Tenders to develop new ERP system awarded

Yewheng

Thanks for the explaination.

Thats what i have in mind also for the tunnel prefix system....

Actually a couple of years back, a local poly or uni already did a project on the related issue. I saw it on cable.

In order for the system to have really accurate positioning they have to build many land based satellites or transmitters around the island. As we know the ones in orbit has a margin of error of +/- 10m in terms of accuracy the land based satellites will narrow it down to pin point location.

The cost of building such a system is IMO freaking ex and unnecessary. Just build more roads, whether underground or flyovers if need to when we really run out of land.

in many countries, there is a flyover over a flyover. but putting here there will be one question asked, how to put ERP gantry? which is why its never planned out at all.

for underground, its expensive to build and maintain.

You must be joking that this system will solve the traffic Jam. Unless the IU is gonna like the Taxi meter, every 1 kilometer u see ur value decrease and decrease till you get nightmare then maybe is a better psychological effect then the present situation.

Until now there is no good system to encourage ppl to scrap car and stay on public transport, so I dont see how is traffic jam situation going to be solved.

If say no ARF OMV COE Road tax & petrol tax but every km is $1, you think wont solve problem? People can go out drive suka suka? Really need to drive then no choice have to pay 1km= $1. I think the roads can plant vegetables [laugh]

Oh those who pay high COE cars recently will kena song song & regret jia lat.

It's quite clear that the gahmen wants people to be able to buy car, but to drive them, it'll be very costly, and drivers have to think twice, thrice, or even 10 times, before they start the engine....

You must be joking that this system will solve the traffic Jam. Unless the IU is gonna like the Taxi meter, every 1 kilometer u see ur value decrease and decrease till you get nightmare then maybe is a better psychological effect then the present situation.

Until now there is no good system to encourage ppl to scrap car and stay on public transport, so I dont see how is traffic jam situation going to be solved.

very easy to control traffic, just reduce loan to 70% and COE only bid by individual, increase carpark charges by 100%

Clutched

It's quite clear that the gahmen wants people to be able to buy car, but to drive them, it'll be very costly, and drivers have to think twice, thrice, or even 10 times, before they start the engine....

Agreed... Once u start your engine, it is = money start to burning.

Automated bus lane camera is on the way, no more warden taking pictures very soon, go into the bus lane at wrong timing and u get shoot.

Its here already lah... New buses have cameras mounted on the driver side so during peak hrs bus drivers can take snapshot of obstructing vehicles infront of it gt ppl kanna liao...

From ur answer i can see you are not qualified to be ministar, u need to wk harder hahaha!

Its here already lah... New buses have cameras mounted on the driver side so during peak hrs bus drivers can take snapshot of obstructing vehicles infront of it gt ppl kanna liao...

From ur answer i can see you are not qualified to be ministar, u need to wk harder hahaha!

That was the old phase of project that u were referring to. hahaha!

kns...one minute encourage every family can afford a car..now twist of words owning a car seems difficult

what about those in the sales line like me...erp charge by mileage died liao

Hopefully many people will put petiton to put 2pid idea down.How many new roads are being built nowdays...Suddenly influx of foreign talents also make more cars on the road!!

kns...one minute encourage every family can afford a car..now twist of words owning a car seems difficult

what about those in the sales line like me...erp charge by mileage died liao

Hopefully many people will put petiton to put 2pid idea down.How many new roads are being built nowdays...Suddenly influx of foreign talents also make more cars on the road!!

Don't think more foreign talents means more cars. Cuz the quota is fixed right? So more people just means harder to get cars.

I think this will improve the traffic alittle bit? Maybe they should charge more for those places that have MRT nearby. This will make some people decide on public transport instead and only drive when the place they going to really got no MRT. Secondly people won't anyhow drive their cars out already. In my previous workplace lunch hour everyone drives out. Many cars go out and not all the cars are full. If this new system implement probably more people will start sharing cars or even walk to somewhere nearby for lunch instead.

Thirdly, those areas with schools and always jam in the morning the jam probably will be alittle bit better. Some will decide to let their children walk if they live nearby. Cuz when I was in secondary school many of my classmates their parents will fetch them even if their house is like a 5min walk away only. This will make the parents think twice about driving their children to school unnecessarily.

Jesus christ, when will all of you people WAKE UP from your slumber...from DAY ONE when COE was implemented and the ARF/PARF bullsh1t was not scrapped, we KNEW that all the government wanted was to profit from increasing demand of car ownership. From non-disclosure of COEs to manipulation of all sorts of data...Has it changed over the past 20 years? NO. Will it change? NO! And i'm sure I DO NOT need to say why. Great. For 60% of Singaporeans, and of those who are drivers, make your bed and lie in it.

Now, finally, our very freedom and privacies are threatened to be taken away in the form of 24 hour monitoring on the road. And still no clear majority of road users seem to bother of are even aware of the implications of this very system. Would you want an RFID tag in your neck as your passport? No right? I don't see how this is going to be any different.

Edited by Nikolaiski

I am all for this new system if it does help to control the traffic better and prevent the jams on the expressway. But I do not see the new system as being able to control traffic and solve the problem for the jams. It is just going to be another $$$$ generating tool for the gahment. Ths present ERP system is not working at all, Singapore has gotten used to paying for the ERP. No one is really complaining about it nowadays. Question is whether would someone not drive because there is a gantry and he/she has to pay ERP.

The gahment has always said that it is a fairer system to charge by usage and to an extent I agree. This GPS system seems to work towards charging by usage. But what about road tax ? Will there be a different rate for different capacity ? Someone driving a small cc car would probably complain that they should not be paying the same rate as someone driving a big cc car ? Import duties .... when are they doing to remove it ? We are already paying for COE. Import duties is just another $$$ generating tool.

The root of the problem is car population and this issue has not been looked into. Presently, allowable growth is 1.5% but are our road being increase by 1.5% ? I doubt the new TM dare to take the drastic step to cut COE allocation as it is going to be a very unpopular decision. For the time being, with or without ERP, implement new ERP etc etc will not solve the issue of jams in the highway.

Your points are valid [:)]

When we step back and take a hard look at sgp's traffic problems, we can see basically 2 key issues:

1. Insufficient road space to meet the huge volumns of car flows/traffic in some hot-spot areas during peak hours (sometimes nearly whole day in a few super-hot-spots)

2. Lack of alternative (eg public transport systems which really work) for drivers to use their cars less.

For point #1, since our island is small and we cant go on reclaiming land to increase it's size, road space is going to be limited, like it or not. To some extent, adding underground tunnels / above-ground viaducts help incrase 'road space', but it's not going to be cheap or limitless.

What about reduce the need to travel (by cars or public transport)? Meaning why not de-centralise office areas / shopping areas so that people can live near where they work / shop or vice versa? Such drastic 'new' ways of planning will have greater chance of solving the problem than 'blindly' using hi-tech eg satellite GPS tracking etc which is just scratching the surface.

At the same time, more $$ needs to be invested in improving and extending mass public transport systems (MRT, light rails, buses, etc), this relate to #2 above.

Every time I am in Tokyo I am impressed by the nearly seamless mass transport systems. We hardly see any private cars in their CBD, but their trains connect the people very well between homes / offices / shops.......

One more point: SGPreans are known to be car pround and value the freedom car ownership gives them. This is fine as long as they use their cars without causing congestions on the roads. Conceptually, if they take mass transport system to work (daily) and use their highly-treasured cars for leisure activities on weekends / after work govt shouldnt tighten car ownership (ie number of cars 'owned', different from 'driven') too much ie allow more to enjoy owning a car but have a system that they use their cars during off-peak hours or in less congested areas. Highly expensive ERP for CBD areas / office areas but affordable and efficient / friendly mass transport systems linking homes and these areas help a lot in achieving this.

Edited by KARTer