Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Come 2015 or 2016 ............... CNA News : Tenders to develop new ERP system awarded SINGAPORE: The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has awarded tenders for trials to develop the next generation of the electronic road pricing (ERP) system. What's being explored is a satellite-based method for road tolls, which reduces dependence on physical ERP gantries. Four groups of companies have secured the tenders. They are Kapsch TrafficCom AB, MHI Engine System Asia and NCS, ST Electronics (Info-Comm Systems) and IBM Singapore, and Watchdata Technologies as well as Beijing Watchdata System. Each group will be given seed funding of S$1 million to develop and demonstrate technological solutions. The 18-month trials starts next month. LTA said it will assess the performance of the various solutions at the end of the trial, to determine whether an appropriate technological solution is available and can form the basis of a next generation ERP system. It added the development of the project is in its very early stages and that the next generation ERP system, if technically feasible, is still some years away before it is ready to be launched and implemented. As reported in today ST, that will be in 2015 or 2016, the new ERP system will be implemented. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 25, 2011 Author Share May 25, 2011 hmmmmm............... 2016 the next GE ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 I think most of us here have already expected the arrival of the satellite-based ERP system. But the question is, will it be more efficient and fair to motorists ? I just hope it will not get awarded to NCS & ST Electronics knowing how they design systems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 I think most of us here have already expected the arrival of the satellite-based ERP system. But the question is, will it be more efficient and fair to motorists ? I just hope it will not get awarded to NCS & ST Electronics knowing how they design systems. they ll probably will win the tender and then they will sub it out to another company! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 hmmmmm............... 2016 the next GE ..... 2016 and my car will have 2 more yrs to run before coe expires! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 I think most of us here have already expected the arrival of the satellite-based ERP system. But the question is, will it be more efficient and fair to motorists ? I just hope it will not get awarded to NCS & ST Electronics knowing how they design systems. what do you mean by fair to motorist? nothing is fair at to us at all.. as always.. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 25, 2011 Author Share May 25, 2011 what do you mean by fair to motorist? errrrr............. Ministers & MPs vehicles need to pay or not har ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Juz hope this system really will solve our jam. If not its juz another way to milk us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 what do you mean by fair to motorist? nothing is fair at to us at all.. as always.. [laugh] Fair as in we pay but at least reduce jams effectively. Not like now pay already but still jammed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 errrrr............. Ministers & MPs vehicles need to pay or not har ? i tink besides the president, everyone else has to pay (their personal vehicles).. the designated ones where they use for NDP etc, think no need.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dice 3rd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 cheepest quote prolly will win lah good ting no cheep, cheep ting no good hope they prove me wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Fair as in we pay but at least reduce jams effectively. Not like now pay already but still jammed... i think when it 1st started, it did helped to ease up traffic.. now, i dun think so.. think they dig more tunnel (i.e KPE) or widen the road or more highway is more efficient than increasing erp.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 HURRAY 60.1% RULEZ!!! U DESERVE IT! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 cheepest quote prolly will win lah good ting no cheep, cheep ting no good hope they prove me wrong There's a high chance they will NOT prove you wrong. Government projects and tenders are always very price sensitive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 25, 2011 Author Share May 25, 2011 i think when it 1st started, it did helped to ease up traffic.. now, i dun think so.. think they dig more tunnel (i.e KPE) or widen the road or more highway is more efficient than increasing erp.. Ya .... tunnels ...... than, speed limit 70Km/h.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dice 3rd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 kekeke i actually find the 70kmph limit in kpe quite refreshing, suddenly got transported out from busy busy busy singapore LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Come 2015 or 2016 ............... ... Each group will be given seed funding of S$1 million to develop and demonstrate technological solutions. ... Haven't even implement and tax payers will have to do away with S$5 million liao ~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 25, 2011 Author Share May 25, 2011 Juz hope this system really will solve our jam. If not its juz another way to milk us. I am not worried of traffic jams. I am more worried of the moment you drive into a bus lane, yellow box, park within 9 meters of bus bay, 3 meters of junction, 6 meters of fire hydrant, against double or single yellow lines, ......etc.... the system captures and summon comes automatically ..... Satellite accuracy is up to 1 meter ....... And one more which all of as hate is 'speeding summon'. If a GPS can capture the speed limit you are travelling and show on those devices (Garmin, Shinco ..... etc) with road map, nothing can stop them from capturing you speeding from a satellite and a summon issued ....... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...