Albeniz Turbocharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 (edited) OmOm, maybe you have FT engineers in your company. Ask your local subordinates, see if they r really that good. I work with Pinoys, Myanmar, Indians and PRCs when i was in a MNC manufacturing firm. Among these 4 nationalities, surprisingly only Indians can work unlike in IT sector. Pinoys, Myanmars and PRCs like to form clusters, lazy around, talk big but can't delivered....Only can do manual work like robots, if you ask them to solutions. They will go one big round waiting for answers, sit around whole night waiting for reply from US when they know those ppl can only reply the next morning. I agree there maybe some, that r really responsible, good workers but only a few....! Majority Snake Talents This is the ground sentiments. I know because I have the privilege to work with these so-called foreign talents. Although there are a few who are really good at their work, but by and large, we do see a lack in QC in the FT selection process. Ended up, our local guys have to wipe the mess they created after they packed up and left. Edited May 24, 2011 by Albeniz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 Thanks for your sharing. There are a few parallels of old and present day Singapore that I would like to highlight: a. the natives then had a lifestyle that they were probably very used to and it would not be hard to imagine that they felt frustration and perhaps even anger as well when that lifestyle had to change to accommodate the new migrants who came here to find their pots of gold b. our forefathers came with the hope of a new life; they saw the opportunity for growth. The foreigners coming here today also bear similar hopes c. the key driving factor for much of the success of our forefathers was the hunger that they felt. The foreign workers who leave their hometowns to find work here have the same hunger; they seek success because that is the only way to survive d. not all who came to old Singapore achieved economic success. There were many who left broken-hearted and there were those who found success and then moved on to greener pastures. In much the same way, of the whole lot of foreigners who come here today, there will be some who will stay and become citizens while others will leave once they have built up the resources that they require Given the above, I would think it is not totally inappropriate to compare the past to the present. Granted, the strategy of having the influx of foreign workers help the economic growth of our country has not come to fruition yet and therefore we do not know if this strategy will reap the same success as the policies of yesteryear. If it bears fruit then twenty years down the road, we will look back and praise the policy-makers of today. If it does not, then many will hurl verbal abuse at them (perhaps a hundred-fold of what we see today). Again, nice 'airy' words that are detached from reality. The fact is everyone is self centered. Who is wingly to pay more than he/she needs to... who is willing to accept less than he/she needs to too? I too can can see the hunger you want to ensure a suppy of cheap(er) labour for the benefit of your own wealth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 This is the ground sentiments. I know because I have the privilege to work with these so-called foreign talents. Although there are a few which are really good at their work, but by and large, we do see a lack in QC in the FT selection process. Maybe it's because of the fact that most of them are not talents in the first place... just cheaper. That or the hiring manager comes from the same hometown. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 (edited) "Again, nice 'airy' words that are detached from reality. The fact is everyone is self centered. Who is wingly to pay more than he/she needs to... who is willing to accept less than he/she needs to too? I too can can see the hunger you want to ensure a suppy of cheap(er) labour for the benefit of your own wealth" Bingo. And this is what the 60.1% is all about. Edited May 24, 2011 by Tonyng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 Maybe it's because of the fact that most of them are not talents in the first place... just cheaper. That or the hiring manager comes from the same hometown. Seriously, the really good ones would have been admitted into the US from their home countries directly. Many of the ones that came here are the 3rd-tiers, who still hope to transit to US finally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 This is the ground sentiments. I know because I have the privilege to work with these so-called foreign talents. Although there are a few which are really good at their work, but by and large, we do see a lack in QC in the FT selection process. Ended up, our local guys have to wipe the mess they created after they packed up and left. that's y in my present company, i don't get FT engineers or Technicians. Lucky my ang mo tao kay and local MD agree with me, they detest pinoys most. They classify them as Oscar actors... If i really want to lower my cost, i will rather get a fresh grad..but nowadays youngsters like to job hop. Worse case i still can get Malaysians.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 that's y in my present company, i don't get FT engineers or Technicians. Lucky my ang mo tao kay and local MD agree with me, they detest pinoys most. They classify them as Oscar actors... If i really want to lower my cost, i will rather get a fresh grad..but nowadays youngsters like to job hop. Worse case i still can get Malaysians.... I agree Malaysians are the best among the FTs. They have my utmost respect. Koreans are good too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 that's y in my present company, i don't get FT engineers or Technicians. Lucky my ang mo tao kay and local MD agree with me, they detest pinoys most. They classify them as Oscar actors... If i really want to lower my cost, i will rather get a fresh grad..but nowadays youngsters like to job hop. Worse case i still can get Malaysians.... *sigh*... the trademarks of the GenY... why why why???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 *sigh*... the trademarks of the GenY... why why why???? One took a the job offer say start work on Tuesday, come tuesday never come, no call nothing. Call him he still got the cheek to say he found a better pay job. One work for 2 days, tender say too far from his place. Lucky i got a slightly older one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 Damn, & I thought I was the only one that feel this way. Count me as another one then. We have many people here who have opinions but cannot back up with experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 The anger and frustration that you feel cloud your mind and until you clear that, it will not be possible for you to see how you can break the vicious cycle that you are presently in. Lament and complain about the environment, the government and everything else but these do not help you at all in your daily living and you know that. Everyone of us has a choice. Personally, I would spend time and effort to improve myself than to look for scapegoats and punching bags. Seriously dude. To you and all your kind who think that people that brings up genuine concerns and issues are losers and have some personal failures in their lives. I just want to have you know that all within my circles of friends are particularly very successful and happy in life. We happen to possess critical thinking and are not apathetic to others around us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 24, 2011 Share May 24, 2011 Gotta give it you guys, running round the bush with him. He's probably more than qualified to be lim swee say's scriptwriter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmOm 5th Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 There is only one reason why I am making any posts here and that is to just share alternative viewpoints, not to put anyone down. If the individual is not willing to acknowledge and refuses to accept that he has the power to make a change to his own life, then there is nothing anyone else can do. It is as simple as that. Your destiny lies in your own hands, not in the hands of the government or your peers. You can blame everyone else until the cow comes home and that will only make yourself angrier and more frustrated each passing day. In any case, many are probably unhappy with what I have stated and thus it is pointless for me to continue sharing my thoughts. If I have angered you with my viewpoints, I hope you will accept my deepest apologies, that was not my intention when I decided to write in this forum. All the best in your journey! Seriously dude. To you and all your kind who think that people that brings up genuine concerns and issues are losers and have some personal failures in their lives. I just want to have you know that all within my circles of friends are particularly very successful and happy in life. We happen to possess critical thinking and are not apathetic to others around us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pufferfish1 Clutched May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 my mind has been smoke, clouded and blanket by p8p for a long time, it is with the power of the internet that help open up my eyes to see the real picture Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Seriously,pple keep saying FTS took our job.Look around and ask how many of ur frens are unemploy? If locals keep asking for high salaries,the company will not be able to keep the selling price low in order to maintain the overhead.Prices will go up then consumer will start to complain.I'm not against FTs coming here.I'm more concern is the govt lax rules for them to buy the flats. I'm with you on this. Don't need to increase subsidies (since the gahmen so stingy about this). just tax the bloody FTs who are trying to compete for HDB. the extra $$ goes to our GAHMEN coffers. i really don't mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 The list shows "sales representatives" as highest in the demand list. I hope they are not referring to those telemarketeers employed to hard sell credit cards or insurance. I have been receiving too many telephone calls from callers with foreign accents trying to sell me those items. If FTs fall in this category, they may not be exactly needed. don't waste your time with a polite rejection. just hang up! so far I have been trying to be civil with them. usually am done in at most 5 seconds. takes me that long to tell them "sorry not interested" then press the red button Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 There is only one reason why I am making any posts here and that is to just share alternative viewpoints, not to put anyone down. If the individual is not willing to acknowledge and refuses to accept that he has the power to make a change to his own life, then there is nothing anyone else can do. It is as simple as that. Your destiny lies in your own hands, not in the hands of the government or your peers. You can blame everyone else until the cow comes home and that will only make yourself angrier and more frustrated each passing day. In any case, many are probably unhappy with what I have stated and thus it is pointless for me to continue sharing my thoughts. If I have angered you with my viewpoints, I hope you will accept my deepest apologies, that was not my intention when I decided to write in this forum. All the best in your journey! There you go again. Don't worry dude I'm not angry but I do feel sad how clueless you still are. It's perfectly fine if you want to share your viewpoints and engage in mature discussions. This is after all an open forum. But if you want others to take your opinions seriously you need to stop that condescending attitude and stop patronizing and putting down others with different opinions. Until you learn to do that all I have to say to you is this : OmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOmOm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 So this is what OmOm supporting? To have more foreigner here so that it is more competitive and drive up our economy? And if our own kind can't find/loose out the job is because we are not working hard/ capable enough? In such scenario, we will end up hunger to death (if one is stubborn enough on insisting to get the right job without looking for other alternative like your friend) before we will be able to see the growth of Singapore. End of the day, influx of foreigner is benefiting to the minority of the rich or majority of the poor? as much as i agree that we need to control the influx, OmOm has a point. at the end of the day, we need to fight it out for ourselves whether got FT or not. currently, the playing field is skewed against us, but we gotta grit our teeth and move on after we've said our piece. by all means, keep your options open, which includes going overseas to be FT. i am considering that btw. no point complaining so much, just do it. but doesn't mean it will be a bed of roses anywhere in the world. gotta work harder than the rest if u wanna get ahead. put in same effort will just be avg lor.. and it seems like the avg person here is struggling ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...