GLZT 6th Gear February 25, 2016 Share February 25, 2016 I chnge mine annually Mine samsung Mine also samsung, used for 4years only change once last year. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic February 25, 2016 Share February 25, 2016 Mine also samsung, used for 4years only change once last year.Did u turn on the ringtone? Mine on but now i off it to save batt haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear February 25, 2016 Share February 25, 2016 Did u turn on the ringtone? Mine on but now i off it to save batt hahaNope, but mine is not fingerprint. Is swipe and press password. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stdfrank 1st Gear February 25, 2016 Share February 25, 2016 Is there a lock that use both pin and fingerprint? Kind of like 2FA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SS316 2nd Gear February 25, 2016 Share February 25, 2016 That Yishun shop say that only buy their gate then can install their digital lock...is that true? He keep on saying Yale is the one but I beg to differ. Any comments? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged February 25, 2016 Share February 25, 2016 Is there a lock that use both pin and fingerprint? Kind of like 2FA? + also can send sms OTP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 Was played out by Hanman International who distributes Samsung digital door locks. To think, their director, William Baek used to fly r/c helicopter with me at Bishan!!! William, if you are reading this, please tell your sales staff not to over promise what they cannot do. I know you will be reading this cos I will be emailing you the link here. Last friday, at IT Show, I decided to visit Samsung Digital Locks booth. I told the sales guy, an older gentleman, about my needs. Basically a gate digital lock to replace my existing gate lock. I showed him photos from my hp of my gate which is exactly the same as what I posting here. He went on to recommend me SHS-2621 model which he says is the only one for gate. He said no problem mounting it. I double confirm with him, who is going to drill new holes in the gate, he said it will be his contractor and it will take at most 2hrs to do the installation. He said the price of $539 covers everything, lock, labor and installation. He went on to show me the actual lock I will be getting and tell me about its various features. He also told me there will be a backplate to cover to back of the lock to prevent outsiders from accessing the back of the lock. He described to me on my hp the photo of my gate where they will be mounting the new digital lock. It will be on top of my existing lock. My existing lock will be just a handle to open and close the gate. I told him, I need to discuss this with my missus if she is comfortable with a digital lock and thanked him for his detailed explanation. The following day, after my wife agreed to have the digital lock, I called Hanman International and spoke to a guy called Larry with filipino accent. He further explained to me the pricing is correct and I could buy it over the phone, no need go down to IT Show for the promotional price. He further recommends me to install a door closer too so that when the door is closed, the digital lock will be in line and this will not cause the digital lock to be damaged. I question him if possible to install the door closer on my metal gate, he say let the on-site contractor decide. If possible, just pay $100 for the door closer. I agreed to his recommendation and booked a time slot for installation on this Sat 3.30pm. I will be paying in cash to the contractor attending to me. Then yesterday evening, a lady called me up while I was driving. I did not answer. I called her back later after I parked my car. She said need to push my appointment to another date because the contractor unable to make it. I agree to next Sat, the same timing. She then say need to send her a photo of my gate for her contractor. I told her that her colleague at IT Show already saw the photo of my gate and said can install. She said just whatsapp her the photo to double confirm if their contractor can install. So I whatsapp the very same photo of my gate I showed it to the sales guy. She replied to say according to her contractor, cannot install!!! I was thinking, WTF, spending so much time liao, now tell me cannot install. Lucky I never pay a single cent yet. Totally wasted my whole time. So please be very aware of the sales ppl from Hanman International, over promise and never deliver!!! Look elsewhere for digital locks. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 Your gate very old school.... You sure you need a digital lock? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 Your gate very old school.... You sure you need a digital lock? Thanks. If you are into the 70's, this is the gate since 1970. I asked two contractors to quote before to replace door and gate, both came back with $3k quotation. Need a new lock. Current one used for more than 10 years liao, going to up lorry. You pull hard, can open the gate liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 sometimes i think it is hard to be 100% sure based on pic alone. Sales man are not the ones who install so their knowledge is limited in this aspect they can just agar agar based on pic. same for me, the saleslady was quite sure the samsung lock i chose can fit. End up when installer came, he measured and said cannot he has a few other models and brands in his van and recommended me the yale took it in the end, what's more it was cheaper than samsung Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 That Yishun shop say that only buy their gate then can install their digital lock...is that true? He keep on saying Yale is the one but I beg to differ. Any comments? that's bull shiit lah anyone selling a lock standalone also can install for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 Thanks. If you are into the 70's, this is the gate since 1970. I asked two contractors to quote before to replace door and gate, both came back with $3k quotation. Need a new lock. Current one used for more than 10 years liao, going to up lorry. You pull hard, can open the gate liao. what about just replacing the lock only? that should be cheaper right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 what about just replacing the lock only? that should be cheaper right? Yes, replacing the lock will be cheaper. If you look carefully, the lock is a common bedroom lock which can be easily be pricked open. So I am in favor of a more sturdy lock. However modern locks do not have the same fitment of this older lock. Nothing in the "plug n play" category. If my place kena break-in, then ppl will say why u never install a more sturdy lock? Thats why I am still looking for "the" sturdy lock for my 1970 gate w/o having to completely replace the gate. Its like looking for a modern automatic 6 speed gearbox to fit a 1970 car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 For those don`t mind Samsung digital lock without English word aka Korean language. It is cheaper to buy from Qoo10. Get the P910 mode, price range between 350 to 400. Add another 150 to 200 for installation. Save About 300. P910 can be open by 1)finger print 2)Tap RFID card 3)combination number 4) metal key It is equivalent to our local p718 selling At about 900. Many of my neighbours installed this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 Was played out by Hanman International who distributes Samsung digital door locks. To think, their director, William Baek used to fly r/c helicopter with me at Bishan!!! William, if you are reading this, please tell your sales staff not to over promise what they cannot do. I know you will be reading this cos I will be emailing you the link here. Last friday, at IT Show, I decided to visit Samsung Digital Locks booth. I told the sales guy, an older gentleman, about my needs. Basically a gate digital lock to replace my existing gate lock. I showed him photos from my hp of my gate which is exactly the same as what I posting here. He went on to recommend me SHS-2621 model which he says is the only one for gate. He said no problem mounting it. I double confirm with him, who is going to drill new holes in the gate, he said it will be his contractor and it will take at most 2hrs to do the installation. He said the price of $539 covers everything, lock, labor and installation. He went on to show me the actual lock I will be getting and tell me about its various features. He also told me there will be a backplate to cover to back of the lock to prevent outsiders from accessing the back of the lock. He described to me on my hp the photo of my gate where they will be mounting the new digital lock. It will be on top of my existing lock. My existing lock will be just a handle to open and close the gate. I told him, I need to discuss this with my missus if she is comfortable with a digital lock and thanked him for his detailed explanation. The following day, after my wife agreed to have the digital lock, I called Hanman International and spoke to a guy called Larry with filipino accent. He further explained to me the pricing is correct and I could buy it over the phone, no need go down to IT Show for the promotional price. He further recommends me to install a door closer too so that when the door is closed, the digital lock will be in line and this will not cause the digital lock to be damaged. I question him if possible to install the door closer on my metal gate, he say let the on-site contractor decide. If possible, just pay $100 for the door closer. I agreed to his recommendation and booked a time slot for installation on this Sat 3.30pm. I will be paying in cash to the contractor attending to me. Then yesterday evening, a lady called me up while I was driving. I did not answer. I called her back later after I parked my car. She said need to push my appointment to another date because the contractor unable to make it. I agree to next Sat, the same timing. She then say need to send her a photo of my gate for her contractor. I told her that her colleague at IT Show already saw the photo of my gate and said can install. She said just whatsapp her the photo to double confirm if their contractor can install. So I whatsapp the very same photo of my gate I showed it to the sales guy. She replied to say according to her contractor, cannot install!!! I was thinking, WTF, spending so much time liao, now tell me cannot install. Lucky I never pay a single cent yet. Totally wasted my whole time. So please be very aware of the sales ppl from Hanman International, over promise and never deliver!!! Look elsewhere for digital locks. Samsung brochure 001.jpg Samsung brochure 002.jpg Gate 001.jpg Gate 002.jpg Screenshot_2016-03-17-09-22-15.jpg Bro sorry to hear about your wild goose chase. Looking at your gate what the first sale guy said seems to be right way to install it. I had similar experience before where the sales guy said can install but when they come they say cannot. (But I pre paid liao) so I call the sales guy and ask wtf then he called the installer and walk them thru, they came back and actually manage to install it. Some a sales people have more experience and know how to get it done, sometimes the contractor see the job being bigger will also find excus to turn you down, if the sales people not experience will go by what the contractor says. Personally in such cases you should actually buy from the first sales guy and pressure him to speak to the contracter, with their experience they can suss out the contractors bulls**t and make them do the job. I think the Pinoy guy just wanted to leverage off the first guys reccomendation and pump up his sales record Hope you get it installed :) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 I should also add thought it seems very possible installing it will not be straightforward for the contractor. I reckon will need to cut parts of the gate and weld the plate if cannot use rivet 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 I should also add thought it seems very possible installing it will not be straightforward for the contractor. I reckon will need to cut parts of the gate and weld the plate if cannot use rivet Yup, not straightforward installation but with proper tools, it can be done. Need drill, angle grinder, welding machine and new steel plates. Being mechanically trained, I can also take on the job myself if I had the tools. In US, they have tools library for ppl to borrow tools to DIY. Here, very difficult to borrow tools from contractors unless you are their relative. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 You escalate to the boss already right? Since you are buddy buddy with him, I think he will make it right for you if it is really possible to be installed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...