. How irony. Hshaha

I dont really like digital locks, when the batteries run flat, need to use key to manually open the door and then replace the batteries before the lock can function as usual

I think it depends on individual needs.

Scheduling and changing a battery every year is probably a minor inconvenience.

For me it's advantages far outweight the cons.

1. I have tenants. I used to duplicate keys for them, sometimes they lose it. With digital locks, no need to do that anymore, even when tenants changed.

2. My house keys were attached to the car key. When I left the car at a workshop for overnight repairs, I took public transport home to find that I have forgotten my house keys, still attached to the car key. By then, the ws has closed. It's a panic trying to find someone with key, when nobody's at home. Not anymore with digital lock.

Even if my current digital lock dies, I'll probably replaced it with another one.

The convenience it offers is just too great.

All these years of using my digital locks (i used 2 models), I have not have the situation of having to use backup measure to open the door.

One main reason is the early warning reminder when the voltage drops below a certain threshold. It will flash a sign and give a distinctive chime each time you use the door. Given the procrastinator I am at times, I had gone for 2 whole weeks of reminder chimes before I finally got off my butt to change out the batteries.

Oh, the convenience of just putting on my running shoes and my mp3 earphones for my weekly run is priceless. 

I think it depends on individual needs.

Scheduling and changing a battery every year is probably a minor inconvenience.

For me it's advantages far outweight the cons.

1. I have tenants. I used to duplicate keys for them, sometimes they lose it. With digital locks, no need to do that anymore, even when tenants changed.

2. My house keys were attached to the car key. When I left the car at a workshop for overnight repairs, I took public transport home to find that I have forgotten my house keys, still attached to the car key. By then, the ws has closed. It's a panic trying to find someone with key, when nobody's at home. Not anymore with digital lock.

Even if my current digital lock dies, I'll probably replaced it with another one.

The convenience it offers is just too great.

if u r renting out, make sense on convenience

For ownself stay, somehow i think its not as secure as traditional lock

if u r renting out, make sense on convenience

For ownself stay, somehow i think its not as secure as traditional lock

you have to understand how the locking mechanism for the digital vs traditional lock works.

once bolted and locked, both are equally resistant or prone to brute force entry.

If you are concerned about the security from the breeching of the locking mechanism, picking a traditional lock is easier than picking a digital lock. Finger prints recognition is not as easy to breech as popularly thought. You probably need to have some picasso or a few crates of gold bars stored in your house to make it worth the while to even try.

:grin: