Tinydog Clutched May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Not sure if anyone has seen this http://news.omy.sg/News/Local+News/Story/O...523-247913.html "If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals, hence a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity." - Dr Lim Wee Kiat, PAP MP for Nee Soon GRC. And I thought I had some dignity 😛 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 (edited) Not sure if anyone has seen this http://news.omy.sg/News/Local+News/Story/O...523-247913.html "If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals, hence a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity." - Dr Lim Wee Kiat, PAP MP for Nee Soon GRC. And I thought I had some dignity :P Walao. That's like saying Bill Gate's garbage man needs to be paid $10 million a month because he handles Gates' trash. Edited May 26, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Tat's complete b.u.l.l.s.h.i.t !!! Juz 1 simple example will refute his argument....when obama talks to warren buffett, u have a president earning <$1M talking to a guy who earns $1M in days/weeks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 (edited) Wait, if dignity is directly related to pay, then shouldn't Obama be kowtowing to our common MiniStar? Let alone our PRIME MiniStar or prataman! How dare a commoner like POTUS mix in the exalted company of OUR glorious leaders? Edited May 26, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Please... then they had better be paid more than $10million.. Even if minister earns 100k a year, lesser than a bank or telco ceo.. the minister discuss with them, the ceo will not listen just bec pay is lower? At work place, department head is AVP rank, there is a lao ciao old bird old subordinate that is VP rank n pay is higher than the department head due to his number of years serving the organization, the subordinate can dun listen to boss?? Apparently this MP who has.this view has not much experience working in big private organization with structural hierarchy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corgan Neutral Newbie May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 another own goal.. knn.. they better wake up their idea.. wonder if this will come out in tomorrow's papers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...0&start=160 some relevant views are also in this thread Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Obama n Hu jin Tao kneels down to greet our president when they meet bec their pay is way lower... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 (edited) so what's the measurement of dignity in units? d2u? or $? the pappies has shown their true colors! they are insecure people that need money to boost their ego and dignity. I think i live in shame cause i don't earn millions! Edited May 26, 2011 by Assaxefour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinydog Clutched May 26, 2011 Author Share May 26, 2011 The full report is in fact in 25/05/2011 "Lian He Wan Bao" as indicated in the web link. I don't think such article will come out in Straits Times or "Lian He Zao Bao" though. Bad image, bad image... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Wow lan wei.... this type of ppl can be MP......... His brain grow grass is it Another own goal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinydog Clutched May 26, 2011 Author Share May 26, 2011 Are our ministers that smart? Apparently our PM says so. But how come they kept doing things that self-pawned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 (edited) Another own goal. It's OK wan. Now it's post-erection oreddy, so Strange Times can report it, and tripods people like Lionel D' Souza will right in to express their enthusiastic support. All forgotten (and if remembered at all) forgiven in 5 years' time. Edited May 26, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 So much for "serving the people". Apparently "millions matters more". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 (edited) It's because it doesn't occur to him and some people that dignity doesn't only come from $$$$. Edited May 26, 2011 by Acieed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Up till now singaporean still don't know Pappies true feeling towards its citizen.Pappies look you no up! hence the FT influx. Wake up singaporean if you have any dignity left! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Not sure if anyone has seen this http://news.omy.sg/News/Local+News/Story/O...523-247913.html "If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals, hence a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity." - Dr Lim Wee Kiat, PAP MP for Nee Soon GRC. And I thought I had some dignity :P Then Steve Jobs $1 salary per year how to talk to me? That's why til today I still don't buy i Phone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 (edited) leopard dun change its spots. 狗改不了吃屎 Everything they think originate from money. they need more slaps in 2016 No wonder i feel so small and humbled when i talk to my big boss. Its not about ability... It about him getting wayyyyy more pay than me. Edited May 26, 2011 by Ngck ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...