With New ERP, COE will be abolished and other predictions

Zanter

Predictions= Reduced OMV, No more COE, no need to mod fuel tank to pump JB petrol cos petrol tax will be abolished and no more JB jams but pay $1 per KM. Car ownership cost will be reduced but usage will be charged according to the time of the day. No more red plates, classic cars cos everybody will pay as you drive. If accident can use GPS evidence so no need to quarrel & scratch each other cars. No more car thefts as stolen cars will be tracked. No more trips to geylang in car unless parked next to tau huey stall [laugh] . What else?

  On 5/25/2011 at 12:13 PM, Zanter said:

Predictions= Reduced OMV, No more COE, no need to mod fuel tank to pump JB petrol cos petrol tax will be abolished and no more JB jams but pay $1 per KM. Car ownership cost will be reduced but usage will be charged according to the time of the day. No more red plates, classic cars cos everybody will pay as you drive. If accident can use GPS evidence so no need to quarrel & scratch each other cars. No more car thefts as stolen cars will be tracked. No more trips to geylang in car unless parked next to tau huey stall [laugh] . What else?

confirm still have COE. road tax will be further reduced to a baseline depends on engine cap. the new erp charges will be like pay as u drive road tax scheme. lastly, no more speeding, because TP just sit the office to check who is speeding from a click of a button [laugh] [laugh]

hopefully they build a bigger carpark next to that tau huey stall.... [;)]

They won't take away COE lah. It's making the government billions of dollars and is actually one of the most effective way of controlling car population in the WORLD.

Car OWNERSHIP has to remain expensive. Simply why? We have parking problem already. And once you own a car, you will use the car. Weekends, how? So you think the government will tax you for weekend road usage, then next GE comes everybody want to vote WP and SDP again? :P

Government is not stupid. This move is just to take away the existing ERP system (which is quite a failure) and possibly abolish the road tax in favour for more fuel economical cars like in Europe where they tax by the CO2 emissions instead.

Edited by Detach8

On 5/25/2011 at 12:59 PM, Beehive3783 said:

I wonder if a GPS blocker will help :)

maybe it will be linked to immobilizer. You won't be able to start your car. [laugh]

Clutched

Why must have COE??? We have paid for the car price why must add another 40 over K to it.. ??

Why dun abolished roadtax if already implement COE?? We have paid for the car price and COE.

Why pay season parking since we already paid the car price, COE & road tax???

Why pay season when 10 out of 9 times I have to park at white lot.??

On 5/25/2011 at 1:02 PM, Kangadrool said:

maybe it will be linked to immobilizer. You won't be able to start your car. [laugh]

I don't think that's possible. Not every car has an immobilizer..

Don't think that all the other taxes will be removed. Everything probably will remain the same just that now have to pay while you drive. The only thing that can probably decrease is the road tax. But I think only by a little bit.

ARF

COE

ERP

RD TAX

= PAPAYA 24MTH BONUS HANDOUT + 2MILLION SALARY PA + HO JINX GAMBLING DEBT

One step to close to being "Big Brother". If this was proposed in the states there'll be massive protests. But then again, SG will probably bite the bullet and suffer in silence... as usual.

Pay as you drive??? How come it sounds like some car rental scheme? Pay every km you have travelled? :blink:

Edited by 13177

On 5/25/2011 at 12:56 PM, Detach8 said:

Government is not stupid. This move is just to take away the existing ERP system (which is quite a failure) and possibly abolish the road tax in favour for more fuel economical cars like in Europe where they tax by the CO2 emissions instead.

you are correct indeed..carbon tax coming!

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1090640/1/.html

On 5/25/2011 at 1:07 PM, CMS said:

Why must have COE??? We have paid for the car price why must add another 40 over K to it.. ??

Why dun abolished roadtax if already implement COE?? We have paid for the car price and COE.

why drive if u cant afford it?

if u ever be the government, when u standing for election i vote for u leh

On 5/25/2011 at 1:02 PM, Kangadrool said:

GPS dun work underground... so if u cant start a car if its park in underground carpark???

  On 5/25/2011 at 1:07 PM, CMS said:

So that more people will stop buying cars.