What is cheapest passenger car with auto gear & ABS

Atrecord

Ah! Signal on the right or left also got difference meh? But that's a very small problem to get around if only you're willing. Get used to it within a few hours of driving! If FC is the main concern then I can understand. Still, it'll be your car ultimately, so the choice is yours. Happy Shopping! [cool]

hey. when u free again? haha

Hi there,

I'm a self employed person running a school stall. Would like to own a car. But not sure if I should get a "kangoo" or a normal plate cars. I dont declare my tax cause running a school stall is already quite low with school holidays and all that. Would like to ask for anybody help if I would like to buy a "kangoo" that is within my budget of less than 10K per month. Do I need to pay tax? And if I dont, how do i buy them than? And can I still get a car that is less than 10K for my daily use of buying of my school stall stocks??

Anyone, can pls help me??

drop the idea with the D65 kangoo , how cheap it may be but the cost of its constant failing parts repair will enable u to buy a decent new car for a 10 yr loan.

the volkswagen caddy 1.9 , turtle shell type is better cheaper too , but no side door. , parts is not that ex, as it is still on euro 2 engine , able to last u quite a bit , but if u looking for comfort and noiseless, u can drop that , as well , those GN plates pickup will be a better choice , but u have around 2 to 3 yrs left before u have to scrape , no chance of renewing , theres the problem of the expensive roadtax as well , (doublecab) , and the half yearly inspection fee of 80+++

In my opinion, the w124 is a good car and if the COE dips to a price i'm comfortable with, i'll renew the COE and give it a fresh coat of paint.

What i kinda dislike about the w124 is trying to upgrade the sound system while keeping it stock looking

I can only put 4-5.25 inch speakers in the dash and the rear deck.

I heard from some ICE installers that some 4" speakers can be quite good.

You can install 6*9 speakers on the rear parcel, but IMO that is not a good idea because:

i) we don't want to rear to overpower the front speakers

ii) we don't want our rear passengers to suffer while the driver enjoys the music

Got lah... thanks for the comments.

Not really considering these old conti cars, as prefer the signal-on-the-right side type of cars leh...

The Merc W124 signal stalk is on the right side, dude :D

Hi Fastfive. When i bought the car, e odo said 180 000km. after 18 yrs n 2 owners i highly doubted that. Did some researching n checked with some workshops (had to do small jobs with them) n found out that my car had been serviced 2 months prior to my purchasing it. mileage then was 380 000 km. my odo now reads

301 435 km. going to my wshop to have it tuned to the 501 000 km soon. Anyway, yes there is a growl. i usually put it to s mode n floor it. when the pedal hits the floor, you'll feel a small button at the bottom. press harder and it activates the kickdown. apparrently opens the valves more wider or something as one mech told me. i didnt know that. my understanding was that it was just used to kickdown to the lowest gear available. anyway, nice to do that when there is a clear stretch of road in front n u r first at the lights. 9 times out of 10, the rest would be biting your dust n wondering where the 20 yr old dame is off to in such a hurry.

Another bro mentioned that many w124 owners complain of slow pickup. well, starting off in second gear does dampen the progress somewhat but it still moves off pretty quickly if u want it to. the thing about old mercs is that u have to really stomp down on the gas of u want it to move fast. most importantly, tuning n timing adjustments r very impt. mine used to be really sluggish n consumed lots of fuel at normal speeds. tuned up the engine (air fuel mixture via a small allen key being inserted to the top of the 8v airfilter cover) and the engine timing. also changed distributor cap n rotor (abt $35 i think from stockist) n voila. the car felt much better. These cars r really designed to last long so its good. my opinion. to me, i need a car that can handle my 600-700 km weekly journeys, my trips up north to cameron highlands, Ipoh, Malacca.... n still be able to function with minimal maintenance. run at abt 90 - 110 on sg expressways most of the time as well so its not as if the car is only suited for the elderly gentleman. roadholding also good. have taken expressway bends at 110 while overtaking n the car is firmly planted on the grounds. I hope i dont sound like i am bragging too much but honestly, i bought the car at $16000 with a new 10 yr coe back in 09 when i sold my first w124 facelifted version. Most bang for the buck in my opinion. Even now, tis price is still quite low comparatively. thats y i dare to recommend it.

P.S. I dont recommend speeding on the roads or overtaking on bends at illegal speeds. just wanted to highlight the capabilities of a true luxury workhorse that has become very underrated in our 'new is better' society. Hope i dont offend anyone.

Well from what i know, i believe my car is of the original mileage because of the servicing sticker on my windscreen. Well that's not really a good gauge but ah what the hell i'll just take it to be true since the car is running fine. Yup i agree. If it's in S the response is way better. Yeah i like flooring it whenever i'm the first at the lights but i don't do it too often if not the FC will increase.

Yeah i agree about the stomping down bit. After all the parts i've replaced, i can say the car is like new, of course what needs work now is the body. Don't worry i know you ain't bragging because i have experienced it myself.

That's the same reason why i recommended it in the first place.

Bro, with no offence to you whatsoever, I ask that you look at the ad and the pictures again. Why is the dealer dishonest? My reasons below.

1. Red plate covered by their own dealer name plate, unfortunately they didn't cover it up well. If it can be removed, why didn't they remove it? Rather obvious reasons don't you think?

2. Cheapest price compared to the other ads that you have posted, and the balance COE is also the longest, till 2019. What does this information tell you? Considering that the rest are really normal plate cars, isn't it rather obvious, or rather confirms that my deduction based on point 1 is correct?

3. I have seen COE cars on OPC scheme before, so this is really not the first I've seen before. Why would anyone put it on OPC scheme you may ask? Well I suppose it's because they don't drive it often?

None taken. My bad. I didn't know that COE cars can be put on a OPC scheme.

I heard from some ICE installers that some 4" speakers can be quite good.

You can install 6*9 speakers on the rear parcel, but IMO that is not a good idea because:

i) we don't want to rear to overpower the front speakers

ii) we don't want our rear passengers to suffer while the driver enjoys the music

The Merc W124 signal stalk is on the right side, dude :D

Haha i swapped the front and rear for 4" rockford fosgates. Sound is phenomenal!

Didn't want to cut the parcel shelf. if i did the headrest wouldn't be able to go down and when the head rest are up the rear would look kinda funny.

Hmm you've driven the W124 before i suppose?

None taken. My bad. I didn't know that COE cars can be put on a OPC scheme.

Well, it can be done.. probably the ex-owner of this Merc has a less valuable daily transport that's why he placed it under OPC scheme.

How about a proton waja ? easy to find spare parts , i have a friend who owns one and wan to less go! Are you interested ?

proton... does it have ABS?

and what is the price (and depreciation) for the car, would you know?

tks.

GIVE THE chance to own a GOOD OLD MERC E200-16v W124 , 4 dr , ABS , AUTO , a real masterpiece of its ERA ....

very solid , very reliable , very cheap spares and low maintaince and high in prestige ......

This is the longest surviving model ( 1985 till 1996 ) ............

i personally hv owned since (1986 , 1993 and 1995 masterpiece models )

very good family car ....

Road tax heavy but its buying price is cheap ! even cheaper than a chery !! [thumbsup]

I did consider getting one of this but my brother told me that although the initial car price outlay is very cheap, the fuel consumption is terrible.

Not worth getting it unless willing to pay for the petrol.

How about a proton waja ? easy to find spare parts , i have a friend who owns one and wan to less go! Are you interested ?

Proton Waja? Don't sabo TS lah... Ask any Malaysian colleague his/her opinion on Waja and chances are he/she will ask you to avoid buying it.

Haha i swapped the front and rear for 4" rockford fosgates. Sound is phenomenal!

Didn't want to cut the parcel shelf. if i did the headrest wouldn't be able to go down and when the head rest are up the rear would look kinda funny.

Hmm you've driven the W124 before i suppose?

Dude, mind telling me your speaker model and the cost?

Proton Waja? Don't sabo TS lah... Ask any Malaysian colleague his/her opinion on Waja and chances are he/she will ask you to avoid buying it.

So it is that bad huh... thanks for the warning.

i've no idea about waja, but exactly 10 yr ago i had a colleague who couldn't wait to sell off his proton wira just as it reached 3 yr and exceeded the warranty period. till this day, i remember how he (an extremely mild and nice person) belittled the car - which had spoilt power window, broken side mirror, loose bumper, and dunno what other incredible problems...

if thats the case, why do they still buy waja?