With New ERP, COE will be abolished and other predictions

Zanter

So many people don't want the government to earn so much from the taxes but then why do they still buy cars? Instead of complaining that the taxes are so high and have to pay for everything and in the end the minister's pay so high. Why not all just stop driving. Then no one needs to complain that they are earning alot from the COE, ARF, ERP and Road Tax. Since u drive means you are willing to pay them right? lol.

This is the reply I got when I asked this question in one of my classes last time.

they are like telling us indirectly..

"vote for opposition(60%) somemore la.. i punish you all now!!!"

the only happy people is the opposition.. cause they can get more voters in 5 yrs time.. lol..

hopefully they build a bigger carpark next to that tau huey stall.... [;)]

might as well they build some rooms into the carpark while they are working on it! saves a lot of troubles! [laugh]

i wonder if a car is on a dyno....how much will it charge as per GPS??tag on to speed?? then will TP send summon to court,coz dyno sure 40km above speed limit.... :D

Can the COE revise to Cat less than 1600cc, Cat 1601 - 2000cc or 2500cc, Cat 2000cc / 2500cc above.

2500cc above is killing environment ? Carbon tax ? Walk the talk 1st by reducing huge engines for private passenger cars.

1 dollar per km is damn fuk up , a average person would travel 2000km / month , that makes wtf, sense, what about sales people, what about delivery couriers, this will only makes things more inflated as it already is , u can expect to pay $100 for a pizza delivery , mailing a letter would cost $50 at least, taking a bus would cost u $50 / trip do u want?

Remove Coe? Wait long long... Going by track record, New ERP will be ON TOP of everything we are already paying. Why rock the boat? 60% already gave approval.

Predictions= Reduced OMV, No more COE, no need to mod fuel tank to pump JB petrol cos petrol tax will be abolished and no more JB jams but pay $1 per KM. Car ownership cost will be reduced but usage will be charged according to the time of the day. No more red plates, classic cars cos everybody will pay as you drive. If accident can use GPS evidence so no need to quarrel & scratch each other cars. No more car thefts as stolen cars will be tracked. No more trips to geylang in car unless parked next to tau huey stall [laugh] . What else?

Will never get parking lots because almost everyone will buy a car and keep it at garage.

Predictions= Reduced OMV, No more COE, no need to mod fuel tank to pump JB petrol cos petrol tax will be abolished and no more JB jams but pay $1 per KM. Car ownership cost will be reduced but usage will be charged according to the time of the day. No more red plates, classic cars cos everybody will pay as you drive. If accident can use GPS evidence so no need to quarrel & scratch each other cars. No more car thefts as stolen cars will be tracked. No more trips to geylang in car unless parked next to tau huey stall [laugh] . What else?

Wait long long ... most likely nothing much change but a new add on to make you pay more lah !

1 dollar per km is damn fuk up , a average person would travel 2000km / month , that makes wtf, sense, what about sales people, what about delivery couriers, this will only makes things more inflated as it already is , u can expect to pay $100 for a pizza delivery , mailing a letter would cost $50 at least, taking a bus would cost u $50 / trip do u want?

Actually our cost per month of an average 1.6 korean car now is at least 1.5k+ per month( assuming 10 year loan, depreciation, interest etc ). Assuming you drive 1500km..the ACTUAL cost is already $1 per KM! We already pay OMV, GST, ...why we need to pay COE? But anyway if $1 per km , the demand for cars will drop like stone and COE will plunge back to normal days of 10k-20k . Yeah ok we pay & pay..but if this GPS idea is gonna work, then they must shift most of the cost into usage & not just tax us more. If we pay 1.5k per month & our mileage is not taxed, we will use the car till MAXIMUM contributing to congestion. So soon if motorist pay $1 per km on peak periods the roads will be much less jammed. Maybe the good side is that off peak MAY BE free, depending on area. Off peak like after midnight to 6am. So there will be some people who dont wanna pay GPS ERP charges will wake up 6am to go work!

My other prediction is carpark gonna cost a lot more than current to dissuade people from buying car and parking. Buy just to look at car? Then your car space rental will be $300-$500 per month. This is actually not as expensive as you think cos the land area of a carpark is that of a small HDB room. Can you rent a HDB room at $50 now? In fact in many countries the carpark is lot more ex than in SG. In fact if you noticed recently private carpark rates has risen a LOT! The public rates not risen due to election but soon it will go up.

There is a possibility that different cars will get different ERP rates. So if you drive picanto you may pay X rate, then 1.6liter you pay 1.6X rate, 2liter pay 2X rate. Why? Cos you are rich mah drive high cc car so tax you more [laugh] . Taxi may pay a lower rate X, but Taxi fares will go thru the roof no choice, otherwise nobody can find Taxi.

Edited by Zanter

COE is to reduce ownership

ERP is to reduce road usage

both work hand in hand

but as I have always preached.. COE should be based on the actual dimensions of the car, not the engine size. imposing ownership tax on the size of the ENGINE i rubbish

if i drive a 1.5L lorry twice the length of a normal sedan, i should pay more COE than the Altis driver

Edited by Majordan

So many people don't want the government to earn so much from the taxes but then why do they still buy cars? Instead of complaining that the taxes are so high and have to pay for everything and in the end the minister's pay so high. Why not all just stop driving. Then no one needs to complain that they are earning alot from the COE, ARF, ERP and Road Tax. Since u drive means you are willing to pay them right? lol.

This is the reply I got when I asked this question in one of my classes last time.

No car very sia sway lay..

No car no gf, no scandal..

No car whole family squeeze in mrt/bus so ke lian..

No car friends & colleague will despite me..

No car life will nvr be the same again..

with the gov't forecast of 7 mil population, are they expecting the car population to decrease? and moreover its going to be foreign population. Looks like they are saving space for the new foreign rich population that just comes and buys at high prices because of our civilised nature that has made Singapore a safe coutry, and now seems to be turning otherwise a little slower after GE. lol

Edited by Nesh

I wonder if motorbikes will be affected. Technically we don't usually contribute to congestion (well excluding causeway jams).

The technology has to be weather proof too for our bikes. Feasible? Highly doubt.

I wonder if motorbikes will be affected. Technically we don't usually contribute to congestion (well excluding causeway jams).

The technology has to be weather proof too for our bikes. Feasible? Highly doubt.

Dont contribute to congestion? haha good try bro. Ask you-now bikes pay ERP or not? Thats your answer. Well instead of $1 per km maybe 50cent ?

No car very sia sway lay..

No car no gf, no scandal..

No car whole family squeeze in mrt/bus so ke lian..

No car friends & colleague will despite me..

No car life will nvr be the same again..

Nobody say u cannot have car but dissuaded from driving during peak period. Can drive East Coast midnight and put newspaper mah...still free [laugh]

So you choose to pay them ma. Not like they say every Singaporean must buy a car. [laugh]