Leisure drive-up [Jun'2011] Sim Koa Yen Durian Farm & Melaka

Opel17

Hi bro, one more thing.

Do we have to bring our own containers or do they have the styrofoam packing for us to bring back?

When we bought back takeaway durians, we took the whole durians unopen. SKY will provide plastic/paper bags. I can't recall whether anyone in our group pack the durians into styrofoam packing. Safer to bring your own boxes.

Personally I prefer to take unopen durians. The joy of opening the durians is different from opening styrofoam/tupperware boxes. And we were told that drinking salt water from the durian husks would help overcome the "heatiness".

Furthermore, if you inform the farm that you wanted to keep the durians [eg. 2 days], they will try to chose those durians that would turn up ok when you are ready to eat.

* remember to remove the durians from the bags when you reach home. We forgotten to remove the durians from the paper bag, and the durians turn up sourish/spoilt after 2 days.

* and try not to leave the durians under hot weather for far too long. That is the reason we arrange for durian buffet on the 2nd day.

Do you need advise how to open durians ?

I just wana join for durian on 26th.

Any slot for me and wifey??

Thanks for your interests.

We had waited for several days, and the "boarding gate" was closed after 1700hrs [26/5/2011].

Do stay tuned just in case more trips pop up, because the durians season is running into Jul'2011.

Have a nice weekend [:)]

This is concerning the RM5 management fees charged by SKY for visitors who do not eat/buy durians. In consideration of our group on 26/6/2011 [total 26A, 5C, 45kg], I had requested for a waiver of the RM5 management fees for the following members :

Turboflat - [1A, 1C] if your wife and kid wish, they can come to experience durian farms, without/cannot eat durians.

Good-Carbuyer - [1A] your non-durian eater friend, whom you bringing along, also enjoy this waiver.

Hermitage - [1A] instead of heading off for Singapore first, you are welcome to come along and stare at all the durian lovers.

This is a nice gesture from SKY.

Thanks for being so thoughtful and thorough in your organisation! [thumbsup] You beat the so-called pro-travel agents hands down!! [nod]

Will think it over. My problem runs deeper than just a simple dislike for durians. You see, I have an abject horror of ALL fruits & don't touch vegetables either! I probably need to see a shrink! Still, it'll be interesting to see the stuff being actually farmed...but I don't know...I don't know :ph34r:

What time do you think you folks will reach JB after the durian feast? Will you be having dinner first? If so, we can meet-up in JB to makan first before heading back to Singapore.

Thanks for being so thoughtful and thorough in your organisation! [thumbsup] You beat the so-called pro-travel agents hands down!! [nod]

Will think it over. My problem runs deeper than just a simple dislike for durians. You see, I have an abject horror of ALL fruits & don't touch vegetables either! I probably need to see a shrink! Still, it'll be interesting to see the stuff being actually farmed...but I don't know...I don't know :ph34r:

What time do you think you folks will reach JB after the durian feast? Will you be having dinner first? If so, we can meet-up in JB to makan first before heading back to Singapore.

The support and interests for this trip from everyone is so heartwarming. Certainly I would have to try my best. Just hope that this trip would be enjoyable for all.

It is normal for everyone to have their individual likes/dislikes. Do let us know anytime you feel like joining us to the durian farm.

* in case you are not joining us, you may wish to sleep in for a few more hours, and check-out later. Have your lunch in Melaka.

* then you can hook-up with us at the Ayer Keroh Tolls/NSH R&R.

I think the durian feast would finish around 1200-1300hrs. Estimated to reach Bukit Indah Jusco 1600hrs for shopping/dinner. Should leave for SG about 1900hrs via 2nd Link.

* I think some of us will return to SG via Woodlands, and some via 2nd Link. Maybe have a drinks/kopi at the NSH R&R.

* let discuss on 25/6/2011 nite with the rest.

The support and interests for this trip from everyone is so heartwarming. Certainly I would have to try my best. Just hope that this trip would be enjoyable for all.

It is normal for everyone to have their individual likes/dislikes. Do let us know anytime you feel like joining us to the durian farm.

* in case you are not joining us, you may wish to sleep in for a few more hours, and check-out later. Have your lunch in Melaka.

I think the durian feast would finish around 1200-1300hrs. Estimated to reach Bukit Indah Jusco 1600hrs for shopping/dinner. Should leave for SG about 1900hrs via 2nd Link.

* I think some of us will return to SG via Woodlands, and some via 2nd Link. Maybe have a drinks/kopi at the NSH R&R.

* let discuss on 25/6/2011 nite with the rest.

Mate, you give yourself far too little credit :D

Great idea! Yeah, we'll probably do just that (btw I've got a friend coming along with me in my car). Or else, will meet you guys a Bt Indah Jusco for dinner. May wanna clear carbon all the way back to JB see? :D

Hi everyone,

I had done a mock-up of the label. It look [shakehead] , but should serve our needs [nod]

Cut a sheet of A4 paper into 4 quarters. Mark "MCF" on 2 pcs, and tape to the inside of your front/rear windscreen.

For driving in darkness/night, place a lighted torchlight [small/miniature/etc size] below the front label. Thanks to bro Nhrisuzu for the cylum idea. [wave]

* if a torchlight is not available, DAISO have a very wide range of torchlight, everything @S$2/pc. Remember to bring extra batteries.

Noticed the lighted torchlight below the label ?

post-31848-1306668963_thumb.jpg

This is my mock up..... :D

post-31848-1306668947_thumb.jpg

Edited by Phmaksg

Hi bro, one more thing.

Do we have to bring our own containers or do they have the styrofoam packing for us to bring back?

So sorry, one durian-eater could not make it, so I would be buying durians as well.

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

So sorry, one durian-eater could not make it, so I would be buying durians as well.

Noted, will update the list later.

I am driving around SG with the labels :D

Anyone else in this group put up the labels, and driving around with the labels ?

hha bro so shiok see your impending durian buffet trip so envious...but my OC not interested if not sure sign up. <_<

can print the cute picture below for your labels la. :D

post-51509-1307040955.jpg

I made reservation [for 26/6/2011, 1000 hrs] with SKY yesterday [18/5/2011]. Will make 10% advance deposit to SKY today.

* I have to do so, kiasu abit, just in case overbooking by their local durian fans :D

* reservation based on 10pax, and would be finalized in due course.

Everyone, please bear with me for just a while. I have been trawling the net [incl MCF] for Melaka information.

Stay tune for updates today/tonite.

The total pax as follows : 27A, 5C, 45 kg. Additional on-the-spot takeway kg subject to quality and quantity of durians available.

I had top-up the advance deposit to SKY on 2/6/2011, to ensure our booking is double-confirmed, chop and stamped :D :D

Total deposit paid to date : RM175.50.

Count-down [bounce2] [bounce2]

Latest upate from SKY facebook :

Sim Koa Yen 成果园

UPDATE: We are sorry to inform a disappointment news to all durian lover that our durian has been FULLY BOOKED until mid of JULY (15.07.2011). Kindly book your place a.s.a.p. to avoid further disappointment.

* our booking on 26/6/2011 is double-confirm and chop, because we had already made the deposit payment. [bounce2]

Hopefully the checks at MY customs have eased up by end Jun 11...

Yah, hopefully. Anyway, we will now have to factor this into our planning.

Latest upate from SKY facebook :

Sim Koa Yen 成果园

UPDATE: We are sorry to inform a disappointment news to all durian lover that our durian has been FULLY BOOKED until mid of JULY (15.07.2011). Kindly book your place a.s.a.p. to avoid further disappointment.

* our booking on 26/6/2011 is double-confirm and chop, because we had already made the deposit payment. [bounce2]

Hi Opel,

Well Done for the reservation [thumbsup][thumbsup]

I had recently enlisted the assistance of bro Hermitage and bro Phmaksg, to help with the final planning for this drive-up.

Stay tuned for more information [eg. itinerary, etc ...].