Mllcg 3rd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 I have screamed this for a long time. SG has no pubic transport only Pubic listed Co that the Gov owns a stake. Frankly is there a time the SMRT and SBS reduce prices ?? think think think ??? Yes ? No ? They only come out with distance base fares that shift the money from left pocket to right pocket. and still make more than last year. distance based fares? cheaper for long distance travel, more ex for shorter distance. so the short distance cover for the long distance. same what. commuters paying for each other. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 I have screamed this for a long time. SG has no pubic transport only Pubic listed Co that the Gov owns a stake. Frankly is there a time the SMRT and SBS reduce prices ?? think think think ??? Yes ? No ? They only come out with distance base fares that shift the money from left pocket to right pocket. and still make more than last year. As long as public transport systems have to make profits to satisfy their shareholders instead of make profits but use the profits to improve their way of serving passengers in a better and cheaper manner, passengers are doomed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 (edited) kenna whack by the netizens... just look at their responses someone poiinted out that she was also the person that says in GE2006 that LTK is the troublemaker in parliament. and LTK challenged her to prove her allegations that he is a trouble maker in parliament if she was the same person, it shows her haughty attitude and superificial views of things still hasn't changed. http://disgruntledsporean.blogspot.com/200...e-standard.html http://www.facebook.com/nicoleseahnsp/posts/222465074449463 Edited May 25, 2011 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 someone poiinted out that she was also the person that says in GE2006 that LTK is the troublemaker in parliament. and LTK challenged her to prove her allegations that he is a trouble maker in parliament if she was the same person, it shows her haughty attitude and superificial views of things still hasn't changed. http://disgruntledsporean.blogspot.com/200...e-standard.html http://www.facebook.com/nicoleseahnsp/posts/222465074449463 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../290941/1/.html Married Ang Moh 20 years her senior when she is at 43y after a mere 2 month courtship. 2 month a bit short, especially for an inter-ethnic marriage where statistical outlook is slightly poorer. Maybe she is just stressed. And menopausal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 someone poiinted out that she was also the person that says in GE2006 that LTK is the troublemaker in parliament. and LTK challenged her to prove her allegations that he is a trouble maker in parliament if she was the same person, it shows her haughty attitude and superificial views of things still hasn't changed. http://disgruntledsporean.blogspot.com/200...e-standard.html http://www.facebook.com/nicoleseahnsp/posts/222465074449463 should be her... as the first link had an extract from CNA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 someone poiinted out that she was also the person that says in GE2006 that LTK is the troublemaker in parliament. and LTK challenged her to prove her allegations that he is a trouble maker in parliament if she was the same person, it shows her haughty attitude and superificial views of things still hasn't changed. http://disgruntledsporean.blogspot.com/200...e-standard.html http://www.facebook.com/nicoleseahnsp/posts/222465074449463 this person has doubtful character, but she's in parliment................ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 should be her... as the first link had an extract from CNA isnt she the one who married an angmoh?? ................. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../290941/1/.html Married Ang Moh 20 years her senior when she is at 43y after a mere 2 month courtship. 2 month a bit short, especially for an inter-ethnic marriage where statistical outlook is slightly poorer. Maybe she is just stressed. And menopausal. ok lah, it just shows that she's HOT............ in her own way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 (edited) Can someone enlighten me? Our 'public' transport is actually private, listed in SGX. Can our minister have the power to force them to improve their service like increase the number of buses and train trips? What if the minister barks at them but SMRT/SBStransit refuse to do anything? If it's other company out there, the worst case scenario is to revoke their license. But we are talking about 'public' transport here, which affects the whole country. Other than fines, what can the minister do? When SMRT is fined the last few times, the amount is not even a peanut. Fine them just for show only, can't even feel a pinch. IMO, nothing will be done and nothing will change. We can complain everyday, ministers will show they are working hard but the citizens will continue to suffer. Ya that is the problem the the transport system now.. It is because transport system is privatise, if the transport company do not want to do something that is not out to the company earning interest, than no matter how much transport minister pressure them, they will also be at deaf ears. And from what I understand why from last time (long ago) from government controlled to privatise is because government feel that by privatise public transport, it will lead to improvenment of transport services due to being private company, the private company will have more push to do something due to if private transport do not perform well than they will be in deep trouble and at same time it could free up government in handing things that government could forucs on other big issue. ( correct me if I am wrong ) So end up it's a bad move.. now private transport company are just looking for oppunitunity to make profit rather than implimating something which do good for public interest of reduce profit. So end up Transport Minister Lan Pa Pa Lan.. he could not do much and could only keep pressure the private transport company to do something about it. Edited May 25, 2011 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Can someone enlighten me? Our 'public' transport is actually private, listed in SGX. Can our minister have the power to force them to improve their service like increase the number of buses and train trips? What if the minister barks at them but SMRT/SBStransit refuse to do anything? If it's other company out there, the worst case scenario is to revoke their license. But we are talking about 'public' transport here, which affects the whole country. Other than fines, what can the minister do? When SMRT is fined the last few times, the amount is not even a peanut. Fine them just for show only, can't even feel a pinch. IMO, nothing will be done and nothing will change. We can complain everyday, ministers will show they are working hard but the citizens will continue to suffer. You must ask where did the huge amounts of money from the privatisation sales go to... tip: a place where there is NO CPF FUNDS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Ya that is the problem the the transport system now.. It is because transport system is privatise, if the transport company do not want to do something that is not out to the company earning interest, than no matter how much transport minister pressure them, they will also be at deaf ears. And from what I understand why from last time (long ago) from government controlled to privatise is because government feel that by privatise public transport, it will lead to improvenment of transport services due to being private company, the private company will have more push to do something due to if private transport do not perform well than they will be in deep trouble and at same time it could free up government in handing things that government could forucs on other big issue. ( correct me if I am wrong ) WRONG So end up it's a bad move.. now private transport company are just looking for oppunitunity to make profit rather than implimating something which do good for public interest of reduce profit. So end up Transport Minister Lan Pa Pa Lan.. he could not do much and could only keep pressure the private transport company to do something about it. A Private company without competition can NEVER provide good services. With NO Competition, private company will find ALL WAYS with ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD to sit and think of how it can find MORE WAYS to MAKE MORE MONEY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 A Private company without competition can NEVER provide good services. With NO Competition, private company will find ALL WAYS with ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD to sit and think of how it can find MORE WAYS to MAKE MORE MONEY. True. Singapore is never really as open as an economy such as Hong Kong with our government controlling telecommunications, transportation, housing, ports and other infrastructure. Luckily though, SG government had de-regulated the financial industry a long time ago. As such, the so-called "competition" we have right now is all a farce at the expense of the people. If anyone is to tell me "competition" exists between SMRT and SBS, or between SingTel, StarHub and M1, my toes will be laughing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 this person has doubtful character, but she's in parliment................ yes and it is MP for 2 terms, close to 10 years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 I have screamed this for a long time. SG has no pubic transport only Pubic listed Co that the Gov owns a stake. Frankly is there a time the SMRT and SBS reduce prices ?? think think think ??? Yes ? No ? They only come out with distance base fares that shift the money from left pocket to right pocket. and still make more than last year. Yup, fully agree , I've never seen a public listed company which implement a new plan (distance base for this instant) which will cause them a drop in more than 80mil revenue and yet expect their share to go up... its just doesn't add up... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 A Private company without competition can NEVER provide good services. With NO Competition, private company will find ALL WAYS with ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD to sit and think of how it can find MORE WAYS to MAKE MORE MONEY. Ok noted Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 26, 2011 Author Share May 26, 2011 from MrBrown: http://www.mrbrown.com/blog/2011/05/dumbas...m-wee-kiak.html Dumbass Remark of the Week: Dr Lim Wee Kiak The winner this week is... PAP MP for Nee Soon GRC, Dr Lim Wee Kiak! The good doctor said: "If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communications and the Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discusses policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals, hence a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity." Aiyah, now I know why my ministers don't listen to me. I don't earn enough. In other news, PAP MP Irene Ng was irked by media coverage of the Workers' Party's Meet the People session (MPS) in Aljunied GRC. PAP MP Irene Ng: "I started my MPS on May 9, two days after being elected as MP. Had a big crowd. Hardly any rest. No big media publicity. An opposition party started their MPS just yesterday. If that had happened in a PAP branch, imagine the flak...But I am not complaining. We serve quietly and hope residents will judge us by our actions, and not just our words." Like that also want to complain. Let WP have their coverage lah. First time a GRC run by Opposition leh. Not newsworthy meh? The media also covered Tin Pei Ling and Tan Chuan-jin's Meet the People sessions what. Chill lah. ------------------------------ Looks like our Darryn also quite loud in his direct feedback .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 from MrBrown: http://www.mrbrown.com/blog/2011/05/dumbas...m-wee-kiak.html Dumbass Remark of the Week: Dr Lim Wee Kiak The winner this week is... PAP MP for Nee Soon GRC, Dr Lim Wee Kiak! The good doctor said: "If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communications and the Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discusses policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals, hence a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity." Aiyah, now I know why my ministers don't listen to me. I don't earn enough. In other news, PAP MP Irene Ng was irked by media coverage of the Workers' Party's Meet the People session (MPS) in Aljunied GRC. PAP MP Irene Ng: "I started my MPS on May 9, two days after being elected as MP. Had a big crowd. Hardly any rest. No big media publicity. An opposition party started their MPS just yesterday. If that had happened in a PAP branch, imagine the flak...But I am not complaining. We serve quietly and hope residents will judge us by our actions, and not just our words." Like that also want to complain. Let WP have their coverage lah. First time a GRC run by Opposition leh. Not newsworthy meh? The media also covered Tin Pei Ling and Tan Chuan-jin's Meet the People sessions what. Chill lah. ------------------------------ Looks like our Darryn also quite loud in his direct feedback .... farking elitist remark eh you also...how much u earn??? are you earning enuf to even post here with ppl like T2 posting...?? suggest you go back to boondock forum n post der Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 26, 2011 Author Share May 26, 2011 farking elitist remark eh you also...how much u earn??? are you earning enuf to even post here with ppl like T2 posting...?? suggest you go back to boondock forum n post der sorry sorry.... i humble peasant... no dignity to talk to all of you... let me get back to my conversations with the tiger beer ladies at the coffeeshop. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...