Vulcann 6th Gear May 25, 2011 Author Share May 25, 2011 20 Pasir Panjang Road Mapletree Business City #02-15 The one at centrepoint called Aston Prime serves premium beef, very different from the rest Sounds good. What about their price? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 25, 2011 Author Share May 25, 2011 My current favourite place for a good steak which is not too expensive would be The Ranch Cafe at Lor 27 Geylang. Next to Aljunied MRT, so getting there is convenient too. Steaks are about $20-$30. The place is pretty popular with the expat crowd, so either getting there early or calling up for a reservation is recommended. http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/The_Ranch_cafe_SG1/ Didn't know a steak pl can be located at that area... Not that pricy leh. And conveniently located. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Lava Rock at hougang also not bad. around $14-$15 for ribeye. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Sounds good. What about their price? For Sirloin is $12, more ex for tenderloin and ribeye but still less than $30 the menu for aston prime is very much different, they serve premium steak such as wagyu beef for $90 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Secret in a steak, lies with the beef. Agree with bros who recommended cooking your own. Choose the best tenderloin meat at your favorite market and grill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 gordon grill at good wood park! really superd la!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tt_hh 2nd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Pasir ris st 21 koufu... Grilled ribeye pepper steak $7.50 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Kopitiam at serangoon gardens Bro, Isteak. Yes, so far I find their steaks quite good and affordable. Ribeyes at 18-30, range 200, 300 and 400g Have not tried the wagyu but heard froma friend it's solid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kman08 3rd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Personally find that the Cajun style from BJ (Er...in case you are thinking, DON'T!!) not to my liking so did not patronize it anymore. Ya agree steaks from J*ck's Pl is the one more towards my taste & I go to their outlets more frequently. Their price also quite reasonable. The other one I also go to regularly is V*nes opposite Novena Church. Their style quite similar to J*ck's Pl. Yes Vines is value for money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Grill out at Sunset Way served one of the best steaks I've had at around $50. (Think was Angus... Wagyu was like $80+ I think) They also have black (Kurobuta) pork if not into beef. For the grade of meats they serve....... it will easily cost double at upmarket steak houses. If you want slightly cheaper premium grade steaks.... then the only other place I know is in JB, near the former Hyatt Hotel (Now Thistle). Normal steaks are like RM30+. If you want premium stuff... gotta phone and pre-order 3 days in advance. Think their Wagyu is like RM300 per order and serves 2 people. Restaurant is family run and will only see the sign from the road. You've gotta walk down a flight of stairs to the restaurant which is like situated on a slope. Restaurant is called Anna's Kitchen. Their main specialties are Penang fare though..... premium steaks are available upon pre-orders. Anna's Kitchen 18K Basement, Jalan Abdul Samad 80100 Johor Bahru +6013-7422168 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Thanks. Price leh? they have a few cuts - think got standard, striplion, ribeye, tenderloin - i cant remember think from about 7 goes up progressively to 16 plus for a tenderloin. i usually take the ribeye, is surprisingly good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 I know there is a makan corner section but decided to ask here since L&E section is more commonly accessed by fellow MCFers & thus more updated info can be gleamed. Not looking forward to those ex restaurants but cheaper, more "affordable" places please. So any fellow beef lovers like to share? kopi tiam by the toilet steak stall is 5 sinkie dollar only gst included Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 (edited) did anybody realize that the chefs for all these western food are mostly pinoys? (chinese restaurant all ah tiong.) if not, how can the restaurant survive with that kind of menu price?? pinoy good in cooking western food, most of them from commercial ship's cookhouse. don believe? ask them to show you their tattoos. so if you go eat there, you indirectly supporting FT policy. Edited May 25, 2011 by Theone2010 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Republic of Steak along bugis located at victoria hotel not bad! worth for money too :) very homely feeling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 did anybody realize that the chefs for all these western food are mostly pinoys? (chinese restaurant all ah tiong.) if not, how can the restaurant survive with that kind of menu price?? pinoy good in cooking western food, most of them from commercial ship's cookhouse. don believe? ask them to show you their tattoos. so if you go eat there, you indirectly supporting FT policy. no pun intended. if u advocate this, might as well eat in cos don't say restaurant. even kopitiam hv prc manning the stalls. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 The Ship? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Jeez... you mean the one at International Plaza? Its still there? Seems like decades ago when I went and it was really empty for dinner. Cant remember the food but you could have peace and quiet there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Jeez... you mean the one at International Plaza? Its still there? Seems like decades ago when I went and it was really empty for dinner. Cant remember the food but you could have peace and quiet there the one in Shaw House is still there, saw a new outlet at NEX, not sure about the one in Int'l Plaza. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...