What is cheapest passenger car with auto gear & ABS

Atrecord

Really? Getz got ABS? i tot it's same range as picanto, which i was told doesn't have ABS...

Is the FC good for this, do you know?

Am looking for cheap choice here leh... so the typical mid-size saloons (while are good cars) are above my expectation/requirements.

tks...

yup getz has ABS. only 1.6 i think

Hi there,

I'm a self employed person running a school stall. Would like to own a car. But not sure if I should get a "kangoo" or a normal plate cars. I dont declare my tax cause running a school stall is already quite low with school holidays and all that. Would like to ask for anybody help if I would like to buy a "kangoo" that is within my budget of less than 10K per month. Do I need to pay tax? And if I dont, how do i buy them than? And can I still get a car that is less than 10K for my daily use of buying of my school stall stocks??

Anyone, can pls help me??

Your monthly budget surpasses my monthly pay.

I feel so sad. [:(]

This dealer is dishonest.. it's obvious that the car is an OPC and it's not declared in the ad.

Hmm don't think it is. Sure there's a red thingy at the back of the dealer's plate but who would put a 20yr old merc on OPC scheme?

Hi. thought i'd put in my 2 cents worth since i've been driving a w124 for abt 4 yrs now. mileage abt 501000 km. good car. low maintenance. did a bit of work up front to get the car in running condition. cant remember all.

recon gearbox - 1.5k

radiator - 189

all radiator n oil hoses - 150

icm (works like ecu for the pre 93 cars) - 55

would like to comment abt the 16v engine's power vs the 8v (86 - 92). 16v has a bit more power for pick up but on the drive i feel that they more or less even out. 16v slightly more costly to maintain (1.5k for ecu vs $55 for 8v). also, 8v easier to tune and adjust timing n all that. do some googling around. i read up for abt 1.5 yrs before buying the w124, my first car. no regrets. can still hit 195kmh on NSHW n i still redline the engine once a week just for the fun of it.

consumption: i'm getting abt 8.3 i think (500km to 60l of petrol) frinds getting abt 600 to 670 km per 60l. think their right foot is lighter than mine. overall a pretty good car. like wat one of the bros here said, buy the parts n get the mech to change for you. many stockists in sg: tye soon, goldenlink etc etc. Just google n u can find out.

Nope it's super easy. Sometimes easier than japanese cars. There many of them on the road because parts are easy to find and most of the parts don't break down that easily. I thought it'd be hard to find parts and the parts would be costly, but it isn't. There is a reason to this, the parts have been mass produced due to the large number of W124s around the world. By the way i managed to go without changing the engine oil on this car for nearly 40k km. 27 year old toyota? are you the one who owns the AE86? Well i thought that parts for it would be relatively easy to find and the parts which your car is using is similar to the other toyotas around. Talking about parts being interchangeable, this applies very much to the W124 hence its easy maintenance.

Haha! It really is counter-intuitive isn't it?! Who would've thought that parts for my car would, in time to come, be more scarce and expensive than parts for a Merc?! Well, as far as aftermarket performance parts goes, yes can find quite easily though not cheap by any streach of the imagination! It's the original body/chassis parts which are really really hard to find.

40k no need change engine oil?!? Jeez, I need to top-up every 1L every month, and change it every 5k or so! [sweatdrop]

Well i think the only thing that will make these conti cars more expensive in the long run is the FC but if one were to consider safety, then conti cars are the way to go. Both of the conti cars you've listed have disc brakes whereas the hyundai and the nissan have drum brakes.

Agreed. Perhaps road tax also a bit more per year lah. But for the comfort & safety of your family, think it's a good compromise. Unfortunately, TS doesn't quite see himself as "fit" to drive a conti for some strange reason [confused]

I think GLX currently is cheapest, excluding OPC ... i looking for 1 GLX as well... conti maint. too ex... sigh..

My current ride is actually an atos, and the depreciation (when I got it ~3 yr ago) was marginally below $2000 per year (it's one of those $101 coe batch). i know it's impossible to get such depreciation now, but am hoping to keep it to around $4000 per year. Only cars more than 6 yr old will have such rate, i reckon. ok even if it's only abt 2 yr left. Hopefully by then coe will drop and we'll not face such crazy prices anymore.

My opinion on the Merc W124.

It's an old car and old cars are not for everyone. You need passion to own the W124. How much are you prepared to spend to do up the car when you first get it? Are you prepared to visit the workshop when minor problems crop up? You will also need to monitor the radiator temperature closely and be aware of any leakages.

If you are the buy and drive type of guy, please don't get the W124 because the car is old and needs more care and concern. Even a super fit Olympian will become sickly and need more attention when he/she reaches 80 years old, compared to a 25-year-old non-athlete. Taking care of the car means frequent reading up on the car (plenty of reading material and online forums in the net) so that you know what to look out for when owning the car.

Are you prepared to go buy yourself the spare parts and visit the mechanic to have him replace the parts? If you do, then you will save a bundle. If not, you could be paying sky high bills. For example, a Bosch spark plug for the W124 costs $2 at the stockist, but you can be charged $9 per plug at the workshop. If you get your parts here and have them changed in JB, you will lower the servicing cost even further.

Are you prepared to accept 7 to 9 km/L of FC?

Are you prepared to pay close to $2k for road tax, and close to $1k for a 3rd party insurance coverage?

Are you prepared for a snail-like pick-up from standstill?

If you are willing to accept all these "disadvantages", then by all means and go buy the W124. You will - to quote someone - be rewarded with the feeling of driving one of the best cars ever engineered by Mercedes-Benz, and wonder why you bothered with driving more expensive Japanese cars and denied yourself the driving pleasure every driver ought to feel.

It's an old car and old cars are not for everyone. You need passion to own the W124. How much are you prepared to spend to do up the car when you first get it? Are you prepared to visit the workshop when minor problems crop up? You will also need to monitor the radiator temperature closely and be aware of any leakages.

If you are the buy and drive type of guy, please don't get the W124 because the car is old and needs more care and concern. Even a super fit Olympian will become sickly and need more attention when he/she reaches 80 years old, compared to a 25-year-old non-athlete. Taking care of the car means frequent reading up on the car (plenty of reading material and online forums in the net) so that you know what to look out for when owning the car.

Are you prepared to go buy yourself the spare parts and visit the mechanic to have him replace the parts? If you do, then you will save a bundle. If not, you could be paying sky high bills. For example, a Bosch spark plug for the W124 costs $2 at the stockist, but you can be charged $9 per plug at the workshop. If you get your parts here and have them changed in JB, you will lower the servicing cost even further.

Are you prepared to pay close to $2k for road tax, and close to $1k for a 3rd party insurance coverage?

If you are willing to accept all these "disadvantages", then by all means and go buy the W124. You will - to quote someone - be rewarded with the feeling of driving one of the best cars ever engineered by Mercedes-Benz, and wonder why you bothered with driving more expensive Japanese cars and denied yourself the driving pleasure every driver ought to feel.

jus loled at this mercedes benz is a good car with a rich tradition....but yeah some mercedes antique cars are timeless....

this is a 1958 mercedes and it can run up to a million dollars

harolds-1958-mercedes-190sl_orig_900_600.jpg

another one a 1934 mercedes benz

cimg1472.JPG

so new is not everything....in the US old cars cost more...

but singapore the economics of the car market is the other way round

My current ride is actually an atos, and the depreciation (when I got it ~3 yr ago) was marginally below $2000 per year (it's one of those $101 coe batch). i know it's impossible to get such depreciation now, but am hoping to keep it to around $4000 per year. Only cars more than 6 yr old will have such rate, i reckon. ok even if it's only abt 2 yr left. Hopefully by then coe will drop and we'll not face such crazy prices anymore.

101 coe batch is a steal man

Hi. thought i'd put in my 2 cents worth since i've been driving a w124 for abt 4 yrs now. mileage abt 501000 km. good car. low maintenance. did a bit of work up front to get the car in running condition. cant remember all.

recon gearbox - 1.5k

radiator - 189

all radiator n oil hoses - 150

icm (works like ecu for the pre 93 cars) - 55

would like to comment abt the 16v engine's power vs the 8v (86 - 92). 16v has a bit more power for pick up but on the drive i feel that they more or less even out. 16v slightly more costly to maintain (1.5k for ecu vs $55 for 8v). also, 8v easier to tune and adjust timing n all that. do some googling around. i read up for abt 1.5 yrs before buying the w124, my first car. no regrets. can still hit 195kmh on NSHW n i still redline the engine once a week just for the fun of it.

consumption: i'm getting abt 8.3 i think (500km to 60l of petrol) frinds getting abt 600 to 670 km per 60l. think their right foot is lighter than mine. overall a pretty good car. like wat one of the bros here said, buy the parts n get the mech to change for you. many stockists in sg: tye soon, goldenlink etc etc. Just google n u can find out.

Wow!!!501000km??? Mine's still at 280+k km. Well then again i'm the third owner and the car has been very well taken care off other then a minor accident that happened at the rear (which i didn't notice till i took a close look at the boot lid) the chassis is straight and the engine is running well.

Hmm didn't know the ecu would cost 1.5k. I have yet to replace mine. Redlining every week is what i do too. Just curious does yours make a growl similar to a lion when you go full throttle from a stand still(for eg when you're the first at the stop line)?

Haha! It really is counter-intuitive isn't it?! Who would've thought that parts for my car would, in time to come, be more scarce and expensive than parts for a Merc?! Well, as far as aftermarket performance parts goes, yes can find quite easily though not cheap by any streach of the imagination! It's the original body/chassis parts which are really really hard to find.

40k no need change engine oil?!? Jeez, I need to top-up every 1L every month, and change it every 5k or so! [sweatdrop]

Yup! Well i don't think are that many AE86s in singapore as compared to the W124. So stockies don't see the need to bring in parts or stock up on parts because demand is low. That being said, the fact that the car is rare makes it iconic in comparison to mine. Haha I'm guessing you'd have to go to malaysia to get parts? or do you get some parts fabricated?

Yup you'd be surprised, when it was at 40k, the engine oil was still quite clean. I decided to get it changed because i was going to get the car serviced before my car was due for inspection. If not for the inspection, i would not have changed it at 40k. Was aiming for 50k. Every 5k? you running a turbo? I thought NA cars would be every 20k?

Yup! Well i don't think are that many AE86s in singapore as compared to the W124. So stockies don't see the need to bring in parts or stock up on parts because demand is low. That being said, the fact that the car is rare makes it iconic in comparison to mine. Haha I'm guessing you'd have to go to malaysia to get parts? or do you get some parts fabricated?

Yup you'd be surprised, when it was at 40k, the engine oil was still quite clean. I decided to get it changed because i was going to get the car serviced before my car was due for inspection. If not for the inspection, i would not have changed it at 40k. Was aiming for 50k. Every 5k? you running a turbo? I thought NA cars would be every 20k?

WoW! That's really incredible mate! Makes me wanna consider the 190E Cosworth, any feedback on this one? Don't think it'll be cheap to maintain lor, but I love the lines on this car too!

Parts for my car are really difficult to find even in Malaysia. Toured the chop-shops of Klang without even finding a single part for my car. They have been mostly been put up on internet sites in order to obtain a higher price.

Nope, no turbo. Individual Throttle Bodies, 4 of 'em, no filter. Hence the need to chage oil at frequent intervals. But I don't use synthetic oil. Semi-syn, or even mineral oil is good enough for me.

I think GLX currently is cheapest, excluding OPC ... i looking for 1 GLX as well... conti maint. too ex... sigh..

Yes a lot of people going for conti these days cos euro cheap cheap but when it comes to servicing....$$$ keching keching... :ph34r:

Indeed it is an old car but right now we're talking about being on a budget. Being on a budget means that choices are limited. When choices are limited, one has to pick the most viable choice/option. Hence my suggestion of the W124. Well the car is pretty much buy and drive of course one would have to fork out a bit to repair certain things but such things are inevitable with second hand cars. I mean spending an additional 1-2k doing up your car shouldn't kill you? This is the cost of owning a car, new cars may still have to undergo repairs except they're covered by the warranty the car manufacturer gives. Your analogy is indeed true but there is a difference human body parts and internal organs are hard to replace or can't be replaced. Cars on the other hand can have their body panels and engine replaced making them look and run like new. In fact making an old car look and run like new may be much cheaper than getting a new car. Well a good driver would have read up quite a bit about the car so that they know the limits of the car they're driving.

7-9km/l, that's subjective to the way one drives.

2k for road tax and 1k for insurance, why not? It's still cheaper than getting a new car.

lets say you get the car with a coe of 10 years at 30k

road tax and insurance for the next 10 years will cost you 30k

The total you're paying for the car is 60k.

A new car with similar characteristics would cost you way more than 30k

Hmm have you driven a W124 to know what the pick up is like?

Well i don't think it's snail like in fact it's quite good.

Snail like would be a picanto or a china made car. Now those i have test driven to know what its like

I can't agree more with your last line except for the line about the disadvantages.

These supposed disadvantages are merely inevitable cost that one has to deal with when buying any car more than 10 years old or for that matter any second hand car.

Agreed. Perhaps road tax also a bit more per year lah. But for the comfort & safety of your family, think it's a good compromise. Unfortunately, TS doesn't quite see himself as "fit" to drive a conti for some strange reason [confused]

Haha i forgot about that. Agree.

Some people are narrow minded and tend to follow stereotypes. Perhaps TS is under the impression that maintenance is gonna be a killer cos most conti cars are like that. Well the new ones at least.