Aviva policyholder take note..

Kb27

Wtf sports rim is considered modification???

Different types/sizes of sports rims can affect the handling of the car quite a lot.

B very careful of those after-market rims.

Different types/sizes of sports rims can affect the handling of the car quite a lot.

B very careful of those after-market rims.

I kana b4 that stock tyres also give problems.

It's just a nicer and polite way to decline/terminate the policy. They need not be more obvious and they do have a point; technically we can't really fault them.

Yes the TS has given the Ins Co an escape route to avoid paying an expensive claim. All Ins Co look for these escape routes when there is a claim.

Some try to escape fr small amounts but most only do so with big claims as its not good for their reputation b business.

lol.

lazy way out.

so assuming i change my brakes from stock to brembos, they can fault me?

when brembos are supposed to be better for braking?

flaw? or plain stupid

YES

The company might as well pack up and close shop. Retrench all the employees. An insurance company that doesnt insure? WTF!

All Ins Cos like to collect premiums but hate to pay out claims. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

They actually cut their risk.

When accident and involve claim against them, they go after you on technicalities like "modification" and refund your money leaving you without insurance coverage.

For those policy they sold that don't claim, they make easy money.

So it's a very good business strategy for them...but not for you.

Why do u think all Ins Cos r damm rich. [sly]

erm... i wonder if we can write in to Aviva on our last week of insurance and do a full refund back citing that we didn't declare correctly and thus doesn't meet their criteria..

Ty wil only pay u pro-rata the balance of yr premium n after ty add handling charges n paperwork, unlikely u get anything back. Maybe ty say u still owe them some $$$. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

im a bit confused... the guy on the Aviva insurance got rear ended by a MY car. He should be claiming from the MY car's insurance. Why is Aviva involved? He aint even claiming from Aviva!

My friend has been rear ended by a MY car before. Workshop got him to pay first as they were not willing to take the risk, and then proceeded to claim against the MY car's insurance.

Cos it is very hard to claim fm a MY car ins co. Many vehicles r not even insured n running on the roads without ins at all.

Thats why in MY, most pple settle cash on the spot.

i think when u click 'yes' for any modifications done, the online website automatically declines quoting you or accepting your insurance policy.

This tactic sounds high handed. If they are responsible insurers, they shd publish these clearly rather hide behind a veil by promoting how cheap they are but not the fine prints which wld void you coverage once u run into problems.

Frm the list of mod cited, it is clearly AVIVA is out there trying to cheat people money. How come they dun list clearly in their website or even the policy of the things which would void the coverage? They knw clearly most cars would run foul of their requirements but they still willingly and deviously sell u a policy.

Can put this up to CASE? If thy want to provide this type of half past six insurance, at least they must be made to properly address the issue on their website rather than knowingly con guys like us into buying fom them.

I doubt CASE can do much cos the Ins Co cover their backside with black n white.

Only thing is bad publicity which most biz dont want.

or use the policy for almost a full year, den jus before it expires, u get involved in 'an accident' to put a small dent in your door and claim AVIVA. Wth a set of sports rims, they shd void your policy and refund u everything if they go by any form of consistency. And if they do allow u to claim, den u have to get it on record how 'not stock' your car is and this will be your reference for any further claims in future.

This is it... Mus cancel AVIVA soon..... and spread the word ard. By the way, even if u are properly insured but get into an accidemt with a car that is not covered, u also have a lot of problems since your insurer will not be able to deal on your behalf with the other fellas insurer. It will become some private case where u hv to recover the damage costs from the other party directly. And by allowng such rogue insurer like AVIVA hanging ard, when any small thing become their ticket out of responsibilty, we are surely gonna get into troubles sooner or later even if we are not directly insured with them.

Ins Co not so stupid.

They survey yr car n wil only cancell the policy n do refund if its to their benefit lah.

Actually I wonder how they define factory fitted rims. There aren't that many factory-fitted ones. A lot of bread & better cars have rims that are sourced & fitted by AD locally. So does that considered as modified since it's not factory fitted.

As long as the rims were fitted outside the factory, its a mod.

So many years ins co close 1 eye so everybody take for granted anything change also can. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

directasia does allow us to use LTA approved mods right?

Every insurance co. have a policy details, take 10 mins to read it thoroughly.

With regards to DirectAsia, as I am using it now...... I quote:

modified without the approval of the Registrar of Vehicles in accordance with the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles Registration and Licensing) Rules or any relevant legislation;

Means if you tiao engine = insurance void. If change sports rims = allowed.

Hmmm.. What if you have changed from fabric to leather for the seats? Can they say that because you have change the material, affect the way you seat/drive, hence not covered? [confused]

Well it might.

Say u installed PVC "leather" n yr car caught fire n u n passengers died due to the toxic smoke from the PVC. Ins Co wil deny any liability on such an expensive claim cos ty wil say if the original fabric seats were there, no toxic smoke n good chance the pple wont die.

So u see, the Ins Cos actually have a good case when it goes to court.

cosmetic things like sports rims/gauge meters are ok. those are COSMETIC.

if they void for volt stabaliser i can understand.

but gauge meter is most wtf thing.

How about if those gauges not properly installed n catch fire n cause accident. HOW? [sly][laugh]

if i had known mod can be so troublesome, i wld not have upgraded my rim from 15 to 16", and install a superior disc rotor and brake pad.... a bit regret, I am currently under MSIG, have email them to inform them of the mod... i rather they charge me higher premium and endorse my mod, rather than kenna accident then void policy and have to settle ownself. worse case will change everything back to stock. but dunno how much will TCM tok me. [knife]

How about if those gauges not properly installed n catch fire n cause accident. HOW? [sly][laugh]

Hmm...... what if IU unit never install properly catch fire ? [:p]

IU Unit non factory spec equipment leh.

Haha yea...

Changing to cheaper tires should increase premiums cause less grip...

Those OEM, un-heard brands tires should be banned then...

In this case, only Bridgestone / Michelin / Pirelli should be allowed in Singapore.

Actually 1 time Ins Co considering to give lower premiums if car got anti-theft alarm or good quality tires but these r very subjective n hard to quantify.

Also wil hv pple borrow frens good tires n go inspection at Ins Co n after granted lower premiums wil just switch back the old tires n happily drive n pay low premiums. If kenna accident then quickly go n put back the good tires n send fr ins inspection again.

So u see, there r also many dishonest motorists out there. [laugh]

Anyone got experience with directasia?

I just switched to them. Cheapest premium so far.

I had an accident last 2 weeks back n I just inform them n give datails n ty ask me to go their appointed surveyor at AMK autopoint.

Had the survey done there n ty quoted me the cheapest quote to repair. I claimed cash fm the other party as he was 100% at fault n paid directly to the ws.

Mine went very smooth maybe cos I never claim on my ins though so cannot say for sure how good ty wil b incase there is a claim.