Workers' Party's Eric Tan quits

Kelpie

This point is like a drive 300m right down the middle of the fairway...............good shot!!! [laugh]

My driver gets me around 280m after rolling (when I was younger...) now 230m if kena sweet spot

This point is like a drive 300m right down the middle of the fairway...............good shot!!! [laugh]

not hole in one meh [:p]

My driver gets me around 280m after rolling (when I was younger...) now 230m if kena sweet spot

my drive gives me 280m carry distance..........no roll..............in my dream!!!! [laugh][laugh]

Oh wait till you add up the pensions that SINGOV/taxpayers are paying to them every year. That figure will boggle you.

precisely i find it doesn't do justice.

sitting in the same parliament you have

1) ministers earning $300,000 per month

2) MP earning $15,000 per month

3) NCMP earning $1.6k per month

how are you going to persuade the NCMP to pt in effort to do his homework for each parliamentary sitting?

and ths pension you mentioned, it is double source of income for the ministers - pension + astronomically high salary (astronomically high bonus is also part of the salary) and so many other state accorded perks of being a minister. now i think they are not just paid below the top private sector earners, i dare say they earn much more than the private sector people save for a handful of exception. private sector top honchos don't get such state accorded pension and perks.

that one not important as you get the last row seat in parliament which you can be absent without anyone notice [laugh]

haha precisely!

that why i am putting scorn to PM's words that NCMP ARE VERY IMPORTANT to our parliament. talk is cheap, actions does nto support it.

Even family also got conflict liao... Not to say a party with members

then when you put 6 different parties in the house.......... you get a market [laugh] [laugh]

precisely i find it doesn't do justice.

sitting in the same parliament you have

1) ministers earning $300,000 per month

2) MP earning $15,000 per month

3) NCMP earning $1.6k per month

how are you going to persuade the NCMP to pt in effort to do his homework for each parliamentary sitting?

and ths pension you mentioned, it is double source of income for the ministers - pension + astronomically high salary (astronomically high bonus is also part of the salary) and so many other state accorded perks of being a minister. now i think they are not just paid below the top private sector earners, i dare say they earn much more than the private sector people save for a handful of exception. private sector top honchos don't get such state accorded pension and perks.

I tot is for national interests not money... So 1.6k should not envy 300k mah

i second your opinion...

likewise, my wife thinks Gerald Giam is good... In fact, if there is any reason why she would vote for WP, the main reason would have been him... To begin with, my wife is a staunch PAP supporter....

Did i mention her sister and brother voted for WP, becoz of Gerald Giam?

Eric Tan shoud kindly bow out with grace lah.. By next election, he would be 59... quite old in my humble opinion.

unwise for Eric Tan to throw a fit like that..will be a stain even for next GE..

by the way, who is Gerald Giam? anyone can summarise the background, other than he's doing IT now?

then when you put 6 different parties in the house.......... you get a market [laugh] [laugh]

will they fight??? [laugh][laugh]

not hole in one meh [:p]

nope...... just 18 open holes and 1 'closed' hole ......... :ph34r:

even that the 1 'closed' hole is currently being monitored by MY police at Pulai Spring Golf Course ...... [sweatdrop][:p][:p]

that point he put up.............almost!!! [laugh][laugh]

Thank you thank you... I think Politics is growing in me.

Wanna join my Party as runners, organisers??

SARONG Party - only accepts Girls (not females).

If they are elected as MPs the Ministars sure want to elect them as PS, PPS... this will pave the way to 1st world parly where the Ruling party employs oppo party in GOV !!!

I tot is for national interests not money... So 1.6k should not envy 300k mah

yeah for people with certain affliation, they "served" the country by getting well paid for it and the rest is expected to be altruisitic and philantropic to serve the country?

i know the person who is appointed NCMP won't grumble but it is the person who designs such a system that needs to show how that he reaally values the NCMP.

borrowing an argument from MM in the past that we have to get some sense of perspective that ministers handling such a high worth ecnomy need to be paid much better.

this is also the sense of perspective i am calling for, to put people with so starkly different remuneration on the same table to discuss matters, is never gonna be effective.

I think WP made the right decision. What is the point of having Eric being "visible" in Parliament but not knowing for sure if he is still around to take part in the next election?

If Eric is indeed experienced, he can always mentor and support from behind. Expose the younger guy early, so that he has more mileage to run. Like it or not, age is always a factor.

But good that he quit now...at least WP knows he is not a teamplayer.

Yes. if we look into the long run WP actions are justified. But in the long run you me and eric maybe dead.

WP has not cemented thier place in SG politics, they sould be looking at what they have now and work on the best. Eric i believe is a better candidate.

I hope not all singaporeans are not so quick to pass judgements like "non-teamplayer" "quitter" etc.. and don't forget what this man has done for the progress of the oppo in SG.