C-K 2nd Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 i need to change from Aviva to DA, i bought my premium with aviva last month - May, so now if i change to DA, should i tell them that i buying from June till may next yr (11mths) or must i buy a full year from them? Just buy from June (or July) till May next year. No need to buy 1 full year from DA. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 am i sensitive but why is so many jumping over to DA and DA only. have not seen any other insurance company being mentioned. and how close is the quote for DA compared to Aviva? I did an online indicative and it's 1/3 more.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KennyLee83 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 am i sensitive but why is so many jumping over to DA and DA only. have not seen any other insurance company being mentioned. and how close is the quote for DA compared to Aviva? I did an online indicative and it's 1/3 more.. my difference is abt 300+ bet. DA and Aviva... shouldn't have chosen the cheapest one... now headache Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 my difference is abt 300+ bet. DA and Aviva... shouldn't have chosen the cheapest one... now headache if you have changed certain things that are quite obvious, then too bad. otherwise why worry. moreover, you always hit people? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MG_Myvi 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 But with regards to the clause of Mod...Aviva and DA seems the same if I not wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 But with regards to the clause of Mod...Aviva and DA seems the same if I not wrong. from one hole to another hole... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MG_Myvi 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 from one hole to another hole... Ya lor in a sense...think online insurance have more grey area. I'm with Aviva....will be switching once due in Nov. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 Ya lor in a sense...think online insurance have more grey area. I'm with Aviva....will be switching once due in Nov. i will switch to whoever is cheap and reasonable.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 if you have changed certain things that are quite obvious, then too bad. otherwise why worry. moreover, you always hit people? ppl bang you also they void leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 ppl bang you also they void leh. eh, people bang u, you claim the other person... your insurance not involved mar.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 because DA vultures are here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 because DA vultures are here. oh... so the police are aware... Frankly, this aviva issue is blowing a bit out of proportion if you ask me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alg 5th Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 Need help here. My road tax due in 2 Oct. My Aviva insurance due in 29 Oct. Like to change to another insurer. If I change on 2 Oct to be in-line with my road tax, will I be able to get the additional 10% NCD? Or prefer to terminate now and change to another insurer? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billcoke 2nd Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 Need help here. My road tax due in 2 Oct. My Aviva insurance due in 29 Oct. Like to change to another insurer. If I change on 2 Oct to be in-line with my road tax, will I be able to get the additional 10% NCD? Or prefer to terminate now and change to another insurer? Thanks I've transferred my 50% NCD from Chartis to NTUC, no issue. Need to show your previous policy that you are entitled to the NCD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patwong 3rd Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 I guess the underwriters at Aviva has managed to filter-out some of the customers that they do not want to insure. This group of people like to modify their car. Most of these people has the 'racer' mentality (not all people). By taking away this group, Aviva hope to has lesser claims and thus higher profit. Not doubt that some customers that like to add accessoriss to their car but dont have the 'racer' mentlity could also get hurt by this underwriting condition. If 1~2 years later, Aviva profit goes up due to lesser claims (lesser 'racer' insured), they can continue this method. If not, they can revised the underwriting condition and lower the premium to take back market share. I think this is just business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 I guess the underwriters at Aviva has managed to filter-out some of the customers that they do not want to insure. This group of people like to modify their car. Most of these people has the 'racer' mentality (not all people). By taking away this group, Aviva hope to has lesser claims and thus higher profit. Not doubt that some customers that like to add accessoriss to their car but dont have the 'racer' mentlity could also get hurt by this underwriting condition. If 1~2 years later, Aviva profit goes up due to lesser claims (lesser 'racer' insured), they can continue this method. If not, they can revised the underwriting condition and lower the premium to take back market share. I think this is just business. It ain't business; it is more like a con job to me. I do not see any clauses in my policy that state Aviva will not insure legally "Modified" car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 (edited) Seems like my reply is abit different from Stan. Seems like most of my mods are ok except for the Rotor and Struts. I guess you guys better do some enquiry if you are in doubt. Now thinking to whether switch or stay but have to do it within this week. Dear Mr XXXXXX, Thank you for your below email enquires. As spoken, please assist to remove and replace the original parts for 4) Bigger disc rotor (consider as modification) & 5) Strut bars (consider as modification) in order for your car insurance policy to be valid. 1) Voltage Stablizers 2) KNN Drop in air filter 3) Rims Upgrade/change according to manufacture spec size 4) Bigger disc rotor (consider as modification) 5) Strut bars (consider as modification) 6) Hi-Fi system 7) Window Tinting ( Original with car ) 8) Aftermarket Steering wheel ( Original Momo ) Edited June 22, 2011 by Ghostami Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 finally got the insurance cert from NTUC... declare everything i "mod". the column the provided is too small so I attached a list, total 20+ items including tyres, rims, sound systems, solar films, voltage stabiliser....and to play safe, ended with "other LTA approved modification" just in case I further "mod" my car... they dont even give me a call to clarify after receiving the "wish list".... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...