Ivan_06 5th Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 (edited) TS: you are very misleading... Edited May 16, 2011 by Ivan_06 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 To TS, in NUS_2.pdf, what i see is a semester result slip...it does not mean the poly overall result is 3A n 1B. We have to look at the cumulative GPA and compare with the GPA cutoff set by the uni. If i'm not wrong the GPA cutoff does change yearly, so if this year cannot try again next year? I think TS malu liaoz... In fact, if one's very good in poly.. Should be getting distinctions... As is not good enough! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 I got into Nus Arch course with AABB. It is not exactly about the grades per se. The cut off for arch course is actually not that high.. for arch course, the key is the aptitude course. i have straight A friends who failed on 3 tries as they just cant make the cut in the test. Even if some did marginally, there is a round of interview. so in that way, the entry requirement to this course is not as clear cut as other courses like engg or biz etc. most likely, her daughter failed the apptitude test... Its something like SAT... which she did not have the advantage of having good O levels, and A levels background. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 I felt sad for you. Well, that is our policy of Govt. I am saving $$$ to prepare to send my kid for overseas education in future... End of the day, I personally think priority should be given to local that meet a certain cut off point... If you ever talk to those China students on Singapore Govt scholarship, you will just be amazed on our Govt policy!!! these prc son&doter r hand picked from villages, no need to apply a-nus, pap must give free $$ to invite them over to a-nus after grad they slap clean butt & use pink ic to go take us&a pr,ur son&doters are just pieces of stepping stone for FTs not to mention NS & job loss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 TS, move on. Nth is fair. sorry for the harsh words, but that's the reality. enough of our locals being rejected and only to see foreginers taking up the spaces. chart the next move. can try appeal too, but i think, just move on. not the end of world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 next time ur wife go labor, fast fast do it in china & india, then pap will send moe to red carpet ur son&doters back + convert to pink ic + no army + free $$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 see properly.... one sem 3.9+ gpa... cumulative gpa 3.4+ nia far from the fantastic results portrayed by the letter writer . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Real scholars lai liao [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dojon 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 That time I got in with GPA 3.7 at least. My friend can't get in with 3.6 also. If your daughter wants to study for ambitions only and not really wanting to earn a living fast and state a claim in her society status then I think she should just try NUS and NTU etc... Otherwise, I think she will be better off studying in private uni or those that can give you the degree in the shorter time. They spend shorter time studying and yet will be paid around the same with you who study a longer time at a prestige uni. In my opinion it is not worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 one more thing hor... correct me if i'm wrong.... architects training damm long ( longer than docs) but pay seems to be very low.... i got friends grads liaoz starting pay is like 2k+nia... even after so many yrs only abt 4k? really or not? or they sian me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Real scholars lai liao [laugh] me is lao pei lao bu scholarship Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 (edited) one more thing hor... correct me if i'm wrong.... architects training damm long ( longer than docs) but pay seems to be very low.... i got friends grads liaoz starting pay is like 2k+nia... even after so many yrs only abt 4k? really or not? or they sian me? my friend in DSxx starting 3.2k iirc,life still not bad in private one bao sua bao hai..QS etc all bao ka liao..close to 3k starting..the real earning big $$ are the lao lao jiao...oversee whole projects one..1 deal easily millions..deal wif 1 project now, 16millions so i asked the project manager is it 10% for the architect,he said 15%..knn to reach that level..not sure how to..i tink more difficult than a PE Edited May 16, 2011 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 my friend in DSxx starting 3.2k iirc,life still not bad in private one bao sua bao hai..QS etc all bao ka liao..close to 3k starting..the real earning big $$ are the lao lao jiao...oversee whole projects one..1 deal easily millions..deal wif 1 project now, 16millions so i asked the project manager is it 10% for the architect,he said 15%..knn to reach that level..not sure how to..i tink more difficult than a PE oic... it's the kind of starting eating grass but later eat wagyu.... but how long in between? will everyone eventually reach there? or isit only some elite of the elite must win some competition etc then will reach? big diff.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 My daughrter cried when she received this unsuccessful letter from NUS sometimes this week. Its was always her dream the moment she took up this course in ITE 6 years ago. She put in alot of hard work and also TOP her ITE course with Merit of Ward for Outstanding Performance. The day when she told her lecturer of her results...he said " Go for your NUS" as if there is not a doubt that she will surely be admitted. Not too long ago..IIRC 2009 ..a guy wrote in Today Forum pertaining to his unsuccessful admission and found out that the Uni. base on a certain criteria of 'O' Level + Poly/JC weightage percentage to be qualify. Was this not a similar case to my daughter now? I would like to know if any forummers knew the CUT-OFF point for this course in NUS. Any feedback or suggestion will be very much appreciated. Must ask who you voted for the last few GEs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 My daughrter cried when she received this unsuccessful letter from NUS sometimes this week. Its was always her dream the moment she took up this course in ITE 6 years ago. She put in alot of hard work and also TOP her ITE course with Merit of Ward for Outstanding Performance. The day when she told her lecturer of her results...he said " Go for your NUS" as if there is not a doubt that she will surely be admitted. Not too long ago..IIRC 2009 ..a guy wrote in Today Forum pertaining to his unsuccessful admission and found out that the Uni. base on a certain criteria of 'O' Level + Poly/JC weightage percentage to be qualify. Was this not a similar case to my daughter now? I would like to know if any forummers knew the CUT-OFF point for this course in NUS. Any feedback or suggestion will be very much appreciated. http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/gradeprofile/sprogramme-igp.html be realistic. not everything is about the FTs. Even among locals, i'd find it hard for you to argue that she should be in this faculty. top of poly? that's an internal award. good for her. i was also top of my sec skool. but i went to lousy JC. it's tough, but let your daughter get stressed over it. it's your job to find solutions. the ppl here arent offering you one. lemme tell u, go overseas or forget it. im telling you cos i went overseas. there's minimal hope for her in that faculty in NUS. the sooner you guys face it the better. harsh, but sayang sayang isnt gonna get her a place. it's a life long decision. act fast. and if she's passionate, i wouldnt worry about it too much either... she's got 99% more than what an average NUS student has. I also know this cos i used to be an NUS student.... i quit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Ah Huat u da man. May u really huat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acerchan2002 Clutched May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 That's why alot work very hard but still cannot get a place...CCB, reserve for gei-leng-kia and ah tiongs. Last resort, jump down from building lor. I also thinking of jumping liao, private uni 30k. Where to find $... Local at least can use dad's CPF first. Not i don't wan to study, is goverment don't want me to study. PUI, CCB, I sibei angry ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ocean6576 4th Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 (edited) i'm in the marine line.. my cohorts of poly graduates got so many burmese/bangladeshi/chinese.. top 3 swiped out by that 3 nationalities.. all having MPA scholarship.. [:(] Marine line too, so many FTs..... Edited May 16, 2011 by Ocean6576 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...