Masterclass17 Neutral Newbie May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Hi guys, i am looking at getting a used a BMW but am undecided between 3 or 5 series, for a similar registration year, px difference is around $15K and OMV difference is around $10K. When I work out depreciation, the difference is around $1k per month, $10k+ for 3 series & $11k+ for 5 series... which will be a better choice? Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vectrasonic 2nd Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 5 series anytime lah. 1 class higher already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Used car very subjective. It depends on the condition of each car. If both car similar condition, mileage and age, then take the 523; it is better built, better drive and bigger size. $1K a year difference in depreciation is small amount to pay. MHO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shor 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Of course 5 series larrrrrrr........buy 320i, you will REGRET! Ask brothers in here ever drove a 320i..... Hi guys, i am looking at getting a used a BMW but am undecided between 3 or 5 series, for a similar registration year, px difference is around $15K and OMV difference is around $10K. When I work out depreciation, the difference is around $1k per month, $10k+ for 3 series & $11k+ for 5 series... which will be a better choice? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilazz Neutral Newbie May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 before getting either 3 series or 5 series, maybe see the road tax, insurance too. also goes to age, mileage and condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Masterclass17 Neutral Newbie May 13, 2011 Author Share May 13, 2011 Purchase px difference around $15K... for same year.. another factor to consider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrolexB 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Hi guys, i am looking at getting a used a BMW but am undecided between 3 or 5 series, for a similar registration year, px difference is around $15K and OMV difference is around $10K. When I work out depreciation, the difference is around $1k per month, $10k+ for 3 series & $11k+ for 5 series... which will be a better choice? Thanks! the 5 series is 520 or 523? cos 523 rd tax also higher than 320 (assuming is 320 and no 325 etc) ... that's one more consideration for u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugen85 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 523 dude. No offence to 3series drivers but 320 is nothing compared to 523 in terms of comfort and luxury. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vectrasonic 2nd Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Where's the offence? It's true! 523 dude. No offence to 3series drivers but 320 is nothing compared to 523 in terms of comfort and luxury. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 the 5-series is a better buy between the 2. but having said that, there's oso personal preferences. for me, i prefer something more compact n chuckable compared to something big. for the same budget, i would get the 325i instead of the 523i. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 obvious answer, 5 series Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meepok87 Neutral Newbie May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 in terms of drivability, status etc etc, of cos 523i, Just calculate the extra that you have to pay, in terms of petrol, road tax, insurance, maintenance, depreciation, and see if you mind paying the extra anot. If can afford + dun mind, just go for 523i lo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 the 5-series is a better buy between the 2. but having said that, there's oso personal preferences. for me, i prefer something more compact n chuckable compared to something big. for the same budget, i would get the 325i instead of the 523i. recently got to drive teh 3..and I must say, the drive dynamics has changed some what....it feels like my prev 5, the e39.... Well, it does it's job. the 5series is more luxurious, but what is the ts looking for? If you are looking for sth a wee bit more maneuverable, the 3 does the job lah....but the 5, unless you get IL6, then, it is just a bigger brudder of 3 can see ppl here stuck with image....ok next time i drive my 318 down.....sure kena look down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 6 POTS FTW!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 u wan image get a Jaguar but dun sue here sue there hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sforester 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 (edited) Current or previous facelifts? I assume you are talking about the former. Well, if the choice is between 520 and 320, then go for the latter. pretty clear choice.. they share the same engine (4 cyliners). Your case, I assume that you do have a budget for 523. So here it goes.... If you want sporty and nimble (for a small sedan), go for 320i. If you want something more comfy, bigger and sturdy, go for 523. Comes with six cylinders (primarily reason why you get a bimmer) and higher horsepower (difference is about 15 - 20, i reckon). The last thing you want is to spend on a bimmer and not getting any decent performance from it (not belittling 318 or 320 but I am coming from the perspective that the key reason you are upgrading is to get a higher driving performance). The interior is quite sedated though. not sure if you are looking at the one with the i-drive option (priced a tad higher). Not touching on FC since anyone considering bimmer should not be even looking at low FC in general. For 3series, 323 and 325 would a nicer drive, but i reckon they are out of discussion scope here. Edited May 13, 2011 by Sforester Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Current or previous facelifts? I assume you are talking about the former. Well, if the choice is between 520 and 320, then go for the latter. pretty clear choice.. they share the same engine (4 cyliners). Your case, I assume that you do have a budget for 523. So here it goes.... If you want sporty and nimble (for a small sedan), go for 320i. If you want something more comfy, bigger and sturdy, go for 523. Comes with six cylinders (primarily reason why you get a bimmer) and higher horsepower (difference is about 15 - 20, i reckon). The last thing you want is to spend on a bimmer and not getting any decent performance from it (if the key reason that you are upgrading is to get a higher driving performance). The interior is quite sedated though. not sure if you are looking at the one with the i-drive option (priced a tad higher). Not touching on FC since anyone considering bimmer should not be even looking at low FC in general. on the ocntrary...i find the FC pretty good...but then again, prev rides were rides that drank... I am getting 9l/100km....and to me is pretty good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 .....sure kena look down u "underground" of course kena look down lah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...