Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 24, 2011 Author Share May 24, 2011 bros Yewheng and Davidtkl. I understand your point of view. However, you fail to look at the situation from all sides of the coin. You have to understand the feelings of the masses. For many years already, the Ministers have had more than ample opportunities and timw to do their jobs right. However, they have abjectly failed at their primary tasks, and led the country into the mess it is currently in. Now, suddenly when their jobs are at risk, they finally start doing the things which they were supposed to be doing from long ago. If Tuck Yew really turns and does his job properly and public transport service finally improves, I am sure people will show their appreciation. So until results materialise, you cannot blame people for being skeptical. Let's wait and see. But NO MATTER WHAT happens - THERE MUST ALWAYS BE ALTERNATIVE VOICES IN PARLIAMENT. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 bros Yewheng and Davidtkl. I understand your point of view. However, you fail to look at the situation from all sides of the coin. You have to understand the feelings of the masses. For many years already, the Ministers have had more than ample opportunities and timw to do their jobs right. However, they have abjectly failed at their primary tasks, and led the country into the mess it is currently in. Now, suddenly when their jobs are at risk, they finally start doing the things which they were supposed to be doing from long ago. If Tuck Yew really turns and does his job properly and public transport service finally improves, I am sure people will show their appreciation. So until results materialise, you cannot blame people for being skeptical. Let's wait and see. But NO MATTER WHAT happens - THERE MUST ALWAYS BE ALTERNATIVE VOICES IN PARLIAMENT. Yes that I fully agree.. must always have alternative voice in parliament. [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tt_hh 2nd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 Have to mah. Cos from recent election they surprised to realised they disconnected from the ground & disconnected with the young generation. So more people will walk the ground & reponding FB etc. Maybe we will see a KBW visit contruction sites, 1-2rm flats. go HDB talking to young couples queuing to buy flat etc. New MOE minister, to do surprise visits to schools etc. TCH visit police post/fire stations more ? New foreign minister go overseas trips more often KBW will visit his birthcountry n find plots of land to build HDB and tell singaporeans to buy hdb in bolehland... Just like medical treatment .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 a. maybe it's really peak hour but people see him: "omg!!! got meanster taking bus! better siam far far from his holiness" giving wide berth to him loh b. he really taking effort to know the ground by being on the ground instead of looking at the ground i would like to comment on only 2 things. 1. hope this is not the initial heat. and he better remember this start even towards the end of the term. many people start off with great ideals and ambitions and promise only to forget and wither as time passes 2. why read today on the bus? can talk to other passengers to get first hand feedback? just wondering if the chief of lta is there wif him plus his bodyguard plus the lta guys n mot guys...so basically, the bus is full of ka ki lang.lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 In this case, these people have just proven Tuck Yew right. Before the elections, he said some people have already made up their minds and no matter what the ministers did, they would never be pleased. showing face on a public place is not wrong, but what's more important is what he is going to do to improve public transport?? we will wait for his next move to make some real improvements, the ball is in his court, and hope he acts fast Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 sibeh wayang.... he take bus..you say he wayang he never take bus/train....you say he has lost touch with the people. why spore got this type of people like you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 Do u think u can get away taking a pic of the minister just like that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 (edited) There is people who work so hard to trying to get more feedback on how to improve in HDB policies and than to email KBW http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2664060 But the response is.. only few people contribute... and there it goes when someone posted something about the minister, all sorts of comments from many different people all come in and critise.. So this shows what? Most people are just only complaining and not doing anything to help the situation at all.. people need to move away from keep complaining and come out with better solution to solve problem. It would be more meaninful rather than keep complaining and nothing gets done. i think you have missed a very important point:- when a patient feels pains and sees his doctor for cure but his doctor can't even treat him and make him well, can we ask the patient to cure himself when he has no proper medical background/training? .......... meanwhile, the pains continue and the patient moans and groans, do we ask him to shut up and cure himself? .......... think about it the people elected the gahmen / ministers to solve problems, not elect them to collect high pays and ask the citizens themselves to solve the problems for the ministers Edited May 24, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 Than that I would like to ask a question, if he take public transport at off peak hours, why complain ? I mean he could have take this off peak hours to do his work in office and enjoy aircon. It's not say no good to take off peak hours to take public transport, but off peak hours for bus services frequency also quite important as sometimes the frequency wait is very much longer that what is expceted during off peak hours. So what is wrong with that ? He maybe wanted to see how effecient the public transport is even during off peak hours. What I am trying to say is, I guess it is time to stop complaining and start to think of solutions and answer to better help on how to shape Singapore to be a better place, we can do our small part like give suggestion to relevant authorities, find out different things that could be improve and share with people in forum, etc. I mean how long are people going to complain and not get things going? 1 year ? 2 year ? or complain non-stop till year 2016 come and the complain still haven't stop ? Cannot be right? Something must start going somewhere to make Singapore a better place to be in. if the minister relies on citizens' suggestions to solve problems, then in the first place why we need a minister? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nojoke123 1st Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 does he pay the mrt fare ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 (edited) Liu needs to prioritise: peak hours train/bus congestions need to be resolve fast, off-peak hour problems and their solutions can come later. This is a common-sense observation and a suggestion to him. Hope he and his 'supportors' dont take this as a complaint and brush it off. You cannot always assume for the worst of things that is happening like "If he take public transport during off peak hours means he is late for work", what if it is the other way round? He reach office early, check email, after that go out and take public transport see how effecient the public transport is.. so theorically he is not late for work and he could have taken the time wasted on bus journey to do more important things. So you get what I mean ? Yes I also got the SG BUS application on my windows phone 7, so it dosen't say anything at all. Sometimes one has to be at the scene to feel for itself. So no use complaining and not doing anything. I mean one could complain, but if complain for long period of time and not doing anything.. that means things become very inefficient already. Since election had already been over and Singaporeans already been complaining and critising for many months, infact years or the critise not even stop at all. This need to put to a stop and let minister they themself proof the are worth for our Singaporeans vote, if not come year 2016 we Singaporeans will vote them out. So in order to help build Singapore a better place, one must remember, in parliament only has 87 brains, compared to so many millions of brain in Singapore. And if people would start to relise that actually complain make no sense than do something more meaninful in life, to contribute little to Singapore, help minister with suggestion. That would be good, rather than complain non-stop. F.Y.I, I am not saying complain no good as sometimes complain could lead to people relising on how bad the situation is, if not why people complain? But one must know when to stop complain and start working out for solutions to work out to the best of singapore interest. Edited May 24, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 (edited) i think you have missed a very important point:- when a patient feel pains and see his doctor but his doctor can't even treat him and make him well, can we ask the patient to cure himself without proper medical background/training? .......... meanwhile, the pains continue and the patient moans and groans, do we ask him to shut up and cure himself? .......... think about it the people elected the gahmen / ministers to solve problems, not elect them to collect high pays and ask the citizens themselves to solve the problems for the ministers Hmm.. put it this way, we are part of citizen of Singapore, Minister brain is not invincible, surely he also need ideas, and where do all the ideas come from ? If everything put to minister and no feedback from people it would not be good. Minister is also human, and he cannot 24-7 work in office, he also need sleep. That puts on many people working under him and do the ground work, but Singapore although is small but not that small as even if drive car from one end to another end of singapore would need about 30mins. Singapore population so many and compared to many people working under him, they would also need rest and they are also not invincible. So if every singaporeans could do little part to help out in Singapore, why not? One must not have this selfish thinking that it is not my problem. If everyone think that it is not my problem, than how would Minister going to know the ground feedback? And how is the minister going to shape up good policies? Edited May 24, 2011 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 This shows that sporean already kena left and right by MIW for so many yrs until they dunno what to believe from them anymore Ppl r skeptical abt everything MIW do. Juz like this case, he come out and take bus read newspaper, ppl will view it as a wayang. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pufferfish1 Clutched May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 cos the usually high and mighty p8p suddenly change it tactic. this means they are doing it just to secure their position and NOT FROM THE HEART Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 (edited) Hmm.. put it this way, we are part of citizen of Singapore, Minister brain is not invincible, surely he also need ideas, and where do all the ideas come from ? If everything put to minister and no feedback from people it would not be good. Minister is also human, and he cannot 24-7 work in office, he also need sleep. That puts on many people working under him and do the ground work, but Singapore although is small but not that small as even if drive car from one end to another end of singapore would need about 30mins. Singapore population so many and compared to many people working under him, would also need rest and they are also not invincible. So if every singaporeans could do little part to help out in Singapore, why not? One must not have this selfish thinking that it is not my problem. If everyone think that it is not my problem, than how would Minister know the ground feedback? And how is the minister going to shape up good policies? maybe for a start please dont not put words like "... not my problem...." into others mouth, can? it's a problem the gahmen has failed to solved so far. suggestions have been made by many citizens in newspaper etc (if you have been reading newspaper and fourms you will realise it), this has been done. the voices here and in other forums are a result of solutions are not forecoming after so many years. let's face it, most suggestions expressed by the common men (who are not trained transport experts) are just common sense 'solutions', the experts in LTA, ministry have to do their part, even it means shorter sleeping hours. i for one also dont enjoy reading or hearing repeated complaints, but i do appreciate these complaints are a result of pent-up frustration of suffering of bad transport issues over years Edited May 24, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 if the minister relies on citizens' suggestions to solve problems, then in the first place why we need a minister? Than I ask you a question, if one day you become a minister and everything push to you and you got no where to start. How are you going to start working on things? Solve the problem yourself? No right.. surely something must triggle it to happen and surely one person do the job is impossible. That is why feedback is very important. Le'ts not talk about past performance as past MBT, LSS etc all gone, and new minister and reshuffle the whole cabinet. How are they going to start from stratch? The why you put thing is that like if you are the boss, you hire the person and you expect the person to do things all by himself ( Ok can do work by himself but only to certain limit ). I mean there will be point of time the person will need help so where does these help come from? If everyone has this selfish thought, Singapore will never progress anymore and become stagnent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 sibeh wayang.... From his sitting position, reading paper and crossing leg is clear indication that he expect to be on paper tmr. See mum, no hands . . . told U so! If others can do it, I can do better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 (edited) I don't really care if MP takes public transport, or the time which he takes it. But the MP really needs to do something about the public transport. It's really bad. Edited May 24, 2011 by Albeniz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...