Johnnylim 5th Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Air Freshener need to declare anot? Ya, tissue box also must declare ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Simple. Avoid Aviva. There are better insurers around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalenico 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Simple. Avoid Aviva. There are better insurers around. sigh..i just cancelled mine after seeing this thread and I immediately switched to Directasia..my premium was 1.6k and paid in January..now I think I only get 640 back..see bay bo hua but bite the bullet as ar got strut bar,rims and coilovers..at least I heard from my friend that directasia is not so particular... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 sigh..i just cancelled mine after seeing this thread and I immediately switched to Directasia..my premium was 1.6k and paid in January..now I think I only get 640 back..see bay bo hua but bite the bullet as ar got strut bar,rims and coilovers..at least I heard from my friend that directasia is not so particular... Thatz kind of silly. You should have called Aviva to declare your mods and confirm how much more premium they will charge you. If they do not want, they will offer a refund. As for Directasia, CALL THEM DIRECTLY to confirm in writing if your mods are ok. Dun depend on hear from fren, uncle, aunty etc. Hearsay is hearing what you want to hear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalenico 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 (edited) Thatz kind of silly. You should have called Aviva to declare your mods and confirm how much more premium they will charge you. If they do not want, they will offer a refund. As for Directasia, CALL THEM DIRECTLY to confirm in writing if your mods are ok. Dun depend on hear from fren, uncle, aunty etc. Hearsay is hearing what you want to hear. hi piyopico, if you are aware or read the earlier posts in the thread, there is no option for "modified" cars for Aviva. They simply do not offer such options while doing online. They even consider cars with LTA friendly mods as "modified cars". As for Directasia, well, the one who gets involved in the accident is someone I know and his car has upgraded rims, struts and etc..got his OD claim successfully.. My only claim experience is with Chartis..did not renew with them after that because loading was very high after that as compared to Aviva and Directasia Edited May 30, 2011 by Dalenico Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugen85 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 With this stupid policy, I'm gonna avoid Aviva at all cost. Aviva is only good when your car is completely the same as factory specs including minor things like brake pads etc. Better use back OEM parts. You never know they can fault you with aftermarket brake pads or maybe even tyres. zzzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalenico 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 (edited) With this stupid policy, I'm gonna avoid Aviva at all cost. Aviva is only good when your car is completely the same as factory specs including minor things like brake pads etc. Better use back OEM parts. You never know they can fault you with aftermarket brake pads or maybe even tyres. zzzz yeah i agree, that is why i rather pay the "admin cost and surcharge" than to go thru' the trouble argueing with them like what Piyopico has suggested though I appreciated his kind intention. Don't think we are going to win. If worse, accident might happen anytime and will have a hard time going thru the claim procedure once again (which was still very fresh in my memory) so I am not going to take any chance. I would like to thank the TS again for highlighting this case to us once again! Edited May 30, 2011 by Dalenico Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 is solar film considered a mod? thats the only "mod" i got u change tyre b4 or not? if different brand and model, i think its consider mod also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FromA2B Neutral Newbie May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 wahlao...if all insurance companies refused to give quote for such mods, then all cars in singapore standard config liao......stupid.......:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 All Ins Cos like to collect premiums but hate to pay out claims. yalor.. if stinkyporeans can say ok to this, then next time Medishield dont pay out, suck thumb also... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 wah... so many pages. what is the conclusion??? avoid Aviva??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 (edited) hi piyopico, if you are aware or read the earlier posts in the thread, there is no option for "modified" cars for Aviva. They simply do not offer such options while doing online. They even consider cars with LTA friendly mods as "modified cars". As for Directasia, well, the one who gets involved in the accident is someone I know and his car has upgraded rims, struts and etc..got his OD claim successfully.. My only claim experience is with Chartis..did not renew with them after that because loading was very high after that as compared to Aviva and Directasia Think you did the right thing. Cos if they cancelled your insurance and refund you your money, how are you going to answer "Have you ever been refused insurance or had it terminated before"? You probably have to answer yes. In this case, its "no, i cancelled", totally different thing. see first page in directasia, point number 3 http://www.directasia.com/online-insurance...ance-quote.aspx Edited May 30, 2011 by Tedlhw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalenico 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Think you did the right thing. Cos if they cancelled your insurance and refund you your money, how are you going to answer "Have you ever been refused insurance or had it terminated before"? You probably have to answer yes. In this case, its "no, i cancelled", totally different thing. see first page in directasia, point number 3 http://www.directasia.com/online-insurance...ance-quote.aspx Hi Tedlhw, you've got the point! I did not think of that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 anyone wrote direct to Aviva on this matter? or they waiting someone to write to ST forum than they garang kabor, do damage control. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ocean6576 4th Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Spoke to Chartis, they will only insure up to factory specs in case of claims, dont care if you install 10K rims or gold plated your car. I think it sounds more sensible. Wonder what if you insured with Aviva and one change his/her tyres to some lesser grip but brand name type and skidded on a rainy day. So is Aviva gonna say the tyres are mod and not standard hence causing the skid and not gonna pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 sian liao lah.............i just renewed a few days back............so many pages.........all negative...........think have to pray hard for the next 1 year liao.... [:(] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalenico 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 sian liao lah.............i just renewed a few days back............so many pages.........all negative...........think have to pray hard for the next 1 year liao.... [:(] I think there is such a clause, if you want to change your mind within 14 days, you can actually cancel the policy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 I think there is such a clause, if you want to change your mind within 14 days, you can actually cancel the policy. I later go take a look..............thanks........ but than really so bad meh?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...