Aviva policyholder take note..

Kb27

Just called up and checked with Aviva. What TS has mentioned is true. They can only tolerate accessories mods such as sunfilm and the rest of the stuff including brake pad is considered as MOD. In the event of accident or after which if this is found out, the coverage will be voided and full refund will be made. In the worst case, you need to fork out to pay for the liabilities incurred should the 3rd party claim arises. I have since terminated my insurance with Aviva after 5 months of coverage and do not want to take further risk even if it means I am penalized for extra admin charges.

On the other hand, checked with Direct Asia over the phone as well. In in the event of own damage claims, they will NOT pay for the aftermarket mods, however, they will pay back the parts that are under OEM specs. That should be on par and in line with most other players in the market. Most important thing is that they don't void the coverage of the policy just because you have some other simple mods like brake pads and they will pay for the liability if you are at fault in the event of a 3rd party claim. In short, Direct Asia and Aviva offer the lowest premium in the market but in terms of coverage and who to choose, it is a no brainer.

you think Aviva aware of this issue? why they so quiet? they got face book?

see that they are still advertising on Today....not sure ST got or not.

let's say involve in an accident, kena 3rd party claim, insurance refuse to insure and refund your premium, then you have to pay on your own pocket to repair own and 3rd party vehicle that might sum up to tens of thousands?

then it sounds like diriving without insurance, isn't it???

so, what is insurance for? walao ... insurance is win some lose some one ma ... how can everything win with no claim?

http://www.singaporelawwatch.sg/remweb/leg...%20cars%20modif ied%20illegally&notShowClose=y

Insurers slam brakes on cars modified illegally

[2010] 02 Nov_ST

Title: Insurers slam brakes on cars modified illegally

Source: ST

Legal News Archive

IF YOU meet with an accident involving a vehicle that has been modified, you may have to pay for your own repairs.

Motor insurers have refused to honour damage claims arising from accidents where modified cars were involved, although the numbers, they say, are small.

This happens when the owner of the modified car had either made illegal alterations to his vehicle, or had not declared the alterations to the insurer. In these cases, his insurance policy might be declared null and void when the modifications are later discovered.

And if your car was hit by the modified vehicle, you might not be able to claim for the cost of the damage.

Aviva, a British insurer which sells its policies entirely online, said such cases make up only 0.003 per cent of its accident claims, while declining to give the exact number.

In most of them, Aviva said the cars were heavily modified, with all of them having had their catalytic converters removed - an illegal practice.

A catalytic converter renders exhaust gases less harmful to the environment, but has been known to impede a car's performance.

Mr Paul Jackson, head of Aviva Car Insurance, said the company does not accept clients with modified vehicles.

'On our website, we ask the question 'Is your vehicle modified from the manufacturer's standard specifications?' If the customer answers 'Yes', we stop the quote process immediately. If the customer answers 'No', we trust they are giving us accurate information and will sell them a policy.'

While some other insurers accept modified cars, they charge 10 to 50 per cent more to cover them. And the onus is on the owner to ensure that the modifications are declared in detail.

Ms Cady Ho, vice-president (personal lines) of Chartis Insurance, said: 'Policyholders must always declare such modifications, whether material or otherwise, to avoid a potential claim being denied.'

Ms Christine Yeh, spokesman for MSIG Insurance, said the company would scrutinise an accident vehicle to see if it had been modified, and, if so, whether all the modifications had been declared by the owner.

'If the risk has been misrepresented, it could be regarded as non-disclosure and this may lead to the claim being declined,' Ms Yeh said.

Most insurers draw the line at illegal modifications. An NTUC Income spokesman said: 'If illegal modifications alter the performance of the car significantly, Income may repudiate the claim totally.'

In one such case recently, the owner claimed his car was a second-hand vehicle and he did not know it had been modified. He was involved in a chain collision.

After inspecting the accident vehicle, his ex-insurer found that it was modified extensively. It nullified the policy, and refunded the premium. The car owner ended up paying tens of thousands to repair his vehicle and the one he collided with.

Aviva's Mr Jackson said 'it's really important when buying a used car that customers satisfy themselves that it's roadworthy, irrespective of their insurance arrangements'.

Would consumers be left in the lurch if they meet with an accident involving a modified car?

General Insurance Association president Derek Teo said insurers are required by law to honour injury claims even if they have cause to void a policy. They will then recover the costs from their former client. However, there is no such requirement for property damage claims.

The Consumers Association of Singapore said insurers should highlight clauses about modifications, but added that consumers, in turn, should be truthful.

The number of illegally modified cars is on the rise. According to the Land Transport Authority, 2,510 people were caught having such vehicles last year - 44 per cent more than the 1,746 nabbed the year before. In the first six months of this year, 1,381 were nabbed.

Although rules have been relaxed over the years, some alterations are still banned outright. These include changing the capacity of the engine and installing crash bars.

Edited by Theone2010

off tread abit, just a question ask.

in TS case, if the policy was declared void by insurer 6 months after the policy approved, will LTA penalized the driver for not having valid insurance (for road tax purpose) for the past 6 months???

let's say involve in an accident, kena 3rd party claim, insurance refuse to insure and refund your premium, then you have to pay on your own pocket to repair own and 3rd party vehicle that might sum up to tens of thousands?

so, what is insurance for? walao ... insurance is win some lose some one ma ... how can everything win with no claim?

I think tats still OK coz can settle with $.

BUT what if u knock down a bunch Banglas on zebra crossing and some die AND you got a strutbar in ur car??

No, sounds like aviva drivers think they are driving with "insurance" (like emperor's new clothes)

you think Aviva aware of this issue? why they so quiet? they got face book?

see that they are still advertising on Today....not sure ST got or not.

over the phone, i can feel that the customer service hotline officer is following the directives strictly. I was told "Sir, in that case, please cancel your policy if you intend to do modification". Well, I am sure in no time, more people will know thru' internet and friends, especially if more people suffer the same fate like what TS has posted. I heard Aviva group is the ex Mitsui group (different from MSIG) and they probably will lose the market share very soon.

What a load of bullsh*t.. from the list, probably the only item that can affect the safety of the car in anyway is the Vacuum Tube and to a lesser extent, volt stabiliser and strut bar..

All adds up = car modified?

Hmmm .... mine only got sports rims (upgraded during purchase at Kah Motors).

But Chartis honored all claims during my accident in late 2009.

Switched to Direct Asia this year ....

over the phone, i can feel that the customer service hotline officer is following the directives strictly. I was told "Sir, in that case, please cancel your policy if you intend to do modification". Well, I am sure in no time, more people will know thru' internet and friends, especially if more people suffer the same fate like what TS has posted. I heard Aviva group is the ex Mitsui group (different from MSIG) and they probably will lose the market share very soon.

too many calls on the same inquires, instead of claims. [mad]

should make it automated, PRESS 1 for Mods Queries, PRESS 2 for Policy Cancellation, PRESS 3 for Refund Status......

the BIGGEST question is:

say my car is fully stock, got rear ended by an Aviva insured car with sports rim. Aviva will void the insurance policy, deny the claim?

so end up i have to DIY sue the car owner for losses? what if the car owner cant pay? sue till he bankrupt? then whats the point of having mandatory insurance coverage?

If Aviva like to void, then they must inspect EVERY car b4 they accept to cover. NOT void AFTER a claim has been filled!!

THE GOVERNMENT HAVE TO STEP IN!

All adds up = car modified?

Hmmm .... mine only got sports rims (upgraded during purchase at Kah Motors).

But Chartis honored all claims during my accident in late 2009.

Switched to Direct Asia this year ....

same here, no problem for chartis (late 2010 accident) as my car has strut bar, rims and coilovers.

the BIGGEST question is:

say my car is fully stock, got rear ended by an Aviva insured car with sports rim. Aviva will void the insurance policy, deny the claim?

so end up i have to DIY sue the car owner for losses? what if the car owner cant pay? sue till he bankrupt? then whats the point of having mandatory insurance coverage?

If Aviva like to void, then they must inspect EVERY car b4 they accept to cover. NOT void AFTER a claim has been filled!!

THE GOVERNMENT HAVE TO STEP IN!

Quote: "General Insurance Association president Derek Teo said insurers are required by law to honour injury claims even if they have cause to void a policy. They will then recover the costs from their former client. However, there is no such requirement for property damage claims."

i guess is LLST pay yourself, if no injury.

so in future, please be rear ended by people with respectable job or steady income. If that guy is a bochap, low life creatures, than is good luck!

the car insurance thingy is getting MESSY!!!

Edited by Theone2010

Looks like only two options for those with Aviva

1. Change to someother insurer

2. Change the car to match Aviva (Any feedback if Aviva accepts the change in Odometer reading as factory one shows close to "0" and presently mine is reading much higher [:p] )

Quote: "General Insurance Association president Derek Teo said insurers are required by law to honour injury claims even if they have cause to void a policy. They will then recover the costs from their former client. However, there is no such requirement for property damage claims."

i guess is LLST pay yourself, if no injury.

so in future, please be rear ended by people with respectable job or steady income.

the car insurance thingy is getting MESSY!!!

LOL..... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Was rear-ended recently by someone that meet your above criteria, but refused to even pay a single cent. End up, claim him deep deep. Not that I wanted to, but u should know when u send your car to make 3rd party claim. [rifle]

LOL..... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Was rear-ended recently by someone that meet your above criteria, but refused to even pay a single cent. End up, claim him deep deep. Not that I wanted to, but u should know when u send your car to make 3rd party claim. [rifle]

as long they met the above criteria, they WILL response to lawyers letter.

low life will just tear the lawyer letters away.... only waiting to be bankrupt or at most stay in Changi Chalet.

Don't worry. Bo tai chi one.

Aviva sells direct. Many people's rice bowl affected. Surely, they will bash Aviva to win back their rice bowl. [cool]

no buy also buy liao...........don't care liao lah...........anyway my car fully stock.........sports rim also come with it..........just drive carefully lor...... [laugh] [laugh]

you drive carefully also no use. heavily modded car insured by aviva is right behind you :D

damn ... the whole thing is like insurance scam. what if my car is stock but there is a sport version and then i mod it to sport version with all the oem parts including bigger brake kit with the same brand name of the car. illegal mods?

and in terms of sport rim, those who upsize who really using back toyota/honda/nissan rims? siao!

no buy also buy liao...........don't care liao lah...........anyway my car fully stock.........sports rim also come with it..........just drive carefully lor...... [laugh] [laugh]

no buy also buy liao...........don't care liao lah...........anyway my car fully stock.........sports rim also come with it..........just drive carefully lor...... [laugh]

but...but....did u add a air freshener or not? orig car din cum wif it rite?

it means ur insurance VOID!

[laugh][laugh][laugh]