Josephsatu 1st Gear June 4, 2011 Share June 4, 2011 The owner should pay you leh! Your impact to the cow help tenderize the meat, more soft and Q! Believe me your car is no match for the cow! My car was the one that was soft- front grill drop off, radiator smashed There was no injuries on the cow, only some blood coming out from the mouth, a few kicks and after a few minutes just stop breathing, luckily it was the Co car and the Co paid for the cow as well ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bandotcom Neutral Newbie June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 Yes, those days the beach were untouch, pick up many beautiful shells as large as your hand and the sand was so soft and white as snow Turtles only come out to lay eggs at night but still a beautiful sight! Seafood was cheap and fresh from the days' catch, people were friendly and not so much traffic Roads was fill with pot holes and mostly heavy logging trucks but the surroundings was serene and the drive was very therapeutic Nowadays, its much easier to drive with better roads but too much traffic with unfriendly and impatient drivers I was sent to Kertih by my Co for some works in mid 90s.. Stayed there for more than 10 days in one of the resorts surrounded by fisherman village. Its was somewhere in December.. monsoon season. So works always KIV.. eat n sleep. Given 1 Proton saga arrowback for transport from hotel to refinery plant, driving was fun. Drove all the way to Kuala Terengganu..nice view, stopped by the coastal road for teh tarik and fried keropok lekor (fish meat mixed with flour) facing south china sea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephsatu 1st Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 I was sent to Kertih by my Co for some works in mid 90s.. Stayed there for more than 10 days in one of the resorts surrounded by fisherman village. Its was somewhere in December.. monsoon season. So works always KIV.. eat n sleep. Given 1 Proton saga arrowback for transport from hotel to refinery plant, driving was fun. Drove all the way to Kuala Terengganu..nice view, stopped by the coastal road for teh tarik and fried keropok lekor (fish meat mixed with flour) facing south china sea. Its the power station named after Sultan Ismail- I think I stayed in a block of apartments ( I think its called Perpel Lodge )built for sale to the people working there when they discovered oil and gas offhore Trengannu Nobody bought the place 'cos the KL workers all drove to and fro home instead of staying there 'cos the place was so isolated. So they turned it into serviced apartments . Luckily there was a pub there where they are allowed to serve alcohol but the authorities always spot check for their local muslims. Sometimes we drove to to the border of Pahang where there is a mountain resort and pub for the backpackers and of course to Genting Highlands for our fix. The problem is Thurs is 1/2 day and Friday is off whereas have to work on Sat and Sun When we have spares from Sin, get excuse to get back work on Monday 'cos Sin Office is closed It was one of my most enjoyable and memorable 1 year of my 34 years of working life! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bandotcom Neutral Newbie June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 Its the power station named after Sultan Ismail- I think I stayed in a block of apartments ( I think its called Perpel Lodge )built for sale to the people working there when they discovered oil and gas offhore Trengannu Nobody bought the place 'cos the KL workers all drove to and fro home instead of staying there 'cos the place was so isolated. So they turned it into serviced apartments . Luckily there was a pub there where they are allowed to serve alcohol but the authorities always spot check for their local muslims. Sometimes we drove to to the border of Pahang where there is a mountain resort and pub for the backpackers and of course to Genting Highlands for our fix. The problem is Thurs is 1/2 day and Friday is off whereas have to work on Sat and Sun When we have spares from Sin, get excuse to get back work on Monday 'cos Sin Office is closed It was one of my most enjoyable and memorable 1 year of my 34 years of working life! I can't recall the power station name...I stayed in Paka Beach Resort. At night this power station is soo bright with so many spot lights look like amusement park. I think this is the only power plant there run by Petronas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephsatu 1st Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 I can't recall the power station name...I stayed in Paka Beach Resort. At night this power station is soo bright with so many spot lights look like amusement park. I think this is the only power plant there run by Petronas. Yea, thats the only power station there. You can see a big flare where they burned off the excess gas ,while driving past as well We used to joke the burnt off in 1 day can be use as cooking gas for the whole of Sin. Well of course in 1985 pop. was like 2 to 3 mil. Not like now with all the FTs' and PRs' Haven't been back like in 20 years, the last trip was to take a chopper to work on one of the offshore platforms Now work is firmly on the ground and no more outstation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eko6 2nd Gear June 10, 2011 Share June 10, 2011 There was a stretch of open and wide road. Down slope some more. Double white line at the middle. It will tempt you to over take, then TP waiting in front to collect kopi money. Watch out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Customgolf Neutral Newbie June 11, 2011 Author Share June 11, 2011 Hi Guys, thanks for all the reply, I've survived the trip and here's my update. There isn't much potholes along the way now as most were patched up but still uneven. Lots of overtaking all the way from YP to Kuantan. Pretty straight foward drive when you have the GPS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear December 8, 2014 Share December 8, 2014 Sorry to bring up this old topic.....Lately anyone been to Yong Peng ? How is the place ? Any wholesale fish/fruits center ? TIA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged December 8, 2014 Share December 8, 2014 (edited) Sorry to bring up this old topic.....Lately anyone been to Yong Peng ? How is the place ? Any wholesale fish/fruits center ? TIA.Was there 2 mths ago. It's not a 'happening town'. Laid back, with a main road, shops on either side. There's a small supermarket - Econsave or something that sounds like that. :()Known for it's Foochow cuisine, the most common is the red yeast rice soup noodles served with a dose of alcoholic kick! Saw bus loads of day trippers snapping up Foochow traditional confectionery at one shop. Edited December 8, 2014 by TameDriver 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear December 9, 2014 Share December 9, 2014 Was there 2 mths ago. It's not a 'happening town'. Laid back, with a main road, shops on either side. There's a small supermarket - Econsave or something that sounds like that. :() Known for it's Foochow cuisine, the most common is the red yeast rice soup noodles served with a dose of alcoholic kick! Saw bus loads of day trippers snapping up Foochow traditional confectionery at one shop. Thanks, was told around there , near shop for otah should have a wholesale of fruits and fish ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged December 9, 2014 Share December 9, 2014 Thanks, was told around there , near shop for otah should have a wholesale of fruits and fish ? Not aware there's specifically wholesaler for fruits and fish. But there are road side stalls if seasonal fruits are aplenty. There are a couple of cafe selling Yong tau foo and Otah. Nothing to rave about. For nice Otah, go Muar. I got mine from a coffee shop along Glutton Street. Tried all the diff types the road side stalls had to offer but still liked those from the coffee shop, sold by a plump young man & his mother. Need to display Parking coupons if u park near Glutton St. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 Thanks, Bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 Try Yong Peng fishball noodles . There are 2 popular ones , ANTHONY FISHBALL and YUEN YUEN FISHBALL. Its along the main road of Yong Peng town , one on each direction. Google for exact location . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 Try Yong Peng fishball noodles . There are 2 popular ones , ANTHONY FISHBALL and YUEN YUEN FISHBALL. Its along the main road of Yong Peng town , one on each direction. Google for exact location . eaten there a few times......cannot match those in SG, except for the lard in the noodles. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 (edited) eaten there a few times......cannot match those in SG, except for the lard in the noodles. Agree. Yong Peng is not worth a stopover if you are looking for good food. Edited December 10, 2014 by Voodooman 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dxyong 3rd Gear December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 (edited) Mistake man....my Kampong is another 2 hours apart and this is a must stop for me to rest after clearing JB custom.....In Yong Peng....you can find better "West Knife--Xi Dao" fishball noodle in a coffee shop call Restaurant Kim Kee...here you go as below link(not mine...I just google for easy reference).......remember to "kay liao"....choose add on from the small glass cabinet...especially that crispy bean curd skins....I usually anyhow pick 7~8 items plus two dry fish ball noodle(either order the fine noodle or lou xu fun aka bee thai mak)...total bill less than RM20...if that is not enough...on your way back to Sg...you can dapao the raw fish ball...half KG or 1KG...ask the boss to pack with ice...you can then have whole week of fishball soup supply...these are all handmade and no additional preservative added product...my baby girl loves it http://lululifethings.blogspot.sg/2014/12/kedai-makan-bebola-kim-kee.html Edited December 10, 2014 by Dxyong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 11, 2014 Share December 11, 2014 Mistake man....my Kampong is another 2 hours apart and this is a must stop for me to rest after clearing JB custom.....In Yong Peng....you can find better "West Knife--Xi Dao" fishball noodle in a coffee shop call Restaurant Kim Kee...here you go as below link(not mine...I just google for easy reference).......remember to "kay liao"....choose add on from the small glass cabinet...especially that crispy bean curd skins....I usually anyhow pick 7~8 items plus two dry fish ball noodle(either order the fine noodle or lou xu fun aka bee thai mak)...total bill less than RM20...if that is not enough...on your way back to Sg...you can dapao the raw fish ball...half KG or 1KG...ask the boss to pack with ice...you can then have whole week of fishball soup supply...these are all handmade and no additional preservative added product...my baby girl loves it http://lululifethings.blogspot.sg/2014/12/kedai-makan-bebola-kim-kee.html Thanks for recommendation, I have tried Yuan Yean and Anthony over the years, acceptable taste but nothing to shout about, will try Kim Kee next time. These days, I prefer to stopover at Tangkak for the beef noodle, it is pretty good. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wallaw819 4th Gear December 11, 2014 Share December 11, 2014 Agree. Yong Peng is not worth a stopover if you are looking for good food. Actually for Yong Peng you need some local knowledge. There are good food but hidden in some small coffee shop (mostly not along the main street). There is a duck noodle stall that is very good (somewhere behind the police station opposite a chinese temple). Only found out during "qing ming" when my relatives (staying in YP) brought us there. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...