Mercur1al Clutched May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 im a bit confused... the guy on the Aviva insurance got rear ended by a MY car. He should be claiming from the MY car's insurance. Why is Aviva involved? He aint even claiming from Aviva! My friend has been rear ended by a MY car before. Workshop got him to pay first as they were not willing to take the risk, and then proceeded to claim against the MY car's insurance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dawg_getz Neutral Newbie May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 [laugh] I do agree (inferior/improper fitting) floormat does affect and is indeed a mod 'cos may interfere with the pedals operation. floormat?? as in where u rest ur foot? as in no relation to engine at all?? might as well they insure for remote control cars.... but then again i think lah...maybe they more concerntrate on higher end cars where lesser modification are made...agreed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrbytez Neutral Newbie May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 wah piang eh... sport rims, 80% of most people would change bah... especially for PI cars, most would upgrade to sport rims... another thing is their refund policy is pretty retarded, takes damn long as well... and they have frequent cockups.. as in errors on their part... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 floormat?? as in where u rest ur foot? as in no relation to engine at all?? might as well they insure for remote control cars.... but then again i think lah...maybe they more concerntrate on higher end cars where lesser modification are made...agreed? there is a famous case of gas/brake pedals stucked to floormats of a particular car make recently. Think they recalled the floormats in (US market only though). Those light flimsy floormats that do not adhere to the flooring which tend to move about or those heavy ones which are improperly positioned/designed (too short/long) may hinder the brake/gas/clutch pedals from returning. The driver's floormat must be regularly checked/adjusted. Not joking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2077s 1st Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 i think when u click 'yes' for any modifications done, the online website automatically declines quoting you or accepting your insurance policy. This tactic sounds high handed. If they are responsible insurers, they shd publish these clearly rather hide behind a veil by promoting how cheap they are but not the fine prints which wld void you coverage once u run into problems. Frm the list of mod cited, it is clearly AVIVA is out there trying to cheat people money. How come they dun list clearly in their website or even the policy of the things which would void the coverage? They knw clearly most cars would run foul of their requirements but they still willingly and deviously sell u a policy. Can put this up to CASE? If thy want to provide this type of half past six insurance, at least they must be made to properly address the issue on their website rather than knowingly con guys like us into buying fom them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dawg_getz Neutral Newbie May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 y didnt i think of that...u are right....thanx for correcting me... but dont u think itz a wee bit too much?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 It won't happen. Apparently, they hold the ace card. What if you said you already did the modifications already? According to the T&C they have to refund you right? Since you are not qualified to be insured by them. Or need wait for accident happen then they can refund you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cybertech 4th Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Looking at these lines "...we reserve the rights to recover from you in respect of payments made and liabilities incurred." WTF meaning that assuming you bang someone car and they can simply find fault to void your policy - 3rd party claim from other party $5000 and your own damage repair $5000 and they can recover the $10,000 from you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;hl=insurance* i said in this thread above that they very niao one.. but no one believed me.. [bigcry] RIP bro.. if you clicked "YES", they woudn't even quote you at all... not even given you a chance to explain what mod/add-on you did.. heard that if you remove spare tyre from spare tyre compartment, also will void warranty.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2077s 1st Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 What if you said you already did the modifications already? According to the T&C they have to refund you right? Since you are not qualified to be insured by them. Or need wait for accident happen then they can refund you? or use the policy for almost a full year, den jus before it expires, u get involved in 'an accident' to put a small dent in your door and claim AVIVA. Wth a set of sports rims, they shd void your policy and refund u everything if they go by any form of consistency. And if they do allow u to claim, den u have to get it on record how 'not stock' your car is and this will be your reference for any further claims in future. This is it... Mus cancel AVIVA soon..... and spread the word ard. By the way, even if u are properly insured but get into an accidemt with a car that is not covered, u also have a lot of problems since your insurer will not be able to deal on your behalf with the other fellas insurer. It will become some private case where u hv to recover the damage costs from the other party directly. And by allowng such rogue insurer like AVIVA hanging ard, when any small thing become their ticket out of responsibilty, we are surely gonna get into troubles sooner or later even if we are not directly insured with them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Just boycott them, sooner or later they will change policy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 wah piang eh... sport rims, 80% of most people would change bah honestly i feel the reverse is true..not many pple changed anything on their cars at all..if u look around most cars actually stock with no sports rims or even windows film..in fact the place where i lived..only 2 cars have changed rims..aviva business model is very advantageous to them and since i'm not with them..i'm unlikely to ever sign up with aviva even if its dirt cheap..who knows my car battery using Amaron might be considered a "mod" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newkid 2nd Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Chartis does a good job. Not the cheapest around but competitive across a wide range and cheapest in quite a few categories. A certain big insurer, I had to write nasty emails to the top guy to get my claim settled satisfactorily. Sick of writing such emails, waste of my time. agree chartis under AIG is good. used for 2 cars. although it may seem expensive, the terms and condition is comprehensive. so if anything happens, at least wld kenna what TS experienced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Actually I wonder how they define factory fitted rims. There aren't that many factory-fitted ones. A lot of bread & better cars have rims that are sourced & fitted by AD locally. So does that considered as modified since it's not factory fitted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 As long as these mods are not illegal by LTA's definition, aviva can't be making up it's own rules to wriggle out of it's responsibility. Besides, the onus is oso on aviva to prove that these "mods" contributed to the damage. I hope the victim has consulted a lawyer to seek legal recourse over such an unfair practice. The key word is N O N - D I S C L O S U R E of mod & not legality of mod. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjm Neutral Newbie May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Hmmm.. What if you have changed from fabric to leather for the seats? Can they say that because you have change the material, affect the way you seat/drive, hence not covered? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 If you have those medisave shield plan with Aviva, check your terms n conditions as well... I think their T&C different from other insurer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Amaron battery ?? Its not consider a mod, but can consider non-stock & can be used against you if want to fight court case. "Stock" is deemed as 100% type / spec same as the day you collected the car. Has your vehicle been modified from the manufacturer's standard specifications? Eg. OEM water type battery from showroom, changed to maintenance free = non OE spec. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...