Jasonjst 3rd Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 (edited) What to do, modern Singapore is all about making $$, no morale responsibly at all! Buy insurance, when something happen, say void and refund. KNN if nothing happen, don’t know we can say since no claim, we ask for refund also! It goes for medical insurance, want illness strike; they will tell you this one cannot claim that one also Cannot claim, your policy void Liao! Edited May 29, 2011 by Jasonjst ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 2. Strut Bar 3. Brake Vacuum Tube ( Monster Brake Capsule ) 4.Voltage Stabilizer the above are all mod, no argue about it what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 Suddenly all the freelance insurance brokers start surfacing like vultures to the Aviva corpse many of them have lost biz to aviva and directasia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amuroboy 1st Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 directasia does allow us to use LTA approved mods right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 Y not, by adding solar film, it affect your vision and caused a accident?? Its definitely not 100% transmittance from inside to outside installing ERP IU? it is a mod by LTA it doesn't come stock with the car. the IU might drain power from the alternator/battery and cause car to stall. or it might block the view of the driver. don't argue for the sake of arguing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 What to do, modern Singapore is all about making $, no morale responsibly at all! Buy insurance, when something happen, say void and refund. KNN if nothing happen, don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 (edited) directasia does allow us to use LTA approved mods right? i'm using directasia now. the so called 'mod' i have is s@lar film. Edited May 29, 2011 by Friendstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amuroboy 1st Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 i'm using directasia now. the so called 'mod' i have is s@lar film. oh... wanna check with others whether directasia allow us to use LTA approved mods or not.. if not nxt year need to find new insurance liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 oh... wanna check with others whether directasia allow us to use LTA approved mods or not.. if not nxt year need to find new insurance liao well, simply drop them an e-mail for a black and white reply... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cleefho 1st Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 i m on Aviva and unfortunably rear-ended another car. I did not know that must make report immediately but called their hotline and they were very nice and send someone 2 days later to write report and take photo for me. No bad experience with them at all........plus my car is modded. dont understand what happen that trigger Aviva to void the insurance of this car?????? past insurer which i used before and highly recommended includes AXA and AIG..........no ntuc for me ever Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirage Clutched May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 Pls inform Aviva is not their job to certify car road worthiness....is LTA job! Else why the need for us to send our vehicles for inspection? The need for certification for legal mod? Insurance co should offer once vehicles passed LTA inspections and should not be allow cherry picking their customers. I suggest if you write in to ST forum to escalate your case questioning insurance association, LTA and newly appointed transport minister over this practise. I'm sure many many car owners are unaware of this ridiculous terms set by Aviva. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 As long as these mods are not illegal by LTA's definition, aviva can't be making up it's own rules to wriggle out of it's responsibility. Besides, the onus is oso on aviva to prove that these "mods" contributed to the damage. I hope the victim has consulted a lawyer to seek legal recourse over such an unfair practice. I dont think so. LTA rules r different from Ins Co. As long as car has mods as in anything different from the stock car, Ins Co deem as a Mod. Ty need to know as sometimes it affects the claims amount or the stability n power of the car. Long ago it was standard to inform Ins Co if u had sports rims or even a radio/cassette installed. Now even sunroof must b declared as it wil affect the premium payable cos car with sunroof is considered as not as strong as car without. Aftermarket sunroof is even worse. Must hv certification from approved tester that it is safe. Main reason is the structure n strength of the roof is affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 if i were u, i would have answered "yes". its obvious the below items are added on your car by yourself. 1. Sports Rim 2. Strut Bar 3. Brake Vacuum Tube ( Monster Brake Capsule ) 4.Voltage Stabilizer 5. Exhaust Tail Pipe ( which in fact was just the muffler TIP ) Which other insurance coys also ask this qn? My last insurance with Royal Sun did not have this qn. If u declare all the above items yr ins premium might b higher or ty dont want to insure even. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 I would agree if verified that root cause is rim is of wrong size or offset or not to mfgr recommendation but now Aviva is citing this outright not taking responsibility. How abt cases such as using very good and branded tyres for standard rims but they have since worn out and not replaced. Brakes pads also finished. Then met w an accident. Allow to claim? car is dirt stock. Insurance co should follow LTA rules and regulation. Not by setting up their own rules! This will create unnecessary confusion and allow insurance co to shrink their responsibility. U must ustand that now there is a claim, ty have a good reason to reject it n void e policy cos now ty dont need to pay any $$$. If nothing happen n no claim, ty take yr $$$ every year happily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 the case above may be a precedent for many more to come..not a fair practice..that can meant tens of thousands of policyholders cannot claim in the event of accident Long ago got a few ins co who quote very low premiums but when got claim, ty very sticky. As the word spread thay ty always try not to pay claims, many pple moved away from them n ty lost a lot of biz. Then slowly after many years, ty slowly come back into the market as many new drivers not aware n ins co wil decide if its worth to quote lower n try not to pay or quote higher but readily pay on claims. Its purely a business decision. Its a game being played all the time. I remember long ago got a Mini Cooper skid on T Payoh flyover n get run over by a bus. The driver died n passenger too I think. The ins co found that the tyres were worn n were of the wrong size from stock n refused to pay any claims. Ty won th case in court summore but it was mentioned in the press n after that, ty lost a lot of biz. Now ty back in the market so as they say, life goes on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 if my sports rims come free from the Authorised agent? is it okay? Ah this is a grey area. If yr rims r original from car manufacturer n of same size as stock, it was accepted. But aftermarket rims might b of questionable quality so ins co can reject on this basis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 haha the high flyer insurance agent. Only die or lose the ability to work then can claim. Thats why buying Ins is very tricky. Agent might say VERBALLY everything also can claim but its not he pay when there is a claim but the Ins Co n they might not, based on the fine print n technical jargon of their policy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 I'm afraid I would go against the public feeling of indignation. The Verna's owner had his own interpretation of "modification" and failed to clarify with Avivia what THEIR version of modification was, before declaring that his car was not modified. Contractually, because of the Verna owner's non-disclosure, the contract is null and void. What people can however take away from this, however, is that if your car is not factory-standard, you should declare every single little thing it is not standard, and let AVIVA decide if they want to quote you. Maybe you should even declare that your car has non-factory standard Glade air fresheners, Hello Kitty tissue box, and 3M floor mats when fabric ones were standard. Ya that wud b good to put pressure on them. But too many things not standard then ty might raise yr premium. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...