Aviva policyholder take note..

Kb27

It is mandatory to have insurance coverage for driving on SG roads.

It is even enforced by LTA to have sufficient insurance coverage before road tax can be renewed.

What Aviva has done essentially exposed a loophole by announcing your insurance null and void and return your money.

Which means if you have been driving on the road for 11 months before the accident and they decide to void it, you have been driving without 11 months of insurance coverage.

I wonder what LTA will say about this ?

Rest of the non-Aviva insured drivers also at risk, if Aviva decides to void a LTA legal mod (eg. Aviva insured car with a strut bar).

wahhhhh....bao chiak business sia!!!

If nothing happens, they earn the premium outright. Max profit.

If something happens, declare void and return refund.

Wah lau aaaaaaaa........i also wana set up car insurance company. LOL. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

It is even enforced by LTA to have sufficient insurance coverage before road tax can be renewed.

What Aviva has done essentially exposed a loophole by announcing your insurance null and void and return your money.

Which means if you have been driving on the road for 11 months before the accident and they decide to void it, you have been driving without 11 months of insurance coverage.

Edited by Hiphiphoray

You sure you want to bring up to LTA?

LTA findings will show, car owner "Cheat" Aviva when sign up insurance and hence null and void since renewal.

Car owner is aware of this and ignore it and therefore is deem driving without a valid insurance.

Saman $2000 and deduct 12 point.

They refund the premium back to credit card.

To get the money from CC, have to pay CC admin fee. LOL.

Both ways, they win.

Accident - no pay...cancel and refund....which means essentially you have no insurance coverage until the day of accident.

You cancel - they collect admin fee.

With this kind of business strategy, I don't think they will ever lose money.

wahhhhh....bao chiak business sia!!!

If nothing happens, they earn the premium outright. Max profit.

If something happens, declare void and return refund.

Wah lau aaaaaaaa........i also wana set up car insurance company. LOL. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Life insurance also like that wat...

Travel insurance also like that...

So all insurance are bad.

imagine, when someone rear ended you, you called them, they send representative to the accident scene.

and when they arrived, instead of taking photos of your car's boots, rear bumper and the other car's bonnet, the representative starts to pop up your car's bonnet, doors, boot and starts snapping away at your engine bay, your cabin & your boot.

Of course your rims and brakes also must take pikture.

maybe they also has the breathalyser to test you???

GPGT???

WTF??!!

Life insurance also like that wat...

Travel insurance also like that...

So all insurance are bad.

but when someone you know landed in the hospital, either Singapore or while travelling, or maybe met with freak accident....what's the second most important question you will ask them?

got buy or not?

Insurance, can live without it but also cannot live without it.

When my car was surveyed, they took peekture of the tyre specs on the driver's door, peekture of my tyre + rims (steel rims w/covers) and inspected my tayars (BS B390). All stock. :D :D :D

If I removed the wheel covers, dunno consider mod or not. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Kangadrool

They refund the premium back to credit card.

To get the money from CC, have to pay CC admin fee. LOL.

Dunno leh...I think when they refund you get the credit in your CC balance...to be spent elsewhere. :D

You sure you want to bring up to LTA?

LTA findings will show, car owner "Cheat" Aviva when sign up insurance and hence null and void since renewal.

Car owner is aware of this and ignore it and therefore is deem driving without a valid insurance.

Saman $2000 and deduct 12 point.

My point is that insurance coverage is not clear cut.

It should have been "used" as the months go by.

You pay for insurance coverage. You don't pay for technicalities which insurance companies can challenge you on the policy which they sell.

Whatever tricks Aviva or others decide to use, there must be some basic payment which they are responsible for, even though the owner is "not responsible enough" to own up.

From my experience is has to be based on what kind of accident. If lead by lose of control...then they can say whatever they want. Sport rims can be installed but the profile has to be based on the car specification. Can't be oversize or undersized. Modification to the engine like turbo and etc...the insurance company will not accept it. Strut bars...for example if the accident occurred on the left side...then right side got affected because of the strut bar's pull impact...they won't be responsible for the right side. These days the surveyor who comes and inspect the accident damage are very on the ball. Whatever can don't be responsible the better....be it 3rd party or so ever. <_<

By the way...mine is under Aviva too. [:/]

Edited by MG_Myvi

From my experience is has to be based on what kind of accident. If lead by lose of control...then they can say whatever they want. Sport rims can be installed but the profile has to be based on the car specification. Can't be oversize or undersized. Modification to the engine like turbo and etc...the insurance company will not accept it. Strut bars...for example if the accident occurred on the left side...then right side got affected because of the strut bar's pull impact...they won't be responsible for the right side. These days the surveyor who comes and inspect the accident damage are very on the ball. Whatever can don't be responsible the better....be it 3rd party or so ever. <_<

By the way...mine is under Aviva too. [:/]

these independent surveyor machiam like the Premas and Cisco parking warden...

i wonder what instructions the insurance coy were giving to them.

these independent surveyor machiam like the Premas and Cisco parking warden...

i wonder what instructions the insurance coy were giving to them.

Ya lor....I ever make noise with them over my accident claim. But from my experience, also has to depends on the workshop doing the repair...some of them can just do it their way in a sense without any hassle. <_<

My point is that insurance coverage is not clear cut.

It should have been "used" as the months go by.

You pay for insurance coverage. You don't pay for technicalities which insurance companies can challenge you on the policy which they sell.

Whatever tricks Aviva or others decide to use, there must be some basic payment which they are responsible for, even though the owner is "not responsible enough" to own up.

I am not sure on the LAW part.

But I think they are practicing what is practiced at the border.

The officer will ask us, anything to declare? No.

Alcohol? No.

Cigarette? No.

Let me check you bag.

If found, the offense is now higher than if we answered Yes in the beginning.

Same logic I think.

Those who want to try their luck, by all means. But when caught, don't come here to post half truth to mislead others.

Alcohol? No.

Cigarette? No.

Let me check you bag.

Same logic I think.

Those who want to try their luck, by all means. But when caught, don't come here to post half truth to mislead others.

lol. u say yes, u get away scot free. just a stern warning.

Alcohol? No.

Cigarette? No.

Let me check you bag.

Same logic I think.

Ya agreed...like what we learned during NS....DO WHATEVER YOU WANT BUT.....DON'T GET CAUGHT. [:p]

my auto insurance is due soon..so to be fair..got a quote from DirectAsia and Aviva..Aviva have more restrictions and cost $220 more than DirectAsia with both having the same T&Cs..wow! [dizzy]

Go to the press. Publish this, let consumers take note!

Posting for someone else...

i am writing this on my true and personal account. I purchased an insurance with AVIVA last December. i did an online transaction. One of the questions asked was: Has your vehicle been modified from the manfacturer's standard specifications ? . I answered NO coz as far as i am concerned modification refers to engine enhancement.

Thus in May when a JB car kiss my rear, i made a 3rd party claim and Aviva came down to take pictures of my vehicle damage as their SOP. Few days later they said, they wanted to take a second round of pics prior to the accident. They did and instead of taking the pices of the damage, they took photos of my engine bay, tyres, interior.

i received a letter from them dated 5 May 2011, that my insurance has been void and will be refunded fully due to the following modification made.

1. Sports Rim

2. Strut Bar

3. Brake Vacuum Tube ( Monster Brake Capsule )

4.Voltage Stabilizer

5. Exhaust Tail Pipe ( which in fact was just the muffler TIP )