Aviva policyholder take note..

Kb27

Actually this is a genuine case of how the rich gets richer, but government or authorities are not doing anything about it.

Every insurance co. have a policy details, take 10 mins to read it thoroughly.

With regards to DirectAsia, as I am using it now...... I quote:

modified without the approval of the Registrar of Vehicles in accordance with the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles Registration and Licensing) Rules or any relevant legislation;

Means if you tiao engine = insurance void. If change sports rims = allowed.

I think LTA specifies that the sport rims need to fulfill car manufacturer's recommendation too. This probably means that if you downsize/upsize your rims/tyres, it will not qualify as a LTA-approved mod and hence, the insurer has a reason to reject your claim too? Is there no insurer who will insure a car with basic "mod" like changing the rims/tyres anymore?

Edited by Emils

what i find is that. just because our insurance is compulsory, doesnt give any company the excuse to pull this kind of stunts.

wow.. kinda sucky for TS to kena this type of stunt...

Insurance companies.. please wake up and dun play with words....

We are the layman and Aviva have professional lawyers that help to form the rules and regulations. It is my fault I bought my insurance with them without reading the pop up windows carefully. I wishfully think that changing to bigger rims and adding strut bars will improve the car's handling, hence reducing the risk of accidents. I value my life more than another thing else. I am actually helping them to save money and yet they will refuse my claim if I had an accident. This is totally absurd and I will change to another agent ASAP. Hope we can stomp it and educate more drivers to avoid Aviva. Pray hard that nothing happens until I got a new agent.

I think you can't drive until you got a new insurance coverage.if you drive now,it is consider driving without insurance coverage and is against the law.

so if my insurance going to expire in 1 month time, I update to them that i have upgrade my rims to jumbo size, will they void, adsorb or up the premiums?

my guess is they will up premiums, and if you don 1 2 pay, then terminate with no refunds.

maybe too many ppl switch to them due to cheap cheap, some more online, anybody can buy easily.

i guess now they are facing tons of claims, not making $$$$, so must be more stringent.

there is always a cycle for car insurance coy, each taking their turns to be the cheapest or expensive....

e.g. this year A coy cheap, many sales, many claims, so next year not cheap, than no business, then following year sell cheap again.

It's all about hitting their risk "quota".

Yup I think u r right.

Flaw or plain stupid?

More like ty cover their @ss cos blanked ban is safer than to list what can n what cannot cos got so many variations.

Maybe yr car not suitable for eg: Brembo, so after install wil b dangerous.

So blanket ban absolve them from any claims which ty not sure if good or not.

wow.. kinda sucky for TS to kena this type of stunt...

Insurance companies.. please wake up and dun play with words....

Ins Co have been playing with words since as long as I can remember.

Thats their way of covering their @ss n making $$$. Most ins jargon is only understood by a lawyer specializing in Ins matters. [laugh]

Now many other companies r following cos when most customer r confused, ty shy to say so n just accept. [laugh]

This comes under "Transparency".

Really frightening sia.........Imagine your car kena accident total loss.

Then insurer cum take photo snap snap snap then say cannot claim, refund you back premium. [lipsrsealed][dizzy][crazy]

so if my insurance going to expire in 1 month time, I update to them that i have upgrade my rims to jumbo size, will they void, adsorb or up the premiums?

my guess is they will up premiums, and if you don 1 2 pay, then terminate with no refunds.

Normal is to accept a "1 up". Meaning increase rim dia by 1 inch. Anymore can b risky. But main thing is not to exceed manufacturers recommendation for tire width n to keep the total overall diameter same as the original size. This info normally found in your handbook.

Really frightening sia.........Imagine your car kena accident total loss.

Then insurer cum take photo snap snap snap then say cannot claim, refund you back premium. [lipsrsealed][dizzy][crazy]

Then u just get back yr residual scrap n COE values n see if scrap dealer give u anything for the metal in yr car. [laugh]

Another thing to note, Aviva requires immediate reporting although industry standard is within 24 hours.

The good thing about Aviva on accident reporting is, you don't need to go down to their office/reporting centre. Their outsourced MAR motorbike gang will come to your doorstep. [thumbsup]

I had an encounter with this outsourced "Crawford" surveyor engaged by AVIVA. They claimed that immediate reporting is mandatory and you must not remove the vehicle from the accident site until they get there (which is within 30mins from your call, so they say).

For my case, I had to move my vehicle as it was causing a massive jam behind and the fella who rear-ended me had drove off and gone home after giving me his particulars. I did not report to AVIVA until the next morning (within 24hrs though) and they made a big fuss about it.

Luckily the other party admitted full liability or else gone case liao.

Ins Co have been playing with words since as long as I can remember.

Thats their way of covering their @ss n making $$$. Most ins jargon is only understood by a lawyer specializing in Ins matters. [laugh]

Now many other companies r following cos when most customer r confused, ty shy to say so n just accept. [laugh]

This comes under "Transparency".

TS should propagate this to other car forums... let all the cars with "mod rims" take note.

And cancel policy.

I think 70% of the car population mod their rims right? What about tires? Any "Approve" models?