Tyre Pressure

Zheshi

Dear Forumer,

I using a R16/55/205 Tyres, the pressure that i always pump is around 240 PSI.

Is this on a Healthy side or too much PSI already?

Any forumer like to share their view?

  On 5/18/2011 at 5:33 PM, Zheshi said:

Dear Forumer,

240 PSI.??your tyres explode already.!

Dear Forumer,

Bro...240 psi...???? [bigcry]

Are you sure...double confirm??? [:/]

Times to read your car manual lah....

Normal pressure from 30 to 34 psi (207 to 234 kPa).

All depends on the drivers.. [bigcry]

Dear Forumer,

pumping 260KPA front, 250KPA rear.. using same tyre profile as you..

Me too.. Exactly same as u.. I believe depends on how soft or hard is the soft wall of ur tyre.. Certain tyre model are known to be soft, hence require higher tyre pressure to make it more stiff... I have been pumping 260KPA (Front) and 250KPA (Rear) for some time liao.. So far so gd.. Even wear and tear, good responsive, reasonable fuel consumption as well... So long as dun exceed the recommended tyre pressure printed on the tyre will do..

On 5/19/2011 at 2:39 AM, Piauster said:

I'm on 225 / 45 / R17. Anyone know whats the ideal tyre pressure?

215 kpa for my rear wheels and 210 kpa for the front. Mine car is rear wheel drive.

  On 5/19/2011 at 3:17 AM, Fishman said:

215 kpa for my rear wheels and 210 kpa for the front. Mine car is rear wheel drive.

215 and 210kpa? I see. I guess it's all personal preference on the ride quality you want.

Lancer cs3 - 225 x 60 x R15 - 220kpa for all tyres - drove 2005-2008.

Sonata - 225 x 45 x R17 - 250kpa for all tyres - drove 2008 until now.

Pump up once every 2-3 weeks.

Hrrrrrrr.........nothing unusual happen so far so should be ok tyre pressure bah. ^_^

different car, different weight, of course different air pressure..

Generally add 4psi to recommended psi when tire is warm after travelling for awhile

On 5/19/2011 at 4:19 AM, Cyberet said:

different car, different weight, of course different air pressure..

Generally add 4psi to recommended psi when tire is warm after travelling for awhile

ideal tyre pressure is not just the size

include the type of car /driving wheel /load/way of driving/type of tyre too.

generally range from 200kpa to 260kpa.

you can adjust the pressure to your preference .

loke if you need a little more comfort run lower but not too low like below 200kpa

if you want a little more grip higher also good for long distance high speed

Dear Forumer,

If you are kidding withh us, this is ticklish.

If you are serious, either this is a typo-error or you had misread the inflation pressure graduation. It should be 240Kpa, not PSI (many tire manufacturered for maximum inflation pressure of 300Kpa or 44PSI only).

Inflate to 240Kpa as per manufacturer's recommendation subject to your usage observation.

On 5/19/2011 at 6:01 AM, XenonWhite said:

I'm on 260kpa and even gone up to 280kpa for the past 4 years.. Genting and back. No bursting of tires as yet.

Slightly higher inflation pressure recommended to longer distance/higher driving speed. I am applying even higher infaltion pressure for hypermiling.