Scoots 3rd Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 is solar film considered a mod? thats the only "mod" i got Oops... I had clipped on one of those extra wide rear view mirror!!.... and added a cash card cover to my IU cover!!! .... Damn!... there goes the insurance coverage ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madtari 2nd Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 i emailed MSIG to ask cos on their clause, they mentioned all mod must be declared and endorsed. Got a lady called back today and told me sports rim, brake rotor mod is ok, but had asked her to reply to my email to have B&W, till now still waiting... =/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emils 2nd Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Let me try to provide some solace to people who are freaking out after hearing all the negative feedback. Below is the response that I got from Aviva after calling in on the issue of changing rims/tires on insurance coverage. I think such an agreement is reasonable. Thank you for calling our Customer Service Hotline. Regarding your enquiry earlier on, please take note that if : the tyres are not semi-slick and conform with the rim size and only the rims and tyres are modified the accident will be covered. However, should there be any own damage claim, only the manufacturer's original rims and tyres will be replaced, according to the manufacturer's original specifications. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abachee 2nd Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Aiyar...So mah Fun. Why bother to buy their insurance. You paid peauts & this is what you get. I wouldnt want to Buy an insurance that gives lots of excuse when something did happened to the car. Anyway, to each its own. In the end its still up to individual choice.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalenico 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Let me try to provide some solace to people who are freaking out after hearing all the negative feedback. Below is the response that I got from Aviva after calling in on the issue of changing rims/tires on insurance coverage. I think such an agreement is reasonable. Thank you for calling our Customer Service Hotline. Regarding your enquiry earlier on, please take note that if : the tyres are not semi-slick and conform with the rim size and only the rims and tyres are modified the accident will be covered. However, should there be any own damage claim, only the manufacturer's original rims and tyres will be replaced, according to the manufacturer's original specifications. Thanks for taking the lead. So only tyres and rims huh? How about strut bars, exhaust and so on? seriously speaking, it is really up to Aviva when accident takes place. On the quotation online, their idea of modification really bears no tolerance as it states even LTA complaint mods is considered mod in their definition. Also, this thread won't even be started if Aviva did not issue that letter out in the first post. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dawg_getz Neutral Newbie May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 lol.....by then i wud be whistling to my insurance co wif pointed at them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emils 2nd Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 (edited) Thanks for taking the lead. So only tyres and rims huh? How about strut bars, exhaust and so on? seriously speaking, it is really up to Aviva when accident takes place. On the quotation online, their idea of modification really bears no tolerance as it states even LTA complaint mods is considered mod in their definition. Also, this thread won't even be started if Aviva did not issue that letter out in the first post. I think the only modification that they will allow (at least based on the email reply that I have received) is to the rims and tires. So if you have other modifications (e.g. strut bars) made on top of the rims/tires, chances are they will not be honouring the policy. In any case, you can call up their customer service hotline and try your luck. Edited May 30, 2011 by Emils Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalenico 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 I think the only modification that they will allow (at least based on the email reply that I have received) is to the rims and tires. So if you have other modifications (e.g. strut bars) made on top of the rims/tires, chances are they will not be honouring the policy. In any case, you can call up their customer service hotline and try your luck. I will call them again about my refund..and at the same time check with them on other "mods"..will share with the rest after that.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Oops... I had clipped on one of those extra wide rear view mirror!!.... and added a cash card cover to my IU cover!!! .... Damn!... there goes the insurance coverage Example Case: If SSS JDM using Aviva, uncle @ petrol kiosk pump wrongly how ? SSS JDM I heard need 98 / 100 RON petrol, uncle pump 95, then Aviva personnel inspect due to lower RON petrol, driver is unable to accelerate out of danger safety due to loss power (engine anti-knock sensors). Insurance likely to be void.... hmm... since using anything not advised or recommended by manufacturers = void. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 well, i have switched from aviva to direct asia in May 2011. thankfully. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear May 31, 2011 Share May 31, 2011 hmm... what if a aviva insured veh bang onto your rear, and the vehicle is modified (assuming LTA compliance or rim upsize or added strut bar)?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear May 31, 2011 Share May 31, 2011 YES i declare mine such as stability and braking mods... indian insurance accept.. probably premium a little bit higher.. (i not sure) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 31, 2011 Share May 31, 2011 hmm... what if a aviva insured veh bang onto your rear, and the vehicle is modified (assuming LTA compliance or rim upsize or added strut bar)?? you need to privately take it up with the banger or sue the banger liao if banger's insurer void the policy. It's similar to drink driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie May 31, 2011 Share May 31, 2011 (edited) For donkey years, i suspect that in most accidents, those without injuries/ drink driving, the accident car's safety system and road worthiness was not really accessed by car insurance coy or the surveyor, other than the inspection centre. i think they merely access the damage on the cosmetic and mechanical parts of the accident car, meaning what parts need to repair or change. i doubt they really check/investigate if there is a failure in the ABS, Airbag, seatbelt, mods, braking system, brake pads, tyre thread/made/YOM, rim size, oil used on engine/gearbox, driver's mental/ health condition etc.....at the point of the accident. usually we just send car to workshop and they do the rest. Edited May 31, 2011 by Theone2010 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear May 31, 2011 Share May 31, 2011 My rear number plate like blowed and I change it to LED type leh, how? Now car accident, got hit from behind. Is it my fault? Any idea if china insurance will play chao kar like aviva? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asdfghjkl Neutral Newbie May 31, 2011 Share May 31, 2011 Hello bros, as far as i know, if you did not report your mod, the most they don't pay for the mod. How can they refused to pay the whole claim ? How about the other fellow damages ? Go to New Paper to make a big story for the sake of all motorists. I never trusted all these direct insurers. They sell on cheaper premium and where the cheap premium come from ? Yes, by not paying some of the claims. You think their claim control is better ? I doubt so. These companies come here for a few years can do better than Chartis, AXA, NTUC ? This is why if you are familiar with your current insurer and are happy with them, don't switch to save a few dollars and end up paying claims on your own. This is penny wise pound foolish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged May 31, 2011 Share May 31, 2011 sian liao lah.............i just renewed a few days back............so many pages.........all negative...........think have to pray hard for the next 1 year liao.... [:(] Don't worry. Bo tai chi one. Aviva sells direct. Many people's rice bowl affected. Surely, they will bash Aviva to win back their rice bowl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalenico 1st Gear May 31, 2011 Share May 31, 2011 Hello bros, as far as i know, if you did not report your mod, the most they don't pay for the mod. How can they refused to pay the whole claim ? How about the other fellow damages ? Go to New Paper to make a big story for the sake of all motorists. I never trusted all these direct insurers. They sell on cheaper premium and where the cheap premium come from ? Yes, by not paying some of the claims. You think their claim control is better ? I doubt so. These companies come here for a few years can do better than Chartis, AXA, NTUC ? This is why if you are familiar with your current insurer and are happy with them, don't switch to save a few dollars and end up paying claims on your own. This is penny wise pound foolish. Just called up and checked with Aviva. What TS has mentioned is true. They can only tolerate accessories mods such as sunfilm and the rest of the stuff including brake pad is considered as MOD. In the event of accident or after which if this is found out, the coverage will be voided and full refund will be made. In the worst case, you need to fork out to pay for the liabilities incurred should the 3rd party claim arises. I have since terminated my insurance with Aviva after 5 months of coverage and do not want to take further risk even if it means I am penalized for extra admin charges. On the other hand, checked with Direct Asia over the phone as well. In in the event of own damage claims, they will NOT pay for the aftermarket mods, however, they will pay back the parts that are under OEM specs. That should be on par and in line with most other players in the market. Most important thing is that they don't void the coverage of the policy just because you have some other simple mods like brake pads and they will pay for the liability if you are at fault in the event of a 3rd party claim. In short, Direct Asia and Aviva offer the lowest premium in the market but in terms of coverage and who to choose, it is a no brainer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...