Balacam Neutral Newbie May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 Do those ministers holding two portfolios take double pay? I think all minister should take up at least 2 portfolios, then they are justified to get their pay. Tharman Shanmugaratnam - Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Finance, Minister for Manpower (promotion) Assoc Prof Yaacob Ibrahim - Minister for Information and Communication and the Arts K Shanmugam - Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for Law S Iswaran - Minister in Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Home Affairs, Second Minister for Trade and Industry (promotion) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 19, 2011 Author Share May 19, 2011 Well done, with you this kind of people ard, the happier the govt will be. So guillible to get conned Continue to think like this..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amuze Neutral Newbie May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 Do those ministers holding two portfolios take double pay? I think all minister should take up at least 2 portfolios, then they are justified to get their pay. Tharman Shanmugaratnam - Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Finance, Minister for Manpower (promotion) Assoc Prof Yaacob Ibrahim - Minister for Information and Communication and the Arts K Shanmugam - Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for Law S Iswaran - Minister in Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Home Affairs, Second Minister for Trade and Industry (promotion) err MICA is one ministry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Balacam Neutral Newbie May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 Well done, with you this kind of people ard, the happier the govt will be. So guillible to get conned Continue to think like this..... my point is since 1 minister can take 2 portfolios then why not 1 minister concentrate on 1 portfolio and take half the pay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Labixiaoxin Clutched May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 That's another issue Junior Lee has to tackle and settle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rockaphonics 2nd Gear May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 Thats your best response? You cant even give me a reply with substance. Good luck with your life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 To PM Lee or the person assigned to read on behalf of PM, You have taken a bold step to revamp your cabinet. And Singaporeans are being assured that you do listen to our problems. We also hope that you are able to relook into the salaries of the cabinet. Singaporeans feel unjustified towards the amounts of salaries that are being paid and the performance. Having a realistic salary range will keep checks and balances on the real motivations of ministers and potential MPs wanting to serve the people of Singapore, as a Public Servant. Thank you. like that is like asking the petrol coy to reduce their Ron by 30 cents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 19, 2011 Author Share May 19, 2011 It doesn't need alot of brain to think abt it. It's more common sense than anythng. if u care enough for this place, u will have the argument against your statements. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rockaphonics 2nd Gear May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 very convenient reply to say its common sense. If its common sense then there wont be a need for a argument in the first place, Recently i just donated new clothes to the salvation army and am intending to volunteer over there, not that i need to world to know. So, what have you done for the country or her people since you care so much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 very convenient reply to say its common sense. If its common sense then there wont be a need for a argument in the first place, Recently i just donated new clothes to the salvation army and am intending to volunteer over there, not that i need to world to know. So, what have you done for the country or her people since you care so much? keep the good deeds to urself and u will be rewarded, announce it to the whole world and there goes ur reward. like what Jesus say,'when u do good deeds do not let ur left hand know what ur right hand doing and u heavenly father will reward u' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rockaphonics 2nd Gear May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 keep the good deeds to urself and u will be rewarded, announce it to the whole world and there goes ur reward. like what Jesus say,'when u do good deeds do not let ur left hand know what ur right hand doing and u heavenly father will reward u' my friend, i already said my intentions are not to let the world know what i have done or will do. I am trying to make a statement that to help the country and her people, we have to look beyond superficial, look beyond the smaller issues to solve the larger. We can give the man a fish or teach him to fish. We can make our ministers receive 0 pay, will it solve any problems? Will the minister work harder? be more just? will the poor receive benefits? will housing prices become affordable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 (edited) Thats your best response? You cant even give me a reply with substance. Good luck with your life. this donut has a hollow brain like a donut, why bother reasoning with him ? very few bother to liao ... Edited May 19, 2011 by Ingenius Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Park88 1st Gear May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 Vivian Balakrishnan is now the Minister for Environment and Water. Jialat liao, will he be asking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 It is my humble opinion that Minister's salary in absolute terms is fair enough. I was told Tony Tan first step down from the cabinet because he needed to earn more money to put his children through college. Not sure how true it is, but I dont think Ministers deserve less if they do a good job. The problem is with the formula used to calculate it. From what I understand, the base salary is benchmarked to the top earners, and the bonus is benchmarked to the GDP growth. With this formula, the top motivating factor for the Cabinent, financially speaking, is to maximise the salary of the top earners and to increase the GDP. How it is achieved, does not matter, especially if the electorate vote obediently. How do I keep CEO salary high? By suppressing cost. What is the biggest cost? Labour. Ergo, bring in cheap labour. Problem solved. How to increase GDP? Increase population. Again, flood Singapore with foreigners. Does it matter if the housing or transport system cannot keep up? No, because it is not part of the formula. It is the formula that needs serious tweaking. It should include some KPI that actually matters to ordinary Singaporeans, not just the top earners or some nebulous GDP growth numbers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 There is only one justification for pegging the salary to private sector, and that is to attract private sector people. but looking at this cabinet, can we say that this policy has failed? You dont need this kind of money to attract army people, of which the cabinet is full of. They would have to retire at 45 and no one in private sector hires exSAF regulars and pay them top dollars. And you don't need top dollars to pay for NTUC people, or ex civil servants. It is a natural progression/promotion of their civil servant careers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 Its nothing brave, bro. Its an issue that the entire SG is talking about. Its not a secret or taboo to talk about. If we sense something not wrong, we shld bring it up. Nothing wrong with it, as long as you do it in a civil way; not in a wailing or screaming manner. BTW, those salaries are our Tax $$, and it affects us directly.... So why shouldn't we talk abt it? We wouldnt want to pay anything unnecessarily, right? I think its good to talk about the salaries, as we should take ownership of our destinies and how the country is run. Anyway - that's what the gahmen keeps saying,. right? Don't everything leave to gahmen, we should start making certain decisions ourselves. So why not start with their salaries?! I personally think (per annum): MP: $200K is ok PS/MOS: $500K Act Minister: $700K Minister: $900K SM: $1m PM: $1.5m President $1.6m (token higher amt as head of state) Max bonus per year: 6months. No other additional allowances. No annual increments - but review of the payscale after every GE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethingochan Neutral Newbie May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 if they hold 2 or more position? do they get double pay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 (edited) if they hold 2 or more position? do they get double pay? If you do two jobs, do you expect to be paid for one? Edited May 19, 2011 by Bavarian ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...