Fastfive1 5th Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 Yes a lot of people going for conti these days cos euro cheap cheap but when it comes to servicing....$$$ keching keching... Haha depends on which conti car you're referring to. servicing is inevitable. if one can't live with that then maybe one shouldn't get a car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 Haha i forgot about that. Agree. Some people are narrow minded and tend to follow stereotypes. Perhaps TS is under the impression that maintenance is gonna be a killer cos most conti cars are like that. Well the new ones at least. Well then, he's ain't reading the replies in this thread! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 Haha depends on which conti car you're referring to. servicing is inevitable. if one can't live with that then maybe one shouldn't get a car. can find la....there is alot....best if you ask the seller or dealer the previous workshop that handled the car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 Yes a lot of people going for conti these days cos euro cheap cheap but when it comes to servicing....$$$ keching keching... yes conti cars are slightly cheaper now....but not really when it comes to servicing....as in it is possible to find a good price for servicing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 Hmm have you driven a W124 to know what the pick up is like? Well i don't think it's snail like in fact it's quite good. Snail like would be a picanto or a china made car. Now those i have test driven to know what its like If I remember correctly, your is supposed to be the 8V model? I'm glad that you find your pickup good, although IMO you are among the minority of owners who think their cars have good pick-up from standstill. Did you mod the car to start in first gear? In any case, power is subjective and as long as you find it good, why not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 COE cars are the cheapest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 (edited) just get esi vtec esi vtec also got auto trans yr depreciation will be close to nothing there are no esi autos now...jus wait for an owner to release an auto version.... Edited May 22, 2011 by Ithunk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 WoW! That's really incredible mate! Makes me wanna consider the 190E Cosworth, any feedback on this one? Don't think it'll be cheap to maintain lor, but I love the lines on this car too! Parts for my car are really difficult to find even in Malaysia. Toured the chop-shops of Klang without even finding a single part for my car. They have been mostly been put up on internet sites in order to obtain a higher price. Nope, no turbo. Individual Throttle Bodies, 4 of 'em, no filter. Hence the need to chage oil at frequent intervals. But I don't use synthetic oil. Semi-syn, or even mineral oil is good enough for me. Haha that's out of my league. I think it's rare in SG. The car is very similar to the w124 but there are some differences like the dash and the handbrake. Haha maintenance i can't say for sure because i don't know much about that car. Serious? Well that's the price one pays when one lives in SG. Just curious, do they have the parts in japan and in the US? Haha no wonder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 If I remember correctly, your is supposed to be the 8V model? I'm glad that you find your pickup good, although IMO you are among the minority of owners who think their cars have good pick-up from standstill. Did you mod the car to start in first gear? In any case, power is subjective and as long as you find it good, why not? Nope dude mine's a 16v. The 8v one is less perky that i got to admit. test drove a few before getting the 16v one. Nope i believe it'll start in 1st gear if i set it to Standard. If i set it to Economy it'll start in second gear. I can go full throttle in 1st gear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 (edited) In my opinion, the w124 is a good car and if the COE dips to a price i'm comfortable with, i'll renew the COE and give it a fresh coat of paint. What i kinda dislike about the w124 is trying to upgrade the sound system while keeping it stock looking I can only put 4-5.25 inch speakers in the dash and the rear deck. Edited May 22, 2011 by Fastfive1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_w124 Neutral Newbie May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 Wow!!!501000km??? Mine's still at 280+k km. Well then again i'm the third owner and the car has been very well taken care off other then a minor accident that happened at the rear (which i didn't notice till i took a close look at the boot lid) the chassis is straight and the engine is running well. Hmm didn't know the ecu would cost 1.5k. I have yet to replace mine. Redlining every week is what i do too. Just curious does yours make a growl similar to a lion when you go full throttle from a stand still(for eg when you're the first at the stop line)? Hi Fastfive. When i bought the car, e odo said 180 000km. after 18 yrs n 2 owners i highly doubted that. Did some researching n checked with some workshops (had to do small jobs with them) n found out that my car had been serviced 2 months prior to my purchasing it. mileage then was 380 000 km. my odo now reads 301 435 km. going to my wshop to have it tuned to the 501 000 km soon. Anyway, yes there is a growl. i usually put it to s mode n floor it. when the pedal hits the floor, you'll feel a small button at the bottom. press harder and it activates the kickdown. apparrently opens the valves more wider or something as one mech told me. i didnt know that. my understanding was that it was just used to kickdown to the lowest gear available. anyway, nice to do that when there is a clear stretch of road in front n u r first at the lights. 9 times out of 10, the rest would be biting your dust n wondering where the 20 yr old dame is off to in such a hurry. Another bro mentioned that many w124 owners complain of slow pickup. well, starting off in second gear does dampen the progress somewhat but it still moves off pretty quickly if u want it to. the thing about old mercs is that u have to really stomp down on the gas of u want it to move fast. most importantly, tuning n timing adjustments r very impt. mine used to be really sluggish n consumed lots of fuel at normal speeds. tuned up the engine (air fuel mixture via a small allen key being inserted to the top of the 8v airfilter cover) and the engine timing. also changed distributor cap n rotor (abt $35 i think from stockist) n voila. the car felt much better. These cars r really designed to last long so its good. my opinion. to me, i need a car that can handle my 600-700 km weekly journeys, my trips up north to cameron highlands, Ipoh, Malacca.... n still be able to function with minimal maintenance. run at abt 90 - 110 on sg expressways most of the time as well so its not as if the car is only suited for the elderly gentleman. roadholding also good. have taken expressway bends at 110 while overtaking n the car is firmly planted on the grounds. I hope i dont sound like i am bragging too much but honestly, i bought the car at $16000 with a new 10 yr coe back in 09 when i sold my first w124 facelifted version. Most bang for the buck in my opinion. Even now, tis price is still quite low comparatively. thats y i dare to recommend it. P.S. I dont recommend speeding on the roads or overtaking on bends at illegal speeds. just wanted to highlight the capabilities of a true luxury workhorse that has become very underrated in our 'new is better' society. Hope i dont offend anyone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 This dealer is dishonest.. it's obvious that the car is an OPC and it's not declared in the ad. nice one!!! saw the red plate too. cb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing...d.y=6&AVL=2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikkei121 Neutral Newbie May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 your suggestion for AVEO 5 is quite good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 22, 2011 Author Share May 22, 2011 Well then, he's ain't reading the replies in this thread! Got lah... thanks for the comments. Not really considering these old conti cars, as prefer the signal-on-the-right side type of cars leh... Just found out other possible choices, like kia rio, hyundai getz... hope can find a good deal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged May 23, 2011 Share May 23, 2011 Hmm don't think it is. Sure there's a red thingy at the back of the dealer's plate but who would put a 20yr old merc on OPC scheme? Bro, with no offence to you whatsoever, I ask that you look at the ad and the pictures again. Why is the dealer dishonest? My reasons below. 1. Red plate covered by their own dealer name plate, unfortunately they didn't cover it up well. If it can be removed, why didn't they remove it? Rather obvious reasons don't you think? 2. Cheapest price compared to the other ads that you have posted, and the balance COE is also the longest, till 2019. What does this information tell you? Considering that the rest are really normal plate cars, isn't it rather obvious, or rather confirms that my deduction based on point 1 is correct? 3. I have seen COE cars on OPC scheme before, so this is really not the first I've seen before. Why would anyone put it on OPC scheme you may ask? Well I suppose it's because they don't drive it often? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear May 23, 2011 Share May 23, 2011 Haha that's out of my league. I think it's rare in SG. The car is very similar to the w124 but there are some differences like the dash and the handbrake. Haha maintenance i can't say for sure because i don't know much about that car. Serious? Well that's the price one pays when one lives in SG. Just curious, do they have the parts in japan and in the US? Haha no wonder. Saw it once a long time ago on sgcarmart. Then saw it being restored on the Discovery Channel programme Wheeler Dealers. It's such a sleeper car! Love it! Japan & US got parts, but one kind of expensive and that's not counting shipping charges. Imagine the cost of shipping like a rear bumper in from the US... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear May 23, 2011 Share May 23, 2011 Got lah... thanks for the comments. Not really considering these old conti cars, as prefer the signal-on-the-right side type of cars leh... Just found out other possible choices, like kia rio, hyundai getz... hope can find a good deal. Ah! Signal on the right or left also got difference meh? But that's a very small problem to get around if only you're willing. Get used to it within a few hours of driving! If FC is the main concern then I can understand. Still, it'll be your car ultimately, so the choice is yours. Happy Shopping! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...